Powered by 100% agave

Marca Negra Espadin

Marca Negra Espadin has a fresh and clean aroma of ripe fruit. This Mezcal is moderately priced, and works well as a mixer or enjoyed neat.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Marca Negra Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O396X, NOM-O72X
Mezcalero:Abel Nolasco, Basilio Pacheco, Francisco Mendez, Isaias Martinez Juan, Jorge Mendez
Agave:Espadin
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper, Refrescador
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Ejutla, San Juan del Rio, San Luis del Rio
ABV: 50%
About this mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra Espadin has a fresh and clean aroma of ripe fruit, followed by roasted fruits, then, rich sweet milky a citrus touch, clean and delicious finish.  At 50% ABV this is stronger than most other Espadin Mezcal’s but the alcohol does not overpower the the taste. This Mezcal is moderately priced, and works well as a mixer or enjoyed neat. The mezcalero, palenque, and ABV may vary by bottle. Check your bottle for details.

Marca Negra Mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra is made for all who wish to explore and embrace the ancient traditions of true mezcal. The handprint on the bottle represents the tireless work of the master distillers and the ancient knowledge that marks each and every batch. Marca Negra seeks the purest and most diverse expressions of this fantastic spirit, wherever they made be found. Due to limited batch production, the product line changes constantly. New mezcal varieties are created while others cease to exist. Mezcal Marca Negra is 48% ABV or higher because the mezcal is bottled at the alcohol level preferred by the maestro mezcaleros. Check your bottles for details about each specific batch.

Learn about Mezcal Marca Negra in these blog posts:

10 reviews

3.6 of out 5 stars


El_Cura

El_Cura

21 reviews
1 week ago

Espadin sweetness on nose, delicious Chocolate Cake in the palate with a mild burn finish. Highly recommended. Good dollar value as well. Batch XPM3718.

juanquillo

juanquillo

8 reviews
3 months ago

I found to much alcohol and not well balanced on the Jorge Mendez espadin, I preferred the one from San Juan del Rio but I can not find it anymore.

pallzley

pallzley

6 reviews
8 months ago

I have been biased lately, posting reviews of my favorites. This is no exception. Modest price and convenience considered. Batch Xjm21-17, total of 5325 bottles. From my local Trader Joes! Seeing this on their liquor shelf definitely made everyday grocery shopping exciting.

Nose of straw, hot red iron-y rocks, acetone, faintest hint of diesel-soaked tennis shoes. Big agave on the front, is spicy and vegetal… but you don’t recall that for long because the aroma of that rust and slate come back, along with some more steamed bittermelon sprayed with WarHeads Blue Raspberry sour candy spray dilution… Balanced immediately by aftertaste of diesel.. and then mellowing to the sweet/sweaty agave taste you know and love. Medium-thin feeling. A no-frills espadin I prefer to keep on hand. Not the most elegant, but that is not always desired for a casual sip. Has a bold but nice balance of diesel smokiness.

I have been biased lately, posting reviews of my favorites. This is no exception. Modest price and convenience considered. Batch Xjm21-17, total of 5325 bottles. From my local Trader Joes! Seeing this on their liquor shelf definitely made everyday grocery shopping exciting.
Nose of straw, hot red iron-y rocks, acetone, faintest hint of diesel-soaked tennis shoes. Big agave on the front, is spicy and vegetal… but you don’t recall that for long because the aroma of that rust and slate

Read more
Ojeda94

Ojeda94

1 review
1 year ago

At first smell, you get the fresh smell of petrol. Mix around a few times and you will get hints of burnt rubber.
Once you hit the first swig of mezcal it starts off smooth with a pungent taste of Mexican plastic sandal . Gulp it all down and you get the full flavor or a good year tired drifted on a few times.

Keith

Keith

33 reviews
1 year ago

XJM16-17, 50.2% ABV, Jorge Mendez Ramirez. Aromas of light citrus & vanilla, vanilla again for taste, accompanied by mild candied orange and rainwater; nice, pretty mezcal.

Tequesta

Tequesta

12 reviews
1 year ago

batch XJM16-17 Wonderful flavors of wood smoke and black pepper. clean soft finish. buttery and a balanced sweetness on the palate…I highly recommend this mezcal.

Tyler

Tyler

323 reviews
2 years ago

Vegetal and woody on the nose. This espadin has notes of pepper, vanilla, lime, and fig. At 50.2% ABV there is a smooth coppery finish. Batch MJ18-15. Recently I tried the espadin from Jorge Mendez at Las Perlas in Austin and was blown away. It has tons of bright floral notes that dance around on your palate. That espadin is one of the best I’ve ever tasted. 50.2% ABV. Batch Xjm16-17.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

96 reviews
3 years ago

SMOKE,SMOKE,SMOKE!sweet,deep and nice spice.long finish with good heat.good quality.great for winter nights.this one will kick you in the bohunkus!

Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
3 years ago

Batch MJ18-15. This is a really good Espadin. It’s a bit hot at +50% ABV, but still soft enough for sipping. Tasting notes of fresh coconut, almond, cinnamon, and fruity hints of apple and apricot. The finish is warm and clean.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
3 years ago

Enjoyed in a copita

Thick mouthfeel up front.

Finishes hot but fairly well balanced.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top