Powered by 100% agave

Ojo de Tigre Joven

Ojo de Tigre is a project with actor Luis Gerardo Mendez, who starred in The Noble Family, which was Mexico's highest grossing film when it was released.

About this mezcal

Ojo de Tigre Joven is produced with maguey Espadin (agave Angustifolia) from Oaxaca and maguey Tobala (agave Potatorum) from Puebla. The agaves are cooked in an underground pit over, milled with a tahona, and double distilled in a copper alembique still. This mezcal is produced by Casa Ausencio León in Tlacolula De Matamoros, Oaxaca.

Ojo de Tigre Mezcal

Ojo de Tigre Mezcal is part of the Casa Lumbre portfolio, which includes the brands Montelobos and Ancho Reyes. The Ojo de Tigre (Eye of the Tiger) brand is named after the Tiger’s eye stone, which is known for it’s good fortune. The brand is a collaboration with renowned Mexican actor and producer Luis Gerardo Mendez.

In July 2020, Pernod Ricard invested in the brand. Pernod Ricard controls a massive portfolio of spirits which also includes mezcal brands Del Maguey and Pierde Almas.

Member rating

3.05 out of 5

19 reviews

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Enjoyable, nice for cocktails.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Great liquid, a must have for any anyone who loves mezcal – I love it as ranch water!

agave_papi

agave_papi

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Terrific artisanal mezcal that is perfect for anyone new to the mezcal category. I enjoy it neat and in a paloma!

Anatobala

Anatobala

2 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

It’s fine to mix in a cocktail. but nothing more, I consider that the flavor is too general.

tallchad

tallchad

108 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Tasted at Baja Betty’s (San Diego) agave club for September. I didn’t get the batch info.
First taste was harsh and medicinal. Bad cherry cough syrup and ashy aftertaste. Once someone said the word “band aid” nobody could taste anything else. Of course I said “but is it band aid in a good or bad way?” Not good.
I let it sit for another 10 minutes and came back to retry. Still not good. On a positive note, the rep for the brand was knowledgeable and cool to talk to.

Tasted at Baja Betty’s (San Diego) agave club for September. I didn’t get the batch info.
First taste was harsh and medicinal. Bad cherry cough syrup and ashy aftertaste. Once someone said the word “band aid” nobody could taste anything else. Of course I said “but is it band aid in a good or bad way?” Not good.
I let it sit for another 10 minutes and came back to retry. Still not good. On a positive note, the rep for the brand was knowledgeable and cool

Read more
HoHum

HoHum

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Say what you want about this one but it’s approachable, with just the right amount of smoke, is at a familiar ABV for those new to Mezcals like myself, and just honestly enjoyable as an affordable entry into Mezcals to mix with.

Wanderingspider

Wanderingspider

55 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Picked up a 200mL BTL (40%) of this and it’s not bad at all.
It’s a little on the funky side, with lime peel astringency and like bruised melon/stone fruit.
It’s obviously a bit lighter and lacks some balance but doable definitely.

Socal

Socal

3 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Had this one recently while visiting Mexico at a chain hotel bar. Not offensive but widely boring. Similar to most alcohol promoted by actor.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote BC001. Aromas of brown sugar and honey, almost to the point of smelling like an unaged rum. The palate is astringent with some lighter notes of sour overripe peaches, figs, and plums. A little thin and short on the finish, but fine overall. There’s nothing overly off-putting about this, but also nothing that really excites me.

PedroDLHR

PedroDLHR

10 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Ojo de Tigre is a mixture of Espadín and Tobalá agaves. The Espadín agave is well worked, with smoky notes. Its flavor is firm, and the alcohol concentration gives it a solid character. In my opinion, it still needs a little more body, but for people who start taking mezcal, this is a good option.

Justin.Anderson3

Justin.Anderson3

14 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

It’s ok. Not the best but has that smoke that people may like in mezcal. The ensamble it’s obviously 90% espadin. Not horrible but also not the best.

Jonathan Lockwood

Jonathan Lockwood

13 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

As a previous reviewer put it, “it isn’t horrible.” I suppose a 1 star rating would be for something that, after sufficient tasting, is just disgusting.

Well again, this isn’t disgusting. Isn’t repugnant. Isn’t putrid.

You can oh-so-faintly detect some mildly pleasant flavors hiding very deep within this product. But I prefer not to work so hard. Maybe the 40% is a little better than this 37 I had today. But I’d guess a nice 45% would render it actually worthy of note.

For a starter mezcal I’d say 400 Conejos is somewhat better, with more flavor. ✌️

As a previous reviewer put it, “it isn’t horrible.” I suppose a 1 star rating would be for something that, after sufficient tasting, is just disgusting.
Well again, this isn’t disgusting. Isn’t repugnant. Isn’t putrid.
You can oh-so-faintly detect some mildly pleasant flavors hiding very deep within this product. But I prefer not to work so hard. Maybe the 40% is a little better than this 37 I had today. But I’d guess a nice 45% would render it actually worthy of note.
For a starte

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

?- clear
?- faint drying impact.
Aromas of light plastics, fresh herbaceousness, cucumber, aloe vera, lemon oils and lemon peel, waxy guava, white pepper and light honeys.
Adequate & slightly complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- coating effect with astringent highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour taste, with sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of pepper, lemon zest, light honey, and raw wood and fair smoke.
Medium concentration flavor intensity, simple character, correct balance.
Straightforward and long finish.
Very Good to excellent overall impression.

*Very nicely balanced. Is it going to change your life? No, but it’s a very nice introductory value ensamble.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

?- clear
?- faint drying impact.
Aromas of light plastics, fresh herbaceousness, cucumber, aloe vera, lemon oils and lemon peel, waxy guava, white pepper and light honeys.
Adequate & slightly complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- coating effect with astringent highlights; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour taste, with sweet & bitter highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of pepper, lemon zest, light honey, and raw wood and fair smoke.
Medium

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: BC001
Nose: Beaucoup smoke. Felt pen. Sweet n’ Low.

Palate: More viscous than expected. Mineral and smoky – some agave sweetness but you gotta dig deep. For a 40% APV it’s stiff. Ash aftertaste.

Not a glowing description but I do like it and it’s good value at 30 bucks.

Bandoleroo

Bandoleroo

10 reviews
Rated 1.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A fan of the actor not so much of the product. Tasted neat in several bars and it was always light,mineraly, and tad bitter. I was told they mix the finished product together. So the agave’s never meet and go through the artisanal process together.

Tyler

Tyler

647 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Was expecting worse. In Mexico this is 37% and from NOM-O12X which produces a lot of low-quality mezcal. This US release is 40% from NOM-O649X. Maybe it is the same juice with 3% more booze, maybe not? Either way, it isn’t horrible. It is light with some fruity notes along with some saline and minerality. I don’t get a ton of organic agave flavors here which is a downside. It is almost like mezcal flavored watery alcohol. The 200ml bottle is fun. Lote BC001.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

BC001
Gentle, slightly herby but good fruits. Tropical fruits (mango, kiwi), floral, plums. More tobala character than expected. Some mild vanilla, Ceylon, tarragon.

Gentle here as well, with an interesting perfumed character on entry that finishes more like espadin. Slightly viscous, more than expected, needs some acidity. Not much bitterness.

5/10 on the t8ke scale. Really great stuff for an entry level product. The tobala is here without bringing Sharpie tones etc.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

39 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

A nice ensemble. Crisp and clean with tropical fruits and mineral notes. A bit light at 37% ABV. I was given a 200 ml bottle as a gift. It had had no lot or bottle number listed.

booyaka2

booyaka2

7 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I’m a huge fan of Both Espadin and Tobala and this one blends them nicely. Craft so you can tell its cared for and made in small batches.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top