Powered by 100% agave

Union Viejo

Mezcal Union Viejo is made with agave Espadin and Tobala. The Tobala is more rare but it gives the mezcal a unique texture and taste.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Brand:Union Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O174X
Mezcalero:Pedro Hernandez
Agave:Espadin, Tobala
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass, Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila
ABV: 45%
Website: http://www.mezcalunion.com/
About this mezcal

Mezcal Union Viejo uses farm-grown Espadin Agave and wild Tobala Agave. Due to the limited supply of agave Tobala, the availability of this mezcal is much lower than Mezcal Union Uno. The name “El Viejo” is an homage to the old man who told the Union founders that the future mezcal would need to be a “union.”

Union Mezcal

Union is one of the most commonly found mezcals for cocktails in the US and Mexico. Their story says that when starting the company, an old man told them that the future of mezcal would be based on a UNIÓN. That's how they named the company, and that's how they decided to make a mezcal that featured different producer families. Though Pedro Hernandez is their master mezcalero, each bottle is produced by a union of Oaxacan families. There may be slight variations of flavor from batch to batch, but not much, as they are now using a Solera process to ensure better consistency. In February of 2017, Mezcal Union signed a distribution agreement with Diageo. The agreement keeps the ownership of Union in the hands of its founders, while opening the doors to a wider distribution network.

Read more about Mezcal Union on our blog: Mezcal Union Palenque Tour

 

Mezcal Union promotional video

8 reviews

4 of out 5 stars


2 weeks ago

Lot UV/1118. Woody, earthy, easy-sipping mezcal for a great price. I don’t pick up too much tobala in the mix but maybe some of the pine, cedar and black pepper coming through is that. Solid choice for a weeknight.

4 weeks ago

LOT UV/1118

Solid mezcal. Dried, earthy, like roasted peppers? Needed to add something with tobala to my collection.

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

16 reviews
2 months ago

Lot No. UV09/18, Bottle No. 725/1344. Been looking forward to this one for a while as availability is somewhat spotty in my area. Floral aroma, with jalapeño and green bell pepper riding on clean ethanol vapor. Initial taste is mineral and slightly brackish, then the bright green peppers again with a pronounced sweetness that lingers into the finish on a nice alcohol burn. No smoke that I can perceive. Overall impression is clean, bright, sweet. Perhaps a little tame, probably not going to blow anyone away, but solid quality and definitely enjoyable.

Lot No. UV09/18, Bottle No. 725/1344. Been looking forward to this one for a while as availability is somewhat spotty in my area. Floral aroma, with jalapeño and green bell pepper riding on clean ethanol vapor. Initial taste is mineral and slightly brackish, then the bright green peppers again with a pronounced sweetness that lingers into the finish on a nice alcohol burn. No smoke that I can perceive. Overall impression is clean, bright, sweet. Perhaps a little tame, probably not going to blow

Read more
Ravi

Ravi

2 reviews
3 months ago

Picked up a domestic bottle of this in Tijuana on a recommendation and glad I did. Unfortunately didn’t note the Lot or bottle number and (it is now gone). It’s a very approachable mezcal, the smoke doesn’t smack you in the face, but is well integrated and creeps up. I got a lot of ‘Christmas spice’ notes in my bottle. It was almost rum-like, with cinnamon, clove, nutmeg and flamed orange on top of the agave flavour. Very smooth but in no way boring. Definitely recommended!

Picked up a domestic bottle of this in Tijuana on a recommendation and glad I did. Unfortunately didn’t note the Lot or bottle number and (it is now gone). It’s a very approachable mezcal, the smoke doesn’t smack you in the face, but is well integrated and creeps up. I got a lot of ‘Christmas spice’ notes in my bottle. It was almost rum-like, with cinnamon, clove, nutmeg and flamed orange on top of the agave flavour. Very smooth but in no way boring. Definitely reco

Read more
Patrick

Patrick

13 reviews
7 months ago

LOTE : UV 06/17
BOTTLE : 4590/6048
Nose : have agree with burnt orange peels. A little vanilla sweetness and cinnamon thrown in there somewhere with dust sprinkled on top.

Taste : sweet butterscotch with cinnamon and a tinge of herbal.

Finish : lingering yet not enough to spoil your next round

Excellent price point. Should of bought more..

Jonny

Jonny

288 reviews
9 months ago

Lot UV07/18. Bottle 255/672. Burnt sweet aromas, like charred orange peels and singed limes. The palate is light but full with notes of green papaya, cashews, and peas. Hints of cinnamon and all spice linger. I’d tasted several MX-only batches of this before it came to the US and it seems like the US batches are the same quality as what they had before in MX. At this price point, I definitely recommend trying it.

Tequesta

Tequesta

12 reviews
11 months ago

lot VV 07/18 I get a bright orange peel note as I pour this..then it mellows to smoked chilis. It’s so smooth and light on your palate, crystal clear and spicy as you drink it, hints of cinnamon and cloves. Bought this bottle while in Mazatlan, wish I would have brought home more. Highly recommend.

Avatar

P. Binner

2 years ago

This is an exceptional and flavourful Mezcal! I love the hint of smoke, it so much reminds me of Mexico. I only wish I could buy this in Canada!
EXCELLENT!!!!

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Follow @mezcalreviews