Powered by 100% agave

Real Minero Barril

Real Minero Barril is made using agave Barril, which makes this Mezcal full-bodied with notes of tropical fruit and vanilla.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Brand:Real Minero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O37X
Mezcalero:Don Lorenzo Angeles, Edgar Angeles
Agave:Barril
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 14 years
Website: http://realminero.com.mx/
About this mezcal

Real Minero Barril is made using agave Barril, which is fairly rare to see in the international market. The name “barril” comes from how the plant looks as it is somewhat barrel shaped. The Barril makes this Mezcal is full-bodied with notes of tropical fruit and vanilla. This mezcal can be pricey, but it’s worth trying.

Real Minero Mezcal

Real Minero is considered one of the world's finest Mezcal producers. The family has been making mezcal for several generations in Santa Catarina Minas, and they're known both in Mexico and abroad for creating some of the best bottles available. All of their mezcal is made in small clay pot stills, and almost all of it is rested in glass for several months before bottling, giving the mezcal a much softer character. Outside of creating great spirits, they also have one of the largest and most diverse sustainable agave reforestation programs. With the help of the community, they've been able to rescue several agave varieties that were previously thought to be extinct. The ABV of each batch may vary slightly, so check your bottle for details.

Read more about our visit to the Real Minero Agave Nursery and Palenque Tour.

6 reviews

4.4 of out 5 stars


2 months ago

Delightful tropical( kiwi and banana) sweetness on the nose.

Peppery finish.

3 months ago

Slightly fruity but a nice richness. Beautiful mezcal

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
8 months ago

Nose: really fruity, Strawberries, banana, kiwi, grapes, oranges, cherry, lemon peel, lime juice, jellied sweets, after a few minutes in the glass, it starts to get smokier, with roast agave, baked clay and black pepper,

Palate: Wow! Cooked apples and pears, kiwi, sweet potato, wet grass, green apple peel, wood smoke, elder flower, juniper berries, mossy bark, twigs.

Comments: Top grade stuff, the perfect balance of fruit and smoke!

Joseph

Joseph

18 reviews
10 months ago

This is one of my favorite Real Minero mezcals. Super rich and viscous with lots of earth, clay, tobacco, and chocolate, rounded out with loads of roasted agave sweetness. This one keeps me coming back. RMB-05 – 2016 – 50.3%

Jonny

Jonny

304 reviews
1 year ago

Lot RMB-04 from 2016. 52% ABV. Chocolate aromas!!! Lots of dark, rich chocolate on the nose with a bit of blueberry and strawberry. The palate has some clay and nice thickness. It’s really well balanced and full. tastes of sweet potato, banana, and dark chocolate. It seems at times that Real Minero is so far ahead of everything else and this mezcal is no exception. It’s another amazing creation from them. Can’t get enough of it.

Tyler

Tyler

285 reviews
1 year ago

This is one of the easier Real Minero mezcals to find in bars and stores. I tasted Lot 5 from 2015 at 50.3% and enjoyed it. There are notes of soft clay, burnt caramelized banana, candied yams, with a tangerine gummy bear bite finish. I also brought back a 275ml bottle from Oaxaca, Lot 4 from 2016. That version was incredibly smooth and dark. It had some rich chocolate notes and the typical floral karwinskii flavors had been overtaken by the richness of other flavors. I enjoy it quite a bit but prefer some of their other releases like the Largo and Tripon over this one.

This is one of the easier Real Minero mezcals to find in bars and stores. I tasted Lot 5 from 2015 at 50.3% and enjoyed it. There are notes of soft clay, burnt caramelized banana, candied yams, with a tangerine gummy bear bite finish. I also brought back a 275ml bottle from Oaxaca, Lot 4 from 2016. That version was incredibly smooth and dark. It had some rich chocolate notes and the typical floral karwinskii flavors had been overtaken by the richness of other flavors. I enjoy it quite a bit but

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews