Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra is a small-batch mezcal made in Oaxaca with agave Sierra Negra. The high altitude at which this is produced makes the fermentation unique.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:5 Sentidos
Mezcalero:Alberto Martinez
Agave:Sierra Negra
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Albarradas
ABV: 49.5%
Website: https://www.drink5sentidos.com/
About this destilado de agave

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra is made with agave Sierra Negra. The agave is hand mashed, fermented with spring water and tepehuaje bark in stone. This bark provides an organic source of nitrogen that is used to stabilize the fermentation. Albarradas is approximately 7,500 feet above sea level and too cold to ferment the agave without some sort of stabilizer. Once fermented, this mezcal is double distilled in clay pot stills. The first batch of this mezcal was released in the US in 2017 and was a total of 181 bottles. The ABV of each batch will vary slightly. Read about our visit with maestro mezcalero Alberto Martinez in the blog post Cinco Sentidos and El Destilado

Notable batches:

  • SN01 – 140-liters
  • SN02 – 178-liters
  • SN03 – 140-liters
5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it's creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as "Destilado de Agave".

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

11 reviews

4.8 of out 5 stars


Mansson

Mansson

20 reviews
3 months ago

Batch SN05-18, distilled July 2018. A whiff of woody dustiness. Distinct fruity/vegetal sweetness offset by some salty notes. Cinnamon, white pepper, citrus zest. Fresh, creamy and very well-balanced. Soft and rounded; no burn at all. Dangerously easy to drink.

3 months ago

It’s curious that the Americana is in the same category as arrroqueno. Batch SN02, and I really like this one. Fresh, and crisp with a little bit of spice.

stigibeu

stigibeu

10 reviews
3 months ago

N: fresh tennis balls is accurate here, to my nose; cheese and barnyard funk, along with some background citrusy notes–maybe papaya?; smell of sea breeze as it opens up a bit
P: smooth, viscous, and heavy, like motor oil; pleasant, slight bubblegum quality after resting in the taster for 20 minutes or so; peppery and vegetal
F: tingling and sharp; earthy
O: love how this mezcal evolves from nose to tail, as it were (an apt description, perhaps, given the barnyard notes). I go to it on any occasion for an incredible mezcal experience. 9.25/10.

SN02
14/192

N: fresh tennis balls is accurate here, to my nose; cheese and barnyard funk, along with some background citrusy notes–maybe papaya?; smell of sea breeze as it opens up a bit
P: smooth, viscous, and heavy, like motor oil; pleasant, slight bubblegum quality after resting in the taster for 20 minutes or so; peppery and vegetal
F: tingling and sharp; earthy
O: love how this mezcal evolves from nose to tail, as it were (an apt description, perhaps, given the barnyard notes). I go to it on any

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

325 reviews
5 months ago

Alberto Martinez is a master! It’s hard to choose a favorite from him but batch SN01 of the Sierra Negra is up there. It’s like soft cinnamon butter. There isn’t a hint of bite 49.5% ABV aside from a slight tingle of grapefruit zest. The flavors remind me of the colors of the light orange bark used in the fermentation. This is very different from other clay mezcals; the clay isn’t too dark and muddy. The clay notes here are like a toasted s’more enjoyed by a bonfire with a fine cigar. Bottle 88/181.

Alberto Martinez is a master! It’s hard to choose a favorite from him but batch SN01 of the Sierra Negra is up there. It’s like soft cinnamon butter. There isn’t a hint of bite 49.5% ABV aside from a slight tingle of grapefruit zest. The flavors remind me of the colors of the light orange bark used in the fermentation. This is very different from other clay mezcals; the clay isn’t too dark and muddy. The clay notes here are like a toasted s’more enjoyed by a bonfire

Read more
rsidrys

rsidrys

38 reviews
6 months ago

BOLD! Love it! Cheesy funk on the initial nose which turns to melon, especially honeydew, some tropical fruits. Spice on the palate, that cool refreshing wintergreen mint feeling/taste that I get from some clay pot distilled mezcal. Finish has minerals, cooked agave, finally at hint of smoke and touch of clean ash on the tail-end. Beautiful and wild ride. SN01

Rakhal

Rakhal

104 reviews
8 months ago

SN04. Somebody mentioned new tennis balls and it stuck in my head, but that’s not quite it….it’s like my grandfathers garage. Mysterious. Smooth, creamy, and mysterious. It might take the full bottle to wrap my head around this one.

pallzley

pallzley

6 reviews
8 months ago

One of the most interesting and complex spirits ever. The goat-milk funk is very real. Dab some on your hand, let it dry, and smell the goat cheese. Agave is there in full force, in a cherry and perique tobacco robe. I agree with dusty and refined. Long aftertaste of this.. cereal-like agave taste. And the craziest part about this bottle, is that it never stopped morphing and blooming for the entirety of its lifespan. It got more barnyard’y and funky – less of that tobacco dominance. I realize I may not be giving this spirit review justice, but it deserves a lot of attention just for the juice alone I think.

One of the most interesting and complex spirits ever. The goat-milk funk is very real. Dab some on your hand, let it dry, and smell the goat cheese. Agave is there in full force, in a cherry and perique tobacco robe. I agree with dusty and refined. Long aftertaste of this.. cereal-like agave taste. And the craziest part about this bottle, is that it never stopped morphing and blooming for the entirety of its lifespan. It got more barnyard’y and funky – less of that tobacco dominance.

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

135 reviews
8 months ago

Enjoyable

StevenR

StevenR

13 reviews
1 year ago

Batch SN02. Bottle 191/192
Tennis balls, cheese curds, mushrooms, a pig farm, acetone, deer musk and douglass fur create an exceptional first impression.. that mouthfeel is very rich and far from angular.. leather, AstroTurf, cave aged gruyere, creamed corn and something I cant put my figure on that reminds me of a flavor in the VdM Lechuguilla all create a unique taste like no other Mezcal Ive consumed .. 4.5 stars

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
1 year ago

batch SN02. barnyard is the overarching note to this. waxy pear, new rubber soles, slight cheesy funk, clean burning embers. much brighter on the palate with sweet, mouthwatering acidity. eucalyptus, new shoes, leathery finish with a faint hint of smoldering campfire. long mineral finish with a touch of goat’s milk. this is among the most beguilingly and enjoyably complex spirits i’ve ever tasted.

Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
2 years ago

Batch SN01. Aromas of wild apples, slight vinegar, and dried plantains. Very soft and rounded. Sweet on the front of the tongue and warm as if from natural fire on the very back of the palate. This is really enjoyable. Reminds me of wet river stones, very viscous and thick. Warm but not hot. This is slightly dusty and rustic. Incredible.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top