Powered by 100% agave

Unión Uno

The families that produce Mezcal Union Uno have generations of mezcal experience. Union operates as a sort of collective for several producer-families.

Rating: (33 reviews)
Cost:$
Brand:Union Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O174X
COMERCAM:0288A1015673A, opens in new window
Mezcalero:Jorge Aaron Mendez Cortes, Pedro Hernandez
Maguey:Barril, Cirial, Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia, Karwinskii
Distillation:Copper
Style:Blend, Ensamble, Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Baltazar Guélavila
ABV: 38% or 40%
Age of plant: 8-20 years
Website: https://mezcalunion.com/, opens in new window
Ownership:Diageo

About this mezcal

Mezcal Unión Uno uses farm-grown maguey Espadin and wild maguey Cirial. This agave is cut and roasted for four days. The families that produce Union have several generations experience as their main craft. Union uses a collection of different producer-families in the region to produce their bottles. Earlier batches of Union Uno contained a third maguey: Barril.

Union Mezcal

Union is one of the most commonly found mezcals for cocktails in the US and Mexico. Their story says that when starting the company, an old man told them that the future of mezcal would be based on a UNIÓN. That’s how they named the company, and that’s how they decided to make a mezcal that featured different producer families. Though Pedro Hernandez is their master mezcalero, each bottle is produced by a union of Oaxacan families. There may be slight variations of flavor from batch to batch, but not much, as they are now using a Solera process to ensure better consistency.

In February of 2017, Mezcal Union signed a distribution agreement with Diageo. The agreement keeps the ownership of Union in the hands of its founders, while opening the doors to a wider distribution network. In August 2021 it was announced that Diageo would acquire Union’s parent company, Casa UM, for an undisclosed sum.

Read more about Mezcal Union on our blog: Mezcal Union Palenque Tour

 

Mezcal Union promotional video

Member rating

3.38 out of 5

33 reviews

DiggsBakes

DiggsBakes

3 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Great intro mezcal, as it was also one of my first. Enough smokiness to get the feel for it. Nothing about this one is very distinct, but it is pleasant and easy to drink. Price is also OK.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

38 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Some subtle smoke and citrus notes. I was curious to try a Cirial; but I found this mezcal to be disappointingly thin and weak. Maybe going with a higher proof as opposed to bringing it down to 80 would give it more body. A cocktail mixer. LOT # MKU099.

Chad W.

Chad W.

11 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose is salty, umami and I even picked up on some fresh pretzel

Taste is smokey with notes of firewood and some spice and citrus to follow. Not too much body or complexion to this one but the price is great for the quality. Would mainly use for cocktails but also an approachable sipper.

Forpowder

Forpowder

73 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

40% Aromas from the bottle are smokey agave with some acetone. Taste more or less follows dominated by smoke and different paint thinner acetone-like flavors with some sweetness at the end

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Pleasant surprise, smells of caramel cookies and key lime pie, light smoke. Well-made mezcal, integrated alcohol, white pepper, boiled agave, vanilla shake, nearly peaty smoke flavours. A bit muted, but very nice

Tmwilliams

Tmwilliams

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Excellent value for the price point. This mezcal is commonly used in bars for mixing. It has a good smokey, medicinal, vanilla and sweet flavor to it. It’s not as complex as other top shelf mezcals, but it’s pretty good. This would make an excellent entry level Mezcal for those who want to differentiate from tequila. I tried this in a bar margarita and thought it was really good and expected it to be more expensive. Overall I’m impressed and I plan on keeping a bottle around for mixing. Lot: UW-3411

Excellent value for the price point. This mezcal is commonly used in bars for mixing. It has a good smokey, medicinal, vanilla and sweet flavor to it. It’s not as complex as other top shelf mezcals, but it’s pretty good. This would make an excellent entry level Mezcal for those who want to differentiate from tequila. I tried this in a bar margarita and thought it was really good and expected it to be more expensive. Overall I’m impressed and I plan on keeping a bottle around fo

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot No: MRU121
Nose: Gentle smoke. Hint of key lime pie. Very slight mild cheddar.

Palate: Smooth smoke all the way through. Vanilla milkshake notes upon entry. Aftertaste has some rubber in there – good though!

The flavors in this 80 proof are balanced and light from start to finish. Extra half star for value.

Cherylann29

Cherylann29

1 review
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I had high hopes for this, but sadly, it might be the most disgusting mezcal I’ve ever had 🙁 we really have it a shot, however, I would not recommend this.

Drew

Drew

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

My first joven and the mezcal that got me into this incredible spirit. Great in cocktails and as an everyday sipper!

Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Not a big fan. Is a mixer mezcal. As a mixer the true mystery of mezcal is diluted. Perfect for the year of 2020. Disappointing, but it is what is. And we will appreciate what we have in the moment.

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Right there with Vida, Sombra, Casaenemigos.

edgy4sure

edgy4sure

39 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

simply put, this is GREAT for the price point

Dave

Dave

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This one is surprising. Amazing value.

I’ve only found this one when traveling in Colorado. It is incredibly cheap, enough to mix, but you would be surprised when you have it neat. The cirial has a ton of flavor and I wish I could find this one locally. It doesn’t have the same depth as expensive bottles, but this one provides a surprising amount of flavor at its price point.

Lisa

Lisa

2 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

So drinkable! A little sweet and smoky that goes down smoothly. I honestly wouldn’t want to lose the flavor by adding anything to this except maybe ice.

AndreAbiRamia

AndreAbiRamia

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lote UUNA150818
Vanila and a bit of smoke. Sweet and watery. Very drinkable.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch MKU097. A reliable choice for agave-based drinks as it’s well-priced and won’t dominate the overall taste. But, while it works for sipping as well, it doesn’t provide much excitement. Sweet, floral, piney and well-balanced, it’s also rather light and watery with just a hint of smoke. Innocuous. A good start for a mezcal beginner.

Rorschach

Rorschach

42 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

A good intro mezcal. It’s not a brute and also lighter on the wallet, especially for a ensamble.

Rakhal

Rakhal

420 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

MKU078. Light and fresh. Pine forest, rose water, white pepper, with a sweet vanilla milkshake finish. A bit thin and watery.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Aside from Koch Espadin, this is my everyday Mezcal. Much gentler on the palate due to its lower ABV (40° in France) this nice balance between Espadin and Cirial give you everything you want for a sipping Mezcal. Light peppery notes, a bit of freshness and the kick of earthy and smoky feelings that should linger but not overwhelm your palate in any Mezcal.
Definitely a must for beginners and any Smoky Paloma fan out there !

MezcalOneRock

MezcalOneRock

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Still the most well rounded, easy to drink Mezcal. Perfect for introducing someone to this delicious spirit.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top