Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Cuishe

Rey Campero Cuishe has a very clean, crisp nose with a nice fruit and mineral flavor mixing with some heat on the finish.

About this mezcal

The Rey Campero Cuishe mezcalero, Romulo Sanchez Parada, learned how to make mezcal from his dad and worked in the palenque until he was 20.  When the economy went bad and Mezcal was no longer a viable enterprise he emigrated north and worked in North Carolina. He returned to Mexico in 2003, gathered his family, and began making Mezcal again. Rey Campero Cuishe has a very clean, crisp nose with a nice fruit and mineral mixing with some heat on the finish.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means “King of the Countryside” and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

Member rating

3.57 out of 5

27 reviews

relevanteagle

relevanteagle

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lote: DS010-C
Bottle: 200ml
ABV: 49.1%

Nose: nail polish, sweeteness, strawberry, perfume

Palate: apple, cream soda, nuttiness, slight minerality

Finish: caramel and mineral

Thoughts: this is tasty. Nose is way different than the taste. Feels pretty full of flavor. Not overly sweet with a nice minerality at the end.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

lote: ds017-c, November 2020 production date, glass rested 23 months, 48.3% abv

Review #40: sweet lime, lemon, orange oils, it is very citrusy up front on the nose and palate. It then adds in some spearmint, pine, and pineapple. Nearing the finish I get clay, minerals, milk chocolate, soft wet earthiness, and a touch of smoke on the end.

I like this a lot and it had a fun complexity. It was surprising how much citrus I got from this as I hoped for a bit more earthiness, but it only subtlety showed up near the finish. If there were more of that, I would have loved this, but it just wasn’t strong enough with the flavors underneath all the citrus

lote: ds017-c, November 2020 production date, glass rested 23 months, 48.3% abv
Review #40: sweet lime, lemon, orange oils, it is very citrusy up front on the nose and palate. It then adds in some spearmint, pine, and pineapple. Nearing the finish I get clay, minerals, milk chocolate, soft wet earthiness, and a touch of smoke on the end.
I like this a lot and it had a fun complexity. It was surprising how much citrus I got from this as I hoped for a bit more earthiness, but it only subtlety show

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

D5017-C 48.3% Aromas out of the bottle are clean and minty something that also reminds me of sage very little alcohol aroma. Flavors are minally and chalky with unripened tropical fruit and pine accents. Kind of finishes Sharp and leaves a pucker in the mouth. After the bottles has been opened a bit I get dirty cheese and bay leaves.

Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot D5013-C, 359/866, 48.5%

As hinted in another review I think all my reviews will be quite positive this evening as this is a sweet sampler. Especially next to a couple espadins, this one sparkles. Botanical gardens nose. Chile, cucumber, and roses into a cool smoke.

little_agave

little_agave

36 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote: DS010-C 49.1% abv
Aroma: leafy, green, herbal, mint, sage, cantaloupe, lemon oil
Palate: pine needles, bell pepper, jalapeño, chemical, floral, slight bitter finish

Don’t particularly love any part of this. While I appreciate this, I’m not drawn to having any more.

Chuey Agave

Chuey Agave

19 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 95008BE
Bottle 1041/1333

Nose is inviting sweet and warm notes of cinnamon and fresh baked pan dulce. Citris notes as well.

Flavors nutty flavors on the pallet with a citrus finish. The finish is medium long and enjoyable. Baking spices mixed in a well. Very savory.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nothing but good comes from Rey Campero. This was well done.

DavCao

DavCao

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot:DS006-C Dic2015. 48.8% very herbaceus In the nose with a note of burnt agave and liquoirice. In the mouth Is similar. Not the best in lenght but work ok for the price

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: DS010-C
Nose – Muddy gardening soil. Orange citrus.

Palate – Oreo cookie filling. A tad hot/vapory in the middle. Gonna borrow from Jonny of 5 years ago and tack on the buttery potatoes. A jarred caper salinity. Finish is dry, floral and smoky. A smoky, vanilla aftertaste (an uptick in the sweetness).

meserole

meserole

73 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

My favorite of several varietals from the Rey Campero line, unsurprising to me because I love a good Karwinskii. This has the wet leaves, sour green apple on the tongue, with mineral/clean stones/chocolate milk aftertaste that is divinely smooth on the way out.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: D8008B-C
Aroma of fresh peppermint, dark chocolate, and green grape skin, and light smoke. Bold with a fair amount of heat in the mouth. Green grape, grass, apple, and pear. Medium-full palate and the mouthfeel is my favorite attribute. I’m enjoying this more on my second serving but expected more.

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote D5008B-C; 200ml

?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of fresh herbs, raw wood, lemon, honeydew.
Adequate & simple production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with some coating; sufficient smooth alcohol;medium body.
Primarily sweet, sour, bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of peppercorn, lime, fresh herbs, rosemary, orange.
Light-Medium concentration flavor intensity, simple character, harmonious balance.
Straightforward and very long finish.
Very good overall impression.

*void of flaws, in correct balance, just not very flavorful character nor complex. May need to revisit and re-evaluate profile.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lote D5008B-C; 200ml
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of fresh herbs, raw wood, lemon, honeydew.
Adequate & simple production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent effect with some coating; sufficient smooth alcohol;medium body.
Primarily sweet, sour, bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of peppercorn, lime, fresh herbs, rosemary, orange.
Light-Medium concentration flavor intensity, simple character, harmonious balance.
Straightforward and very long finish.
Very good ov

Read more
Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot R5001-C from Ramiro Sanchez Altamirano at 52.8% Tropical fruit salad with an easy nose, hiding the heavy AVB. Spicy! Lots of heat, this will wake you right up or keep you warm on a chilly evening.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Rich in minerals and vegetables. Peppery with a very heavy mouth coating. This is the 2nd Rey Campero i’ve owned tried and it continues to be a brand that I want to own them all – this is good juice!

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

3.75. Getting the same wet stone minerality mentioned below, along with some bbq sweetness. It’s good, but a step or two away from the very good/elite karwinskiis.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Long, powerful, acrid. Lots of burning wood, faint plastic, ashy goodness. The fruits and sweetness are toned down here completely, giving way to a pepper bomb of smoke.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

215 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

One of my first intros to Cuishe. Super green on the nose, with a good bite. Smells of brown sugar. Herbaceous and strong with end tastes of green peppers & ‘old’ bananas. This came in 2nd behind the R.C Tep. in my blind tastes. Lote DS008B-C

SpencerS

SpencerS

13 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Second Rey Campero I’ve tried and am pretty new to Cuishe.

The nose contains a lot of citrus with a caramel sweetness and a clean, wet stone minerality. Very little smoke but a slight hint of roasted pepper and leather.

The pallet is rich and oily with roasted agave coating the mouth. The orange/citrus notes picked up on the nose cut through to create a nice clean finish. Much more “roasty” than smokey. Like the Rey Campero Jabali, heat lingers after the sip.

All in all, a very nice, well rounded and clean mezcal. 4 solid stars.

Second Rey Campero I’ve tried and am pretty new to Cuishe.
The nose contains a lot of citrus with a caramel sweetness and a clean, wet stone minerality. Very little smoke but a slight hint of roasted pepper and leather.
The pallet is rich and oily with roasted agave coating the mouth. The orange/citrus notes picked up on the nose cut through to create a nice clean finish. Much more “roasty” than smokey. Like the Rey Campero Jabali, heat lingers after the sip.
All in all, a

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

DS008B-C. Sweet and spicy. Caramel, cinnamon, allspice, clove, and brown sugar. Nice for sipping by the fire on a cold rainy night.

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot: DS00 8A-C 48.3%abv
Nose is very vegetal, charred zucchini, fruity with a touch of earthiness, citrus lime, banana, buttercream. Taste is more vegetal notes of roasted agave, banana, toffee, with mint on the back end along with an alcohol bite. Finish is dry and a bit chalky. This is really great but I do wish the finish was a bit longer. Still rock solid.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top