Powered by 100% agave

Marca Negra Dobadan

Marca Negra Dobadan tastes of cooked agave with a touch of molasses and brown sugar, green herbs and grapefruit peel, a slight smoky to a sweet finish.

Rating: (28 reviews)
Brand:Marca Negra Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O396X, NOM-O72X
Mezcalero:Alberto Ortiz
Maguey:Mexicano
Agave:Rhodacantha
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria La Pila
ABV: 49%

About this mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra Dobadan tastes of cooked agave with a touch of molasses and brown sugar, green herbs and grapefruit peel, a slight smoky flavor gives way to a sweet finish. The maguey Dobadaan is agave Rhodacantha in the Zapotec language. Both names for this type of agave are pretty widely accepted in certain regions of Oaxaca. The Marca Negra Dobadaan tastes of rich fruits, and it’s very clean on the nose and palate.

Marca Negra Mezcal

Mezcal Marca Negra is made for all who wish to explore and embrace the ancient traditions of true mezcal. The handprint on the bottle represents the tireless work of the master distillers and the ancient knowledge that marks each and every batch. Marca Negra seeks the purest and most diverse expressions of this fantastic spirit, wherever they made be found. Due to limited batch production, the product line changes constantly. New mezcal varieties are created while others cease to exist. Mezcal Marca Negra is 48% ABV or higher because the mezcal is bottled at the alcohol level preferred by the maestro mezcaleros. Check your bottles for details about each specific batch.

Learn about Mezcal Marca Negra in these blog posts:

Member rating

4.23 out of 5

28 reviews

betweentwotobalas

betweentwotobalas

23 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

XA014-17. Alberto Ortíz. Bottle 273/890. 47.9% ABV.

This easy-sipping mexicano (an agave that seems to get less attention than others) has sat on my shelf for some time. Classic notes of roasted agave, ripe banana, grape and spearmint on the nose. Toasted honeycombs, maple syrup, green stems and dark chocolate on the palate. Black pepper, licorice and jalapeño on the finish. Reminds me of the Douglas Fir truffle from Soma Toronto. Dark, acidic, aromatic and delicious.

Forpowder

Forpowder

77 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

batch XAOLS-18 47.8% bottle 267/300 rated on 9/2023 Maestro Alberto Ortiz. Aromas are holy shit this is on a different level. herb garden dill oregano mint and cinnamon that goes on for ever! no smoke very mouth coating. Pink lozenger candy. has a very warm feeling to it like something you’d want to curl up with on a cold night. honeydew mellon

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch: XA015-18 (Bottle: 163/300 – 47.8% ABV)
Nose – Jellybeans. Red apple skins. Cinnamon roll frosting. Vibrant aromas, very nice.

Palate – Incredibly sweet to start – a sugary, candy apple flavor. Fresh blackberry. More vegetal, green bell pepper and a tad red chili pepper spicy, in the second half. Rose water in the finish. Wow, a frickin’ great agave rhodacantha mezcal. I’ve been looking for this bottle for about two years and it did not disappoint! Well worth the wait and the price of admission.

Batch: XA015-18 (Bottle: 163/300 – 47.8% ABV)
Nose – Jellybeans. Red apple skins. Cinnamon roll frosting. Vibrant aromas, very nice.
Palate – Incredibly sweet to start – a sugary, candy apple flavor. Fresh blackberry. More vegetal, green bell pepper and a tad red chili pepper spicy, in the second half. Rose water in the finish. Wow, a frickin’ great agave rhodacantha mezcal. I’ve been looking for this bottle for about two years and it did not disappoint! Well

Read more
logar

logar

20 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smoky and spicy. It has good body, light smoky flavor, strong bite on the tongue. Like an explosion in your mouth.

meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose: lemon zest and chlorine
On the higher end of the heat spectrum, pretty strong alcohol.
Spearmint, citric acid, vanilla, grapefruit pith, and bitter amaro on the mouth.
Fairly weak aftertaste.

A familiar mexicano flavor profile of medium to high complexity, in my book. Probably wouldn’t go out of my way to seek it out.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch XAO14-17 10/890 Spearmint gum, orange peel, bell peppers and a sweet finish.

dontimo66

dontimo66

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Very approachable in the first sniff. The alcohol is noticeable but fades. The texture is creamy with melon and citrus. Just enough herbal green to push the aromatics and enhance, rather than turn to mint. The most exciting thing is the ester effect that takes hold as it sits. Banana and Mango develop and reward you for the paced sipping.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

209 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

MJ03-15.
Great & clean smell and overall taste. I’m still not the biggest fan of a Mexicano, but this one gives nothing to complain about (and could be my favorite to date). Cream with vegetal notes on both smell & taste. Also very sweet & smooth, but not as deep or complex or unique enough to get more of a higher rating for me. Review #44

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A sample I’d somehow left lying around.. glad I found it.
Fairly subdued but still pleasant citrus nose.
Brown sugar, caramel, grapefruit, lemon peel, pepper on the palate.
Lovely rich, smooth mouthfeel.
Nice lingering sweet, slightly hot finish.
Delicious.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

hot and yummy. buy and enjoy – rinse repeat

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch XAO014-17

Thick, rich, mouth feel. Lots of honey, pepper, pineapple, melon and jalapeño pepper. Really complex, lots going on.

Whew, this is downright lovely. I could drink this all day. This shows off so much great Mexicano character, in a way that just jives with my palate.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch MJ38-15. I recently had a madrecuixe made by Alberto Ortiz for Palenqueros, which was quite alcoholic and dominated by one perfumy flavour. It was not to my liking. This one is completely different: a light, silky and elegant mezcal. And, yet, it’s very complex with citrus, brown sugar, salt, caramel, butter, cinnamon and cedar/sandalwood. Beautiful! Close to five stars.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

XA014-17
Pretty classic, sandalwood, earthy spices, caramel, asparagus and lime. Red Hots and red licorice too. A little thin, not hot, acidic. Smoke is present and rustic with a more candied finish. Feels a little thin compared to other batches. 6/10.

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This is a very soft and understated Mezcal.

The nose is elegant and floral with a nice citrus undertone that’s not overpowering.

The pallet is rich and soft with notes of candy and cooked agave. The finish lingers with a citrus brightness. This mezcal didn’t necessarily wow me but it’s a very smooth easy drinker at a good price.

Soxfan

Soxfan

18 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

MJ09-14 48%ABV 574/600: Absolutely delicious. Wonderful when I opened this bottle about three years ago. Perhaps even more wonderful now. I can’t comment on other batches but if you see this one, buy it! Satisfaction guaranteed.

Jordan

Jordan

11 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

I love this. One of the best and most interesting mezcals I’ve had. Not sure of the lot, but I had it at Ghost Donkey in NYC. Definitely floral, perfumey and complex with taste of lemon curd or dried lemon peel throughout, which is the really unique flavor that makes this special

Joseph

Joseph

26 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Batch 17J03-15: 4.5 stars – Beautiful. Clean, complex, ethereal flavors. Delicate floral, honeysuckle, and mild citrus notes. Definitely a ‘perfumed’ quality, but not overwhelming. Batch XA012-17: 2.5 stars – smells like watered down rubbing alcohol and a tiny bit of vanilla in the distance. A shell of its former self. The palette has some very faint similarities to that of the previous batch, but as if diluted with neutral grain spirits.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Alberto Ortiz | Batch MJ03-15

Finally back in Chicago and able to open up the bottle I grabbed in San Diego. My second taste by Alberto Ortiz in the last 24 hours and just as smooth – clean, tropical fruity, and delicious. Alongside my new copitas and some not so light but very interesting reading. (Agaves of Continental North America)

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Closer to 4.5/5

Yummy

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Nose: A little shy, takes a few minutes in the glass to open up, but when it does, what a nose. Bags of citrus, limes, lemons, grapefruits, yuzu, lemon grass, bergamot, yuzu, avocado, lime leaves, shoe polish, baked clay and a touch of cider vinegar and bee’s wax.

Taste: Very much like the nose, full of bitter citrus peels, fruit acids, and bitter botanicals.

Comments: It’s as good as everyone is saying it is, bright and rich and wonderful.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top