Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Ensamble – Artemio Garcia Cruz

Maguey Melate Ensamble from Artemio Garcia Cruz was originally released as the May 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Artemio Garcia Cruz
Maguey:Cuishe, Espadin, Jabali, Madrecuishe, Pulquero, Tepeztate, Tobala
Agave:Angustifolia, Convallis, Karwinskii, Marmorata, Potatorum
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Dionisio Ocotepec
ABV: 48%
Batch size: Lot ART-ENS-001: 410 liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Ensamble from Artemio Garcia Cruz was originally released as the May 2021 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This ensamble is a collection of several magueyes: jabali, madre cuixe, pulquero, cuixe, espadin, tepextate, and tobala. It was produced in the beautiful community of San Dionisio Ocotepec, Oaxaca.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

9 reviews

3.67 out of 5


RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

10 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Batch: ART-ENS-001 Bottle #152

Very antiseptic like scent. Fruit skins. Pineapple fronds. Potato peels. Very clean.

Clean flavor comes through on the palate. I wouldn’t say boring but not impressing me. A mild vegetable like celery or cucumber water. A bit of capsaicin brings out some character. Earthy and dirt. Slight bitterness.

Burn herbs and smoked meats. Very short finish unfortunately.

Not my copita of mezcal for sure. This is very meh overall to me. I got a bit of some interesting notes on the finish and then it just dissipated before I could really appreciate it. I’ve tried it well rested and sipped immediately after pouring and it’s not doing anything for me.

Batch: ART-ENS-001 Bottle #152
Very antiseptic like scent. Fruit skins. Pineapple fronds. Potato peels. Very clean.
Clean flavor comes through on the palate. I wouldn’t say boring but not impressing me. A mild vegetable like celery or cucumber water. A bit of capsaicin brings out some character. Earthy and dirt. Slight bitterness.
Burn herbs and smoked meats. Very short finish unfortunately.
Not my copita of mezcal for sure. This is very meh overall to me. I got a bit of some interesting n

Read more
zeepuzzler

zeepuzzler

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch ART-ENS-001. 50% ABV. Bottle 228.
Each of the seven magueys has something to contribute here, without any single one overshadowing the others. The nose is perfumey and full of tropic fruit; you can smell it all the way across the room. Meanwhile, the first sip hits nearly every flavor zone on the tongue: sweet, salty, sour, spicy, and even bitter. All I get at first is butterscotch Dum Dums and mint, but there’s so much more if I search just a little deeper: green bell pepper, mango, vanilla, light treacle (golden syrup), hickory, rose, and tingly Szechuan peppercorns. It’s deceptively complex. The finish is long and slightly smokey with flavors of banana pudding, poached pears, and well-seasoned cast iron. I enjoyed this one!

Batch ART-ENS-001. 50% ABV. Bottle 228.
Each of the seven magueys has something to contribute here, without any single one overshadowing the others. The nose is perfumey and full of tropic fruit; you can smell it all the way across the room. Meanwhile, the first sip hits nearly every flavor zone on the tongue: sweet, salty, sour, spicy, and even bitter. All I get at first is butterscotch Dum Dums and mint, but there’s so much more if I search just a little deeper: green bell pepper, ma

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Maestro Mezcalero Artemio Garcia Cruz, 100% Destilado de Agave, Joven, Ensamble de Jabali, Madre Cuixe, Cuixe, Pulquero, Espadin, Tepextate & Tobala, “Maguey Melate”, Batch ArtERS001, Bottle #818 of 410 liters; 2020.
Lote 0319ER
?- clear
?- drying impact, slight warming effect.
Aromas of floral, perfume, ripe papaya, mango, guava, cooked banana, dragon fruit, passion fruit, dry palm leaves, piloncillo, pecorino cheese.
Powerful & complex production.
Average length and fine to very fine character.
?- coating effect with warming and astringent highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; full body.
Primarily sweet, sour, bitter, piquant, taste with salt highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of tamarind, sweet & ripe fruits: peach, pear, mango, guava, quince; pepper or ginger, cajeta, pulque ferment, and wild raw honey.
Medium concentration flavor intensity, complex character, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Excellent overall impression.

*Lot’s of complexity, well crafted, and showcase of terroir and polyculture.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Maestro Mezcalero Artemio Garcia Cruz, 100% Destilado de Agave, Joven, Ensamble de Jabali, Madre Cuixe, Cuixe, Pulquero, Espadin, Tepextate & Tobala, “Maguey Melate”, Batch ArtERS001, Bottle #818 of 410 liters; 2020.
Lote 0319ER
?- clear
?- drying impact, slight warming effect.
Aromas of floral, perfume, ripe papaya, mango, guava, cooked banana, dragon fruit, passion fruit, dry palm leaves, piloncillo, pecorino cheese.
Powerful & complex production.
Average length and fine to

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

292 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose – Banana bread. BBQ grilled pineapple chicken.

Palate – An exceptional, slightly viscous, mouth feel. A sweet, baking richness of caramelized brown sugar and melted butter. A dynamite mint heat. Some clay notes. Finish is salty, sweet and a bit meaty – like smoked teriyaki turkey jerky.

So much going on, I love it! Don Temo knocks this outta the park!

tallchad

tallchad

29 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Good stuff with a lot going on. El Dawg is right about no one maguey overpowering anyone else. This is good, complex mezcal. Just when I think it is more fruity and sweet I get hints of earth and minerals. There is a really long finish with some fun peppermint that develops. 50% abv.
It comes with a 60.9% taster bottle as well. Aroma is a bit better on the higher proof version-stronger with more flavors. Still no alcohol fumes. Nice. The taste is quite a bit bolder and hotter with some alcohol on entry. Still very good! I think I like the higher proof version a more, maybe another half star to the original 3.

Good stuff with a lot going on. El Dawg is right about no one maguey overpowering anyone else. This is good, complex mezcal. Just when I think it is more fruity and sweet I get hints of earth and minerals. There is a really long finish with some fun peppermint that develops. 50% abv.
It comes with a 60.9% taster bottle as well. Aroma is a bit better on the higher proof version-stronger with more flavors. Still no alcohol fumes. Nice. The taste is quite a bit bolder and hotter with some alcohol o

Read more
Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose is awesome! Pine, chocolate and caramel – worther’s originals – and hint of savory jerky. Could smell it for hours. Green peppers up front, moves to a sweeter approach of bananas foster and maple syrup.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

This is tasty and tropical with big butterscotch notes. Also stewed pears, mango nectar, Sunny D, honeydew melon, vanilla bean and roses. There’s a flavor in the background that is very mineral and metallic like old rusty pipes.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

126 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

7 agaves! This is a record for me. Nose is perfumey, welcoming, slightly candied, reminds me of a cuixe. Some spice, pepper on the taste. No one agave stands out, yet if I think about a particular one (tepeztate, cuixe) I I can taste each one.
Well rounded, if not maybe a bit too hot at the end. All around solid.

Azi

Azi

24 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Batch ART-ENS-001. 50%. Also came in a 60.9% taster bottle which I will add later on. I believe there is a typo on the bottle; says it is an ensemble of 6 magueys, but I think it may be 7. Anywho, on to the review!
Nose: Pecorino, wet grass, charcoal on said wet grass, smoked salmon, grilled banana.
Taste: goes a whole different direction. Fruit, brown sugar, butter. Honeydew, pineapple, mint, banana, vanilla. syrupy even (are residual sugars a thing in distilled spirits?)
So fun. nose and taste are pretty unrelated, but overall i am a fan. Excited to come back for the higher proof one.

Taster: we need more 60+ proof mezcals. Whisky can’t be having all the fun! its just everything turned up a bunch, with incredibly well integrated alcohol. Imma give the taster a 4.5-5. Cheers!

Batch ART-ENS-001. 50%. Also came in a 60.9% taster bottle which I will add later on. I believe there is a typo on the bottle; says it is an ensemble of 6 magueys, but I think it may be 7. Anywho, on to the review!
Nose: Pecorino, wet grass, charcoal on said wet grass, smoked salmon, grilled banana.
Taste: goes a whole different direction. Fruit, brown sugar, butter. Honeydew, pineapple, mint, banana, vanilla. syrupy even (are residual sugars a thing in distilled spirits?)
So fun. nose and taste

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top