Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Espadin – Lidia Hernández Hernández

Maguey Melate Espadin from Lidia Hernández Hernández shows the complexity of maguey espadin (Agave angustifolia) that is too often overlooked.

Rating: (16 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Lidia Hernández Hernández
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 44%
Age of plant: 8 years
Batch size: Batch LID-ESP-001: 400 Liters
Release year: 2021
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Espadin from Lidia Hernández Hernández was originally released as the February 2021 Mezcalera of the Month Club agave spirit. This spirit was produced using Agave angustifolia in Santiago Matatlan, Oaxaca. This wasn’t just any Espadín batch, however. It’s what Lidia calls ‘first-class’ Espadín as it was cultivated from seeds rather than root born. It grew on her family’s land and was capon’d for 4 months before harvest. The agave cooked in an underground pit oven for 4 days before being milled via tahona. They fermented in pine wood vats for 5 days and were distilled in a copper pot still. The entire batch featured in this first release (LID-ESP-001) was 400 liters from December 2020.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they're reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

16 reviews

3.69 out of 5

RyeAmLegend

RyeAmLegend

10 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch: LID-ESP-001 Bottle #166

Sawdust and green wood aromas. A touch of cleaning agent. Bitter citrus pith/oils. Cauliflower/cucumber water. Oddly Pecans for a final note on the nose.

It tastes like a thin sour lemonade. Grassy and slightly herbal. It’s a slightly earthy smoke but not pungent.

Short and on this sweet/sour lemon side. Great mouthfeel. None of the dry grassy notes from the palate.

I feel like this is a really unique Espadin just overshadowed by many other more unique bottles from Maguey Melate. Overall though it’s something I would use as an introductory bottle to showcase how different even an Esapdin can be.

Batch: LID-ESP-001 Bottle #166
Sawdust and green wood aromas. A touch of cleaning agent. Bitter citrus pith/oils. Cauliflower/cucumber water. Oddly Pecans for a final note on the nose.
It tastes like a thin sour lemonade. Grassy and slightly herbal. It’s a slightly earthy smoke but not pungent.
Short and on this sweet/sour lemon side. Great mouthfeel. None of the dry grassy notes from the palate.
I feel like this is a really unique Espadin just overshadowed by many other more unique bottle

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

I tried this batch at Lidia’s palenque in June (great place and wonderful people) and then sampled her local brand (Desda la Eternidad). The espadin itself was decent although only slightly better than good sippable cocktail espadins (nice orange/vanilla sweetness but overall the smoke was a a tad rough). As I tried all of her other expressions I thought they were much better. I ended up buying a Coyote/Tobala/Cuishe/Espadin ensamble which was by far my favorite. Lidia is an excellent mezcalera and I was very glad to try her entire line.

I tried this batch at Lidia’s palenque in June (great place and wonderful people) and then sampled her local brand (Desda la Eternidad). The espadin itself was decent although only slightly better than good sippable cocktail espadins (nice orange/vanilla sweetness but overall the smoke was a a tad rough). As I tried all of her other expressions I thought they were much better. I ended up buying a Coyote/Tobala/Cuishe/Espadin ensamble which was by far my favorite. Lidia is an excellent mezc

Read more
zeepuzzler

zeepuzzler

25 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch: LID-ESP-001. Bottle 689.
Sweet, lightly grassy, and delicate floral aromas. Like holding a bouquet of lilac under my nose. The palate is a little more complex with notes of citrus, lemongrass, longan fruit, cardamom, and something slightly dark and vegetal underneath. Steamed artichokes? Nothing too exciting, but I do enjoy the finish. It’s brisk, salty, and invigorating – like a Pacific Ocean breeze – but rounded out with notes of makrut lime leaves, spearmint, graphite, and cedar-based men’s cologne.

Overall, it’s a very clean and cohesive espadin, but I agree with t8ke regarding its fading presence throughout the tasting. It’s like the flavor surreptitiously vanishes from my cup.

Batch: LID-ESP-001. Bottle 689.
Sweet, lightly grassy, and delicate floral aromas. Like holding a bouquet of lilac under my nose. The palate is a little more complex with notes of citrus, lemongrass, longan fruit, cardamom, and something slightly dark and vegetal underneath. Steamed artichokes? Nothing too exciting, but I do enjoy the finish. It’s brisk, salty, and invigorating – like a Pacific Ocean breeze – but rounded out with notes of makrut lime leaves, spearmint, graphite, a

Read more
James

James

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

LID-ESP-001 – Somewhat delicate flavor and nose on this one, but well balanced, and fits well with the slightly lower abv. Still has a surprising satisfying mouthfeel, medium bodied. Floral and slightly sweet nose, taste of spice and citrus with a hint of chocolate. Well refined and very easy to drink. There isn’t a stray or excessive note here, everything seems to work really well together.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

LID-ESP-001 — Medium mouthfeel. Fruity, sweet, a bit of earth and a faint wisp of smoke. Sweet, lots of lemon, honey, pepper, a touch of ash.

I like this, but it’s not my favorite Espadin. It seems to have less presence as the tasting goes on, growing a bit weaker and understated. Still good, but there are many Espadin I’d place over it.

hutter

hutter

6 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Delicious! Floral nose. Rose water, a little jammy, black pepper, acetone. Mineral on the nose and taste. Salty lime finish

il1

il1

12 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Fruity nose – pineapple/mango
Carries into the palate, with a bit of a drying lime note. Very unexpected espadin

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

136 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Buttery & floral on the nose and throughout the taste. Sweet, citirusy (lemon), and overall very pleasant. ABV is a bit lower for my personal preference. All around though a very good espadin!

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Nice richness in the nose with a sense of effervescent green punch. I get white pepper with a clean and enjoyable finish.

JDB

JDB

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Very floral, sweet grass and light herbaceous notes. a bit of sprearmint on the back end. Quite nice and smooth.

donpedro

donpedro

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Minty and herbal up front – lots of pine, kaffir lime, and lavender soap. Things get a bit funkier on the palate with even more lavender, some lemon, and sea salt. Surprisingly not overly sweet even given the low ABV.

rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Could probably finish the whole bottle in one sitting. It’s not mind-blowing, it’s just really, really tasty.

Didn’t have a typical espadin nose for me- had more of a green vegetal note. As it had a chance to air out it just got sweeter and sweeter. Reminded me a lot of lemon bars.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Really clean, soft, light, well balanced, and delicate. It’s floral with plumeria flower, jasmine flower, lychee, rambutan, lime leaves, lemongrass, and a finish that is salty and woody like sea salt and those yellow number 2 pencils I would chew in school. I like it as the first Mezcal of the night but if I switch to a Mezcal with stronger flavors and then go back to it, it seems too soft.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

323 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Its fine. End of story

Azi

Azi

26 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

After a few releases that leaned into the funkier sides of things, this release from MM is anything but. Insanely refined, leaning dessert vibes. Orange peels, white chocolate, marjoram, cardamom. Nose adds in some more citrus zest (limes probably), maybe even bits of lime leaf and lemongrass?. White flowers, other lighter flowers, and just all round wonderful. Wow

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Really pleasant! Aromas of chocolate oranges, lavender, coconut, fennel, and caramel. The palate is full and viscous. Notes of dried green tea, nugget, oysters, and cooked asparagus. This is a solid Espadin and it’s bigger and fuller than what I expected at 44%.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top