Powered by 100% agave

Marca Negra Arroqueno

Marca Negra Arroqueno is made by master Mezcalero Alberto Ortiz in very small batches that are typically limited to around 300 bottles.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Marca Negra Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O72X
Mezcalero:Alberto Ortiz
Agave:Arroqueno
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria La Pila
ABV: 48%
About this mezcal

Marca Negra Arroqueno is made with 100% wild agave Arroqueno in Santa Maria la Pila. This mezcal is made by master Mezcalero Alberto Ortiz in very small batches that are typically limited to around 300 bottles. The agave Arroqueno gives this mezcal a rich texture that is peppered with notes of oak, vanilla, and tropical fruits.

Marca Negra Mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra is made for all who wish to explore and embrace the ancient traditions of true mezcal. The handprint on the bottle represents the tireless work of the master distillers and the ancient knowledge that marks each and every batch. Marca Negra seeks the purest and most diverse expressions of this fantastic spirit, wherever they made be found. Due to limited batch production, the product line changes constantly. New mezcal varieties are created while others cease to exist. Mezcal Marca Negra is 48% ABV or higher because the mezcal is bottled at the alcohol level preferred by the maestro mezcaleros. Check your bottles for details about each specific batch.

Learn about Mezcal Marca Negra in these blog posts:

9 reviews

4.2 of out 5 stars


Soxfan

Soxfan

3 reviews
3 weeks ago

MJ20-15 bottle 263/600 at 48.6% ABV. I recently pulled this bottle out of my collection with a fond remembrance of my initial impressions a couple of years ago. Not my favorite Arroqueno but still a splendid experience, notable in my mind for its balanced and harmonious notes. “Just a taste,” I said to myself. Well, just a taste was not enough, so I’m forcing myself to put it back on the shelf to enjoy next time. I am certain that the next time will be just as rewarding as this re-visit. Highly recommended.

MJ20-15 bottle 263/600 at 48.6% ABV. I recently pulled this bottle out of my collection with a fond remembrance of my initial impressions a couple of years ago. Not my favorite Arroqueno but still a splendid experience, notable in my mind for its balanced and harmonious notes. “Just a taste,” I said to myself. Well, just a taste was not enough, so I’m forcing myself to put it back on the shelf to enjoy next time. I am certain that the next time will be just as rewarding as thi

Read more
7 months ago

Nice green vegetal and super clean. Taking your recommendation with a mezcal by Alberto Ortiz. At Cantina Mayahuel in San Diego

COak

COak

57 reviews
9 months ago

4.5 stars. MJ320-15. Another one of Beto Ortiz’s greats. This one made me want to try everything I could from Beto.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
10 months ago

batch MJ20-15, 48.6% abv. smells and drinks like a bourgie candy shop. sweet with a lot of depth… red fruits, banana, bubblegum, flowers, hint of roasted beets, nice hit of salinity. like all don beto mezcals, super clean. finish is a bit short. a great arroqueno. 4.5 stars.

Joseph

Joseph

18 reviews
12 months ago

Batch MJ20-15 – 48.6%
Fragrant, floral, fruity, spicy, citrus, banana, very faint/distant smoke. A soft, tropical quality that is similar to other of Ortiz’s mezcals. Very balanced flavors. A lightly silky mouthfeel with a slight sweetness. Finishes dry with a mild spice and a bit of heat. This is a delicious mezcal with a lot of complexity.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
1 year ago

very enjoyable!not much on the nose but is not short on taste.entry is a balance of sweet fruit and root vegetables.no smoke and green pepper mid palate.very bright finish with some salt and agave sweetness.arroquenos seem to be down the middle on taste but i have only tried 3 or 4.this is sweet and savory.a notch above good.

Tyler

Tyler

301 reviews
2 years ago

Delicious arroqueno from Don Beto! Getting some floral notes on the nose. The flavors aren’t overpowering and carry hints of wood, burnt caramel, chocolate, banana. The finish is a bit hot with the alcohol lingering slightly.

Jonny

Jonny

324 reviews
2 years ago

Lot MJ20-15 Bottle 234/600. Very clean with notes of fruit on the nose. The flavor is super bright and vibrant, much like the other bottles (Dobadan and Ensamble) that Don Beto makes for Marco Negra. Flavor notes include plantains, orange pulp, and sweet potatoes. These flavors blend nicely into a very balanced experience through the taste. The mouthfeel is medium-viscous that seems to bounce around to different receptors in the mouth. This is an incredible mezcal.

marco

marco

12 reviews
2 years ago

batch MJ28-15/ 97.2 proof
AROMA: tahini? crushed sesame seed aroma. radish. no smoke apparent. sweet, elusive compact aromas. bright, clean
fruit aromas slow to emerge. hint of tropical ripeness.
hidden whiffs of cherries and banana skin.
PALATE: fine and balanced. elegant and trim. feminine. round with restrained viscosity. seamless, which seems to be Ortiz’s calling card.
no mineral bitterness or bite.
after 12 hours open, firm but with developing earthiness on palate.

batch MJ28-15/ 97.2 proof
AROMA: tahini? crushed sesame seed aroma. radish. no smoke apparent. sweet, elusive compact aromas. bright, clean
fruit aromas slow to emerge. hint of tropical ripeness.
hidden whiffs of cherries and banana skin.
PALATE: fine and balanced. elegant and trim. feminine. round with restrained viscosity. seamless, which seems to be Ortiz’s calling card.
no mineral bitterness or bite.
after 12 hours open, firm but with developing earthiness on palate.

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top