Powered by 100% agave

Marca Negra Dobadan

Marca Negra Dobadan tastes of cooked agave with a touch of molasses and brown sugar, green herbs and grapefruit peel, a slight smoky to a sweet finish.

Rating: (18 reviews)
Brand:Marca Negra Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O396X, NOM-O72X
Mezcalero:Alberto Ortiz
Agave:Mexicano
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria La Pila
ABV:49%
About this mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra Dobadan tastes of cooked agave with a touch of molasses and brown sugar, green herbs and grapefruit peel, a slight smoky flavor gives way to a sweet finish. The agave Dobadaan is agave Mexicano (rhodacantha) in the Zapotec language. Both names for this type of agave are pretty widely accepted in certain regions of Oaxaca. The Marca Negra Dobadaan tastes of rich fruits, and it’s very clean on the nose and palate.

Marca Negra Mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra is made for all who wish to explore and embrace the ancient traditions of true mezcal. The handprint on the bottle represents the tireless work of the master distillers and the ancient knowledge that marks each and every batch. Marca Negra seeks the purest and most diverse expressions of this fantastic spirit, wherever they made be found. Due to limited batch production, the product line changes constantly. New mezcal varieties are created while others cease to exist. Mezcal Marca Negra is 48% ABV or higher because the mezcal is bottled at the alcohol level preferred by the maestro mezcaleros. Check your bottles for details about each specific batch.

Learn about Mezcal Marca Negra in these blog posts:

18 reviews

4.33 out of 5


t8ke

t8ke

88 reviews
1 week ago

Batch XAO014-17

Thick, rich, mouth feel. Lots of honey, pepper, pineapple, melon and jalapeño pepper. Really complex, lots going on.

Whew, this is downright lovely. I could drink this all day. This shows off so much great Mexicano character, in a way that just jives with my palate.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
3 weeks ago

Batch MJ38-15. I recently had a madrecuixe made by Alberto Ortiz for Palenqueros, which was quite alcoholic and dominated by one perfumy flavour. It was not to my liking. This one is completely different: a light, silky and elegant mezcal. And, yet, it’s very complex with citrus, brown sugar, salt, caramel, butter, cinnamon and cedar/sandalwood. Beautiful! Close to five stars.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

82 reviews
2 months ago

XA014-17
Pretty classic, sandalwood, earthy spices, caramel, asparagus and lime. Red Hots and red licorice too. A little thin, not hot, acidic. Smoke is present and rustic with a more candied finish. Feels a little thin compared to other batches. 6/10.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
3 months ago

This is a very soft and understated Mezcal.

The nose is elegant and floral with a nice citrus undertone that’s not overpowering.

The pallet is rich and soft with notes of candy and cooked agave. The finish lingers with a citrus brightness. This mezcal didn’t necessarily wow me but it’s a very smooth easy drinker at a good price.

Soxfan

Soxfan

8 reviews
3 months ago

MJ09-14 48%ABV 574/600: Absolutely delicious. Wonderful when I opened this bottle about three years ago. Perhaps even more wonderful now. I can’t comment on other batches but if you see this one, buy it! Satisfaction guaranteed.

Jordan

Jordan

8 reviews
1 year ago

I love this. One of the best and most interesting mezcals I’ve had. Not sure of the lot, but I had it at Ghost Donkey in NYC. Definitely floral, perfumey and complex with taste of lemon curd or dried lemon peel throughout, which is the really unique flavor that makes this special

Joseph

Joseph

22 reviews
1 year ago

Batch 17J03-15: 4.5 stars – Beautiful. Clean, complex, ethereal flavors. Delicate floral, honeysuckle, and mild citrus notes. Definitely a ‘perfumed’ quality, but not overwhelming. Batch XA012-17: 2.5 stars – smells like watered down rubbing alcohol and a tiny bit of vanilla in the distance. A shell of its former self. The palette has some very faint similarities to that of the previous batch, but as if diluted with neutral grain spirits.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

102 reviews
2 years ago

Alberto Ortiz | Batch MJ03-15

Finally back in Chicago and able to open up the bottle I grabbed in San Diego. My second taste by Alberto Ortiz in the last 24 hours and just as smooth – clean, tropical fruity, and delicious. Alongside my new copitas and some not so light but very interesting reading. (Agaves of Continental North America)

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

174 reviews
2 years ago

Closer to 4.5/5

Yummy

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
2 years ago

Nose: A little shy, takes a few minutes in the glass to open up, but when it does, what a nose. Bags of citrus, limes, lemons, grapefruits, yuzu, lemon grass, bergamot, yuzu, avocado, lime leaves, shoe polish, baked clay and a touch of cider vinegar and bee’s wax.

Taste: Very much like the nose, full of bitter citrus peels, fruit acids, and bitter botanicals.

Comments: It’s as good as everyone is saying it is, bright and rich and wonderful.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
2 years ago

MJ09-14. impossible to pick apart. everything is so beautifully and fully integrated that it’s just its own beautiful whole. very bright and fragrant, floral, sweet. if this had a silkier mouthfeel, it would be my new favorite. lights out good.

SBP

SBP

6 reviews
2 years ago

(Batch XAO13-17, Bottle 260/610)
I found this bottle at an odd shop that didn’t seem to have any other mezcal, it was deeply discounted. That said, I wonder if they stored it improperly or this batch is off? It smells quite fruity and has a finish of spearmint, sugar, and perhaps vanilla. But with an incredibly smoky/chemical aftertaste that lingers, more so than any other mezcal I’ve tried in this price range. Still a tasty spirit despite that. While I’m not the biggest fan of Mexicano in general, this fell short of every other bottle I have tried of this agave. I would be curious to taste a different batch/bottle (if so, I will amend this review accordingly) – especially as I have enjoyed other Marca Negra releases in the past and thought a few to be truly excellent.

(Batch XAO13-17, Bottle 260/610)
I found this bottle at an odd shop that didn’t seem to have any other mezcal, it was deeply discounted. That said, I wonder if they stored it improperly or this batch is off? It smells quite fruity and has a finish of spearmint, sugar, and perhaps vanilla. But with an incredibly smoky/chemical aftertaste that lingers, more so than any other mezcal I’ve tried in this price range. Still a tasty spirit despite that. While I’m not the biggest fan of

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

105 reviews
2 years ago

amazing flavor.i get almost nothing on the nose but the taste was worthy of a rare 5 star rating.my opinion follows the other ratings.it is bright ,sweet and floral.there is a a wonderful mix of citrus and burnt sugar on the finish.this mezcal is suprisingly light but full of flavor.mr ortiz can do magic!

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
2 years ago

Lot XAO12-17 921/1050 Alberto Ortiz. I have pretty good variety in my bar. This bottle has evaporated down to the pinky finger on the back of the bottle, while many remain waiting their turn. Hard not to finish the bottle is right. Why? It’s not the nose; you don’t pop it open to savor the aroma. Good four star complex flavor on the palate. I think the smooth, toasted caramel aftertaste really seals the deal on this one.

Update 9/20/18 bottle 923 – perhaps the fact that it is a few months older in the bottle, now there is a lot of butterscotch on the nose. Comparing to some of the Vago Mexicano 90 /10 2014 batch of 841, litres this has a much more enticing nose. The Vago has more of a melon taste in the middle.

Lot XAO12-17 921/1050 Alberto Ortiz. I have pretty good variety in my bar. This bottle has evaporated down to the pinky finger on the back of the bottle, while many remain waiting their turn. Hard not to finish the bottle is right. Why? It’s not the nose; you don’t pop it open to savor the aroma. Good four star complex flavor on the palate. I think the smooth, toasted caramel aftertaste really seals the deal on this one.
Update 9/20/18 bottle 923 – perhaps the fact that it is a

Read more
COak

COak

92 reviews
3 years ago

17J03-15 47.7%. Don Beto might be my favorite mezcalero. This is amazing. It’s sweet, smooth and a bit of citrus. Hard not to finish the bottle!

marco

marco

12 reviews
3 years ago

(batch MJ09-14/ 576/600 bottles) 96 proof
AROMA: fresh ground black pepper. citrus. fresh green herbal aroma.
no hint of smoke. chalky, minerally aroma.
tight, fine, clean aromas. grapefruit skin.
PALATE: peppery and piquant. round and balanced. elegant, feminine. an elevated dobadan.
after 12 hours open a fuller, more fragrant perfumed palate developed, lingering berry sweetness at very finish. rich and complex.

Tyler

Tyler

375 reviews
3 years ago

Amazingly floral, bright, and sugary. This Mexicano has some flavors of lime, roasted agave, grape, burnt caramel, and salt. Slightly hot finish. I’ve had a few excellent batches. One of the best Mexicanos I’ve ever tasted was batch 17J03-15. Unfortunately batch XA013-17 was a disappointment.

Jonny

Jonny

406 reviews
4 years ago

Lots of strong citrous on the nose with notes of lime. This Mezcal is super rich with notes of caramel and vanilla. Like other mezcals from this Mezcalero, this is very clean on the nose and the flavor is finite. It’s balanced and insanely easy to drink for being so complex. This is one of my favorite Agave Mexicano mezcals. Batch 17J03-15 bottle 282/300.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top