Powered by 100% agave

Lamata Ensamble Tamaulipas

Lamata Ensamble is produced by Jose Castellanos in Las Virgenes in the northern state of Tamaulipas using equal parts of three agaves: Asperrima, Americana, and Univittata.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$
Brand:Lamata
Mezcalero:Jose Castellanos
Maguey:Amole
Agave:Americana, Asperrima, Univittata
Distillation:Steel
Style:Ensamble, Joven
State:Tamaulipas
Town:Las Virgenes
ABV: 48%
Batch size: 220 liters (Lot TAM -C- 4-1-2019)
Release year: 2020
Website: https://www.instagram.com/nacion_de_las_verdes_matas/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Lamata Ensamble is produced by Jose Castellanos in Las Virgenes in the northern state of Tamaulipas using equal parts of three agaves: 33% A. Asperrima, 33% A. Americana, and 33% A. Univittata. In this region of Tamaulipas, both the Agave Asperrima and Agave Americana are referred to simply as “Maguey” while the smaller Agave Univittata is called “Amole”. All three agave are cooked together in an underground oven and their juices are squeezed out using an antique wooden sugar-cane trapiche (seen in drawing on front label). The fibers are discarded and only the juices of the agave are fermented. The juice is fermented spontaneously with spring water. Due to the proximity to the Texas border, the traditional still is a Moonshine style still brought from the Southern US states, popularized during US prohibition. Basically a traditional pot still, this system is differentiated by a wooden barrel or “thumper” being connected between the pot and the serpentine. The final spirit is adjusted with heads and tails. This is a very unique tasting mezcal, with a delightful funkiness.

This bottle was originally released under the brand name Amormata; it was rebranded to Lamata prior to the release of the second batch.

Lamata

Lamata (formerly named Amormata) is the for-export label of Nacion de Las Verdes Matas, a small unregistered brand started by Luis Loya many years ago. His goal is to share mezcal from Northern Mexico from places that are under-represented in the market. Luis has relationships with producers in Durango, Nuevo Leon, Sonora, Chihuahua, San Luis Potosi and Tamaulipas among others.

The typical lot sizes of Amormata releases range from about 40 liters to 200 liters. The producers will continue to make about the same amount of spirits that they historically have in the past. Therefore, the brand will not bottle much more than a total of three to five thousand liters per year. Amormata is dedicated to promoting the “gusto historico”, the terroir, the liquid culture, and the history that is mezcal to people beyond the borders of the places where it is made.

Member rating

3.81 out of 5

8 reviews

Jam

Jam

149 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

This review is just an impression of a small pour from a big Lamata tasting. No bottle info. Will update if I try again.

Review #123: salsa, cheese, massaman curry

Wild stuff. I love the weirdness coming from tamaulipas

Ben P

Ben P

110 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

50.4% abv

Nose: celery salt, white onion, vinegar, like fresh made salsa, salted seafood

Palate: the similarity this profile has to red curry is wild, shrimp chips, savory, garlic, red salsa. Finish is more garlic and onion, some fish sauce, mustard.

Would I reach for this often? No. But I appreciate it so much. Such a well integrated and balanced mezcal with a unique profiles.

relevanteagle

relevanteagle

12 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

LOT ID: TAM-T 12/10/2021
ABV: 47.8%

Nose: olives, gasoline, lemon pledge, citrus

Palate: minerality, citrus skins, lemon skin, light eucalyptus, subtle sweetness, light rubber

Finish: pretty citrusy, with some minerality

Thoughts: it’s tasty, but I’m not the biggest fan of the citrus skin flavor that I’m getting. The aftertaste is pretty strong.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

155 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

this was another one that i waited to review.i wanted to sample this more than once before giving my opinion.my initial rating was 3 star at best.the nose was cajun spice and the palate was the same.it was too dominant and i didnt get much of any other flavors.i let the bottle settle and popped the top from time to time letting it sit for about 30 minutes.WOW this really morphed!the cajun note was there but mellowed.now there were sweet honey and baked sugar notes that blended with the spice and a hint of fresh split oak wood.the finish was deep,sweet,long and complex.very enjoyable.as time goes on,the sweeter notes are dominating the spice more.

this was another one that i waited to review.i wanted to sample this more than once before giving my opinion.my initial rating was 3 star at best.the nose was cajun spice and the palate was the same.it was too dominant and i didnt get much of any other flavors.i let the bottle settle and popped the top from time to time letting it sit for about 30 minutes.WOW this really morphed!the cajun note was there but mellowed.now there were sweet honey and baked sugar notes that blended with the spice and

Read more
Will

Will

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Very unique smell and flavor that didn’t really work for me but others I tried it with loved it. A sweet but also earthy smell like a vanilla cigar bar. A lot of complexity on the palate. I get predominately mango and wood with a strong bite and spicey finish.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot: ENS-C 5-05-2019. I get some of that creamy/spicy curry on the nose. Additional aromas of shellfish and red pepper flakes. The palate definitely has some shrimp elements to it, mixing with Thai spices and sandalwood. There’s also a Cajun red beans and rice note that I really like on the palate. This is really nice.

Tyler

Tyler

641 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Love Amormata but have trouble getting into this one. It is super unique and everyone should try it but.. there are some flavors that don’t appeal to me. There are some slight vegetal pea notes with sour dried fruit. I think Rakal had a good note with the shrimp – makes me think of the way dried shrimp smells at Asian markets. The finish has a bit of burnt plastic. 48%. Not sure about the lot number.

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot: ENS-C 5-05-2019. Totally unique. For me this Mezcal tastes like freshly made Thai red curry paste, even with notes of shrimp paste. Savory, earthy, and spicy. I’m also getting flavors and smells that remind me of ancient teak wood temples, and old leather. This might not be for everybody but I absolutely love it!!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top