Powered by 100% agave

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra is a small-batch mezcal made in Oaxaca with maguey Sierra Negra. The high altitude at which this is produced makes the fermentation unique.

About this destilado de agave

5 Sentidos Sierra Negra is made with maguey Sierra Negra. The agave is hand mashed, fermented with spring water and tepehuaje bark in stone. This bark provides an organic source of nitrogen that is used to stabilize the fermentation. Albarradas is approximately 7,500 feet above sea level and too cold to ferment the agave without some sort of stabilizer. Once fermented, this mezcal is double distilled in clay pot stills. The first batch of this mezcal was released in the US in 2017 and was a total of 181 bottles. The ABV of each batch will vary slightly. Read about our visit with maestro mezcalero Alberto Martinez in the blog post Cinco Sentidos and El Destilado

Notable batches:

  • SN01 – 140-liters
  • SN02 – 178-liters
  • SN03 – 140-liters

5 Sentidos

5 Sentidos (or Cinco Sentidos) is named after the five senses that their mezcaleros use to produce their agave spirits. The producers of this mezcal do not use any model machinery or tools, being guided only by their senses throughout the production process. The brand was launched by El Destilado restaurant in centro Oaxaca. The restaurant is known for it’s creative menu, unique cocktails, and exception agave spirits. The brand is a curated tour of Mexico with a wide range of expressions that are made by some of the best mezcaleros in the region. Cinco Sentidos is uncertified mezcal and is labeled as “Destilado de Agave”.

Learn more about 5 Sentidos:

Member rating

4.46 out of 5

38 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

109 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch: SN09-19 ABV: 48.1%

Nose: so fruity, strawberries, banana, plums, the earthy clay plays so well with the fruit too, bringing this tangy leather, I see what others refer to as barnyard funk

Palate: earthy soil, mulch on the front, pie crust, that moves to a strawberries, cheesecake, mango, kiwi. The finish is tangy citrus, chalky on the mouth feel, still plenty of mango and berries as it sits.

I rarely have had mezcals with so much fruit throughout. Some are fruity in the nose or maybe the palate. This is just a funky fruit bomb and I love it. It’s one of my favorites to crack for less agave inclined friends to say “look at how unique this stuff can be!”

Batch: SN09-19 ABV: 48.1%
Nose: so fruity, strawberries, banana, plums, the earthy clay plays so well with the fruit too, bringing this tangy leather, I see what others refer to as barnyard funk
Palate: earthy soil, mulch on the front, pie crust, that moves to a strawberries, cheesecake, mango, kiwi. The finish is tangy citrus, chalky on the mouth feel, still plenty of mango and berries as it sits.
I rarely have had mezcals with so much fruit throughout. Some are fruity in the nose or maybe t

Read more
GMAD

GMAD

69 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

BATCH SNALB 05-21 July 2021, 46.7%, 200ml

Nose – Very agave forward. Tangy, spicy, and sweet; cinnamon, raisins, cloves, aquarium water, chlorine, potpourri, a Michael’s store.

Palate – Overly ripe fruit; a punch of funky sweetness. Tamarind, extra ripe mangoes, raisins, prunes, dates, sugar cane, dulce de leche.

Finish – A little nutty and savory to round it out; caramel popcorn.

Notes – Very good! It’s smooth and sweet on the palate. This tastes like your favorite blanco Tequila. Perfect for anyone looking for an accessible and non-abrasive sipping Mezcal. At 46% it’s easy drinking.

BATCH SNALB 05-21 July 2021, 46.7%, 200ml
Nose – Very agave forward. Tangy, spicy, and sweet; cinnamon, raisins, cloves, aquarium water, chlorine, potpourri, a Michael’s store.
Palate – Overly ripe fruit; a punch of funky sweetness. Tamarind, extra ripe mangoes, raisins, prunes, dates, sugar cane, dulce de leche.
Finish – A little nutty and savory to round it out; caramel popcorn.
Notes – Very good! It’s smooth and sweet on the palate. This tastes like your fa

Read more
Jam

Jam

149 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

46.82% abv, batch SN04-22 US

Review #85: Nose has bright orange oils and orange juice, tart pineapple, fresh mango, and sweet cream. The palate is fresh cream, mango, and juicy orange up front, then mid palate is fresh tobacco, sweet grassiness, carmelized squash, peach, rotten wet wood, mango skin, and then the finish has some clay and wet soil.

This is just so complex and full of flavor. A nice fruit bomb on the nose with a nice contrast showing up on the palate of sweet tobacco and vegetals with a funky earthy stuff going on. The aromas really pop out of the glass too. Really, really great

46.82% abv, batch SN04-22 US
Review #85: Nose has bright orange oils and orange juice, tart pineapple, fresh mango, and sweet cream. The palate is fresh cream, mango, and juicy orange up front, then mid palate is fresh tobacco, sweet grassiness, carmelized squash, peach, rotten wet wood, mango skin, and then the finish has some clay and wet soil.
This is just so complex and full of flavor. A nice fruit bomb on the nose with a nice contrast showing up on the palate of sweet tobacco and vegetals w

Read more
relevanteagle

relevanteagle

12 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Batch: SNALB 05-21
Bottle: 200ml
ABV: 46.7

Nose: rain water, honey, lavender, banana

Palate: honey, minerality, spring water, water from a wooden barrel

Finish: clean with some minerality

Thoughts: This is a nice mezcal. It’s very refreshing and drinkable. Starts with this honey like sweetness that’s very clean and ends in minerality.

Average José

Average José

54 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars9 months ago

* Batch: SNALB 09–21
* Bottle: 139/354
* ABV: 48.6%

The nose is mild mahogany, cherries and yogurt but tastes are of rubber, various clays and cinnamon bark. Finish is hot and grassy but got alot milder after 2 months. A nice overall experience.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Batch SN11-19. Not my thing I guess. On the nose and palate I get salt, iodine, seaweed. Savory and kinda funky. Needs more sweetness for me. Nice mouthfeel and there is complexity here, I just prefer more fruit, sweetness etc.

UPDATE: some time later… I guess it needed some oxygen. After your bottle had been open a few days it tasted *much* better. Upgrading to 4 stars.

Jose M. Aguayo

Jose M. Aguayo

11 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Batch: SNALB 09-21 / 48.6% ABV

Nose: cherry yogurt;
Palate: cherry; pineapple; pink peppercorn, clay

little_agave

little_agave

34 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch: SNALB 05-21 46.7%abv
Aroma: cane sugar, papaya, cherry, fruity
Palate: maple sugar, cherrywood, candied orange, sweet floral, hay
aroma was abundant. really enjoy when catching pleasant hints before even nosing the glass. I dare say this but it’s reminiscent of anejo tequila’s I’ve had, but also different. This is down right fantastic.

justsomedude

justsomedude

28 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch SN08-19. Though I have had several and they’re consistent.
Nose: Dewey, verdant gardens. Rosebuds, lilac bushes preparing to blossom. Juniper, fir, and cedar trees. Orange blossoms. A cloying undercurrent of honey, marmalade and bee pollen.
Palate: Perfectly balanced bright green grass and herbs with underripe pineapples and green apples, backed by tilled soil and essence of tack room. Nice and dry, but not astringent.
Finish: Long, cleansing, dry. Sr. Martinez’s signature barnyard notes come out in the finish with an emphasis on saddle leather and crushed rocks.
Overall: I tend to prefer sweet and fruity but this bottle has some magic in it with so many different flavors and aromas working in harmony. It’s dryness ultimately makes it a great pairing with food and endlessly drinkable.

Batch SN08-19. Though I have had several and they’re consistent.
Nose: Dewey, verdant gardens. Rosebuds, lilac bushes preparing to blossom. Juniper, fir, and cedar trees. Orange blossoms. A cloying undercurrent of honey, marmalade and bee pollen.
Palate: Perfectly balanced bright green grass and herbs with underripe pineapples and green apples, backed by tilled soil and essence of tack room. Nice and dry, but not astringent.
Finish: Long, cleansing, dry. Sr. Martinez’s signature barnyard no

Read more
MezcAleman

MezcAleman

28 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch SNALB0120 – Bottle 072/228 – 51,96%
My first Sierra Negra. From now on for sure a Maguey I will pick more often.
Sweet on the nose, mild smoke nice agave all well balanced.
Very smooth and creamy, some fruits. Overall a great mescal and a buy recommendation like all 5S so far!
Unfortunately the 5S are not easy to find.

COak

COak

228 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch SNALB03-21. Alberto consistently makes great mezcal. I’ve luckily been able to hike with him to see his majestic Sierra Negra plants. This batch isn’t quite as good as the others I’ve tried in the past. The finish isn’t quite as long and great as the others. Snickerdoodle cookies, black pepper and green beans.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Batch SNALB0120 / 51.96% / Btl 96/228

I’m a believer in Sierra Negra and this is my new standard for this agave. I would order any batch of the 5S Sierra Negra based on how much I enjoyed this pour. Incredible job!

Soxfan

Soxfan

18 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Wonderful! I wish I could find another bottle. If I do, it will almost certainly be a more recent distillation but I would buy it on the spot. Such a full-flavored, resonating mouth-feel that resonates for minutes. This is a finish that does not disappear for a very long time. BATCH SN08-19. 116/159. 47.9% ABV.

bardle

bardle

4 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch SN09-19
Nose: Sweet Cream and tropical fruit (mango maybe?), ripe agave, some sourness almost like green apple concentrate.

Palette: Sweet tropical fruit bomb, That green apple concentrate comes back with a creamy, almost lactic mouthfeel. The sour notes balance the tropical fruit really well. Hints of earth somewhere in the background. This is awesome.

Finish: A quick punch of heat, then the sweet fruit comes back and some earthiness to round it out. The sourness lingers in a pleasant way.

Batch SN09-19
Nose: Sweet Cream and tropical fruit (mango maybe?), ripe agave, some sourness almost like green apple concentrate.
Palette: Sweet tropical fruit bomb, That green apple concentrate comes back with a creamy, almost lactic mouthfeel. The sour notes balance the tropical fruit really well. Hints of earth somewhere in the background. This is awesome.
Finish: A quick punch of heat, then the sweet fruit comes back and some earthiness to round it out. The sourness lingers in a pleasant way

Read more
ElAgave

ElAgave

34 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch SN03 47.3v
Rarer agave – distilled in clay
Agaves were 12-15 years before being harvested
Grow to 250-300kg
Must be cut into 6ths to be transported
Beat the pinas with a stick to keep the curses out

Nose – creamy, cabbage, lemony cheese, light funk, barnyard, salty
Palate – tart cherry, pomegranate, lime zest, fruit roll up, earth, hay
Finish – sweet and fruity

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Great mezcal. Don’t remember much else about it.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch: SN03
Nose: Leather. Sod. Cherry. Herbal cough medicine.

Palate: Cherry cheesecake. Cinnamon spice. Eucalyptus. Clay and ash finish with a gentle heat. Quality!

Patrick

Patrick

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Nose : Barnyard funk, earthy and leather all up front with strawberry cheesecake and bagaso ending things
Taste : powerful, sweet, loads of cinnamon, clay and again strawberry cheesecake.
Finish : this doesn’t end… Peppery, smokey and sticky.
Do not start your evening with this mezcal!

J Highland

J Highland

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch SN09. Strong clay scent. Sweet with some spicy element that produces bubbles on the tongue. Hints of grapefruit, melon and dirt. An awesome destilado and one of my very favorites.

il1

il1

12 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Clay, funk, leather, cheese. Don’t really get any fruit. Very thick.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top