Powered by 100% agave

Pal’alma Guerrero – Cupreata Capon

Pal’alma Guerrero - Cupreata Capon is made with 3 year capon maguey Papalote (Agave cupreata).

Rating: (10 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Pal'alma
Maguey:Papalote
Agave:Cupreata
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Capón, Joven
State:Guerrero
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 8-15 years
Website: https://www.facebook.com/Mezcalito-Palalma-865025870235262/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Pal’alma Guerrero – Cupreata Capon is made with Agave cupreata that took between 8-15 years to reach maturity. Once the reproductive stalk (“quiote”) began to grow, it was cut (“capón”) to redirect and concentrate sugars in the plant’s heart for a further 3 years. The resulting spirit is rich and expressive.

Pal'alma

Pal’alma (or Mezcalito Pal’alma) is curated by Erick Rodriguez. Erick also bottles under the brand Almamezcalera. Known by many as the Indiana Jones of Mezcal, Erick Rodriguez works with agave spirits producers from the 20+ states of Mexico. Anywhere he finds agave fields and a freshwater stream, there’s a good chance that someone is making mezcal nearby. He has a private tasting room in Mexico City, which we visited in 2017, and wrote about in our post Almamezcalera & Mezcalito Pal’alma.

Member rating

4.7 out of 5

10 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

113 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Lot 008

Nose: tart citrus, lemon, briny, candy like though, almost like lemonheads, there’s a tangy mulch thing going I often associate with clay.

Palate and Finish: oh yeah lemon candy for sure, lemon sour patch kids, great mouthfeel, the melon I look for in Cupreata is there but really turned down, just so much citrus, apple cider vinegar, slight minerality and pepper toward the finish. The finish is terrific, slightly bitter grapefruit that sits for a long time, a bit leathery. Some peppery smoke in a great way.

Guerrero Cupreata has been one of my favorites for a while and this does not disappoint. Damn this is good

Lot 008
Nose: tart citrus, lemon, briny, candy like though, almost like lemonheads, there’s a tangy mulch thing going I often associate with clay.
Palate and Finish: oh yeah lemon candy for sure, lemon sour patch kids, great mouthfeel, the melon I look for in Cupreata is there but really turned down, just so much citrus, apple cider vinegar, slight minerality and pepper toward the finish. The finish is terrific, slightly bitter grapefruit that sits for a long time, a bit leathery. Some peppe

Read more
little_agave

little_agave

34 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

This was stellar. I have lot 11 and 21. Going from memory, don’t know which lot per say. First time I had this both my wife and I looked up a each other and said wow. I havent been doing notes but rather pausing to sit in the moment with the mezcal and people I’m surrounded by, soak up that side a bit. 10 of 10 I would get it again for sure!

JDB

JDB

167 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Artemio Garcia Barrios, (no information on if these are capón or not)
abv 50% May 2020, Lot 19, Matured in glass for 21 months, bottle 3/47
abv 50%, Feb 2020, Lot 20, Matured in glass for 29 months, bottle 30/50

Tasting these two side-by-side. I picked up the first bottle in Mexico City in 2022 from Erick. Long story, but I got ill and couldn’t make the scheduled tasting, but he was kind enough to deliver this bottle and three others to where we were staying. The second bottle I purchased at Madre in Torrance last week at a tasting with Erick/Pal’alma hosted by Ivan Vasquez. We didn’t taste this mezcalito at that tasting, but I knew I wanted to pick up a second bottle.

– Lot 19 – the last pour from his bottle. Really enjoyed revisiting this bottle over the last year and a half. From Erick in 2022 I also bought a bottle of cupreata from Michoacán (Penca Ancha) and was really impressed by how different they both are. This one is quite sweet on the nose, hints of candy cane, sweet grass, and spearmint. The palate has plenty of sweetness but also that mint and a nutty/mushroom like flavor (almonds and shiitake). After letting it sit a bit, there are some chocolate and rich dark earth notes that come through. Nice black pepper heat for the abv, that heat is subdued yet lingers nicely on the tongue. (****1/2)

Lot 20 – Very similar nose to the first bottle. Sweetness and mint, but not as much sweet grass. I don’t know if the longer time in glass impacted the flavor more or the month of harvest (without knowing exactly where the magueyero harvested these agaves). This expression has more funk, a good amount of minerality, and a white pepper heat that hits the top of the mouth. Still sweet overall: a bit of cotton candy, some floral notes close to rose petals. After getting some more air, I pick up some lactic notes (on the milk spectrum as another reviewer pointed out) as well as some roasted coriander. Really has some great depth of flavor. *****

Looking at the other reviews, I think my batches have some different flavor profiles, not getting the caramel, date, or apple notes, however I think we all agree that if you can track down one of these bottles, you will be glad that you did. These bottles are not cheap, but the quality is very high. You are definitely getting what you pay for.

Artemio Garcia Barrios, (no information on if these are capón or not)
abv 50% May 2020, Lot 19, Matured in glass for 21 months, bottle 3/47
abv 50%, Feb 2020, Lot 20, Matured in glass for 29 months, bottle 30/50
Tasting these two side-by-side. I picked up the first bottle in Mexico City in 2022 from Erick. Long story, but I got ill and couldn’t make the scheduled tasting, but he was kind enough to deliver this bottle and three others to where we were staying. The second bottle I purcha

Read more
Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

* Mezcalero: Atremio G.
* Lot: 11
* Bottle: 03/51
* ABV: 50%

An absolutely amazing spirit! Nose is deep; unsweetened chocolate/cocoa and light cinnamon followed by black cherry. Very inviting and very nice.

Flavors explode – dates and pralines followed by pear and apple with just the right amount of white pepper bite to follow the fruits and sweets.

Mild leathery finish with no hints of ethanol or burnt vegetal and lingers for a nice time – just a overall plain stunner.

Hard to find, priced high and still a 5; one of the very best Mezcal’s I’ve ever had. I’ll be stashing my bottle waayyy back in the cabinet and crying once it’s gone, this one is a keeper.

* Mezcalero: Atremio G.
* Lot: 11
* Bottle: 03/51
* ABV: 50%
An absolutely amazing spirit! Nose is deep; unsweetened chocolate/cocoa and light cinnamon followed by black cherry. Very inviting and very nice.
Flavors explode – dates and pralines followed by pear and apple with just the right amount of white pepper bite to follow the fruits and sweets.
Mild leathery finish with no hints of ethanol or burnt vegetal and lingers for a nice time – just a overall plain stunner.
Hard to find,

Read more
Imperium

Imperium

99 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Tasting at Erick’s house in CDMX in 2023. There were two versions, one was a lot funkier than the other. I found it similar to the offering from 5 Sentidos, one of my favorites.
A fruity start leads into a fruit punch blast with heat and pepper, with a mineral finish. Extremely good mezcal.

mark

mark

4 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 12, bottle 8/76. My first review and mezcal so take that into consideration. Smells a bit funky, for lack of a better word. But the aromas are quite different from the flavor to me. In the middle/end of the palate I get a rush of sweetness, almost as if it turned into agave sweeter for just a second. Very cool, if you ask me. I really enjoy it. I don’t pick out flavors well, so I can’t add to others.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose – A very fresh cupreata agave roast – not terribly funky for capon (more of a vibrant, fresh scent). Fanta grape soda.

Palate – The initial sip is an incredible slow build but then the flavors explode! Notes of a fruity, white wine. Dates. Dried sour cherry. A tangy cider. A nice, slick mouthfeel. The agave funk is there but much more subtle than some of the capons I’ve tried lately. It’s more flavor forward than funk forward. Excellent stuff!

zeepuzzler

zeepuzzler

25 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 008. Bottle 75/76. Wow wow wowwww this is something special! On the nose, I get Calvados, caramel apple, chocolate-covered raisins, brown sugar, Nilla Wafers, and brandied cherries. The palate explodes with chocolate milk before more nuanced flavors reveal themselves: Ovaltine, sticky toffee pudding, spent coffee grinds, Bartlett pear, sweet potato casserole, freshly baked shortbread…

Every sip demands my attention, and I absolutely love it.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Agree with Jonny on the toffee/caramel. Some granny smith too. Really nice minerality on the finish. Almost like it was mixed with a flat Rambler. Love this

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 008. Bottle 06/76. The recent influx of Guerrero mezcal has me hooked. This yet another STELLAR mezcal from Guerrero. Aromas of crisp, fresh green apples, plums, and yellow Starbursts. The palate coats the mouth with notes of toffee, caramel, dates, sweet potatoes, hot chocolate, and freshly brewed coffee. The finish is long and sweet with extended caramel notes. Solid highs, mids, and lows throughout on this one.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top