Powered by 100% agave

Mal Bien Mexicano Verde – Cortes

Mal Bien Mexicano Verde – Cortes is made with maguey Mexicano Verde by the father and son duo of Felipe and Ageo Cortes.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$
Brand:Mal Bien Mezcal
Mezcalero:Ageo Cortés, Felipe Cortés
Maguey:Mexicano Verde
Agave:Rhodacantha
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlan
ABV: 49.74%
Batch size: Lot 1118: 373 bottles
Website: https://www.mezcalmalbien.com/, opens in new window
About this destilado de agave

Mal Bien Mexicano Verde – Cortes is made with maguey Mexicano Verde (Agave Rhodacantha) that are cooked in an underground oven for 8-10 days with the following types of wood: Encino, Yegareche, Mesquite, and Palo de Aguila. The agave are milled immediately after the cook by ox drawn tahona. The milled agave are fermented in open air tinas for 3-8 days and then double distilled in a copper refrescadera still.

Felipe and his son Ageo are the 3rd and 4th generations of the Cortes family to produce mezcal in the Miahuatlán District of Oaxaca, an area famous for its abundance and diversity of A. karwinskii sub-species (madrecuixe, tobaxiche, etc.). The community of Mengoli de Morelos where they live and work has a population of just under 200 people. They are related to the neighboring Ramos family via Felipe’s wife (Ageo’s mother), Cesilia, whose sister Cleotilde is married to Victor Ramos.

Mal Bien Mezcal

Since 2016, the Mal Bien team has been traveling Mexico, driving off the map and into mountains filled with treacherous roads, police officers of questionable moral character, feral dogs, indigenous languages, narcos, ancient relics, machete wielding protestors, insect based meals, mudslides, blockades, corrupt politicians, and many of the world's kindest, funniest, most brilliant people. In addition to some hard to believe stories, they've connected with a wide variety of traditional producers, whose mezcal is now bottled and exported under the Mal Bien name.

9 reviews

4.28 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

334 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Nose – Sweet, musty earth. Butter and brown sugar. Celery leaves.

Palate – Brown sugar. Ajwa dates. Turkey breast and cranberry sauce. Artichoke heart. Apple and Pear sauce. Salinity in the finish that partially reminds me of the seawater left in an oyster shell (I see Azi mentioned that note already and I concur). If I did a blind tasting on this I likely would’ve said cuishe – this is still a rockin mezcal.

Tyler

Tyler

517 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

This stuff is bomb. The nose has some interesting aromas almost like a tiki drink with some dried mango. It doesn’t make me think of Agave rhodacantha because it is much more fruity than the darker flavors found in Maguey Mexicano mezcals; this is Mexicano Verde so that must be part of the flavor difference. Notes of cooked dates, meringue, mango nectar, and a bit of salt. November 2018 batch.

Azi

Azi

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch 1118AC from a Drammers tasting set.
Insane all around. Arak meets cucumbers meets green flowers meets…soemthing sweet and barrel aged.
aniseed, lavender, black pepper, pickled peppercorns, tamarind, candied lime peel. Oyster??? there’s a teeny bit of seafood. But I think I’m trying to find too much; just let it be known that this is delicious.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Wow, sublime, all kinds of pleasantly charred green notes: grilled nightshades, ancho, lightly briny, kale, just so green, dried mint, coca, oolong teas, with some kind of fruit kinda like a honeyed kiwi that I can’t really place. Complex! Actually – more and more tea notes, green teas of course. Dark, brooding, dank. Fennel.

Palate: Oh so dark, with some fascinating spices. All kinds of dark teas, pu-erh and other black teas coming to the fore now more than before, the finish ends more mint and fruit driven.

Thoughts: Unique, fascinating, wonderful, I would love to spend time with a bottle of this!!

One of my highest ratings ever. Some traces of over-dank on the finish leaves it tasting just a touch rotten and sour.

Wow, sublime, all kinds of pleasantly charred green notes: grilled nightshades, ancho, lightly briny, kale, just so green, dried mint, coca, oolong teas, with some kind of fruit kinda like a honeyed kiwi that I can’t really place. Complex! Actually – more and more tea notes, green teas of course. Dark, brooding, dank. Fennel.
Palate: Oh so dark, with some fascinating spices. All kinds of dark teas, pu-erh and other black teas coming to the fore now more than before, the finish ends more mint

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

fantastic!very unique.i would never guess this was a rhodacantha.this is a case of the nose matching the palate.its hard to descibe individual notes but more the sum of it all.all sweet with some banana-apple-pear mix and slight malt vinegar.i didnt get the fruit loop notes others had mentioned but we all have different angles on our taste buds.lovely-long finish with no bite and opens more flavors.masterpiece!

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Lot 1118. Aromatic and fruity! Incense, menthol, tiger balm, tamarind paste, and yes…I’m definitely tasting Fruit Loops cereal. Really good.

Wild Common

Wild Common

10 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Ok, this is some next level juice. LONG complex flavors will keep you smiling. Bang-up job!

pallzley

pallzley

16 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

mal bien
verde mexicano, batch 1118AC

Nose of slate, salted cucumber skins, tamarind candy.

Acidic and noticeably saline. Very little bitterness. A little tannic. Palate of black peppered preserved artichoke, salted green plum. Orange (and dare I say ‘rusty’) sand, not quite like copper. Aftertaste of preserved tamarind, and cucumber. I have the slightest sweet ocean breeze taste 10 seconds later. I would have guessed this was made from a cuixe, and not so much a mexicano. Makes an interesting and fun negroni, few drops of xocolatl (mole/chocolate) bitters and a flamed cinnamon stick. Feels lower in abv than 49%. Challenging but interesting

mal bien
verde mexicano, batch 1118AC
Nose of slate, salted cucumber skins, tamarind candy.
Acidic and noticeably saline. Very little bitterness. A little tannic. Palate of black peppered preserved artichoke, salted green plum. Orange (and dare I say ‘rusty’) sand, not quite like copper. Aftertaste of preserved tamarind, and cucumber. I have the slightest sweet ocean breeze taste 10 seconds later. I would have guessed this was made from a cuixe, and not so much a mexicano. Makes an

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot 1118.Crazy nose! Very dark aromas of dates, dried figs, overripe mango, and dark chocolate dipped cherries. The palate has some high peaking treble points upfront and is generally much lighter and brighter than the nose. This tastes like Fruit Loops cereal. Notes of strawberries, orange soda, grape soda, and sugar. This tastes like every color in a bowl of Fruit Loops. Wild and entertaining ride.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top