Powered by 100% agave

Alipus San Luis

Alipus San Luis is made with agave Espadin by Maestro Don Baltazar, who makes a variety of mezcals that are bottled under several brands.

Rating: (21 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Alipus Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O14X
Mezcalero:Don Baltazar Cruz Gomez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Luis del Rio
ABV: 48%
Release year: 2013
Website: http://www.alipus.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Alipus San Luis uses agave Espadin that is grown in sandy soil at about 4100 feet above sea level. The soils are sandy with lots of rocks, and the climate is hot. Mezcalero Don Baltazar ferments the cooked agave in 1500-liter pine vats. He distills in copper. His mezcals are rich, full-bodied, and often fruity.

Alipus Mezcal

Alipús was born in 1999, as a project of the Destilería Los Danzantes, with Don Joel Antonio and sons as the first producers, in San Juan del Río. Subsequently, Don Eduardo Hernández, of Santa Ana del Río, making Alipús Santa Ana mezcal; Don Cosme Hernandez and his son Cirilo in San Baltazar Guelavila, who make the Alipús San Baltazar mezcal; Don Valente Angel and sons, of Santa María La Pila, with the Alipús San Andrés mezcal. In 2013, Alipús San Luis was incorporated, made by Don Baltazar Cruz and sons, of San Luis del Río, and Alipús San Miguel, made by Don Felix García, Leonardo Rojas, and Tío Jesús in the Potrero Sola de Vega.

 

Craft Distillers’ tasting video

21 reviews

3.71 out of 5

Imperium

Imperium

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

One of my first mezcal experiences, I tasted this as part of an Alipús flight, and loved it. It was presented to me as a “land, forest, sea” flavor profiles and this was the “sea” (blue label).

It has a definite salinity to it that evoked feelings of lounging on the beach in Cancun. I was so surprised that espadin from different regions could taste so different.

I liked it so much that I went out and bought a bottle, although now my tastes have matured much more so that I this would not be one of my go-tos any more.

One of my first mezcal experiences, I tasted this as part of an Alipús flight, and loved it. It was presented to me as a “land, forest, sea” flavor profiles and this was the “sea” (blue label).
It has a definite salinity to it that evoked feelings of lounging on the beach in Cancun. I was so surprised that espadin from different regions could taste so different.
I liked it so much that I went out and bought a bottle, although now my tastes have matured much more so that I this would no

Read more
Ranger_Ryan

Ranger_Ryan

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot SLR010/18 Bottle 1017/1512
Updating score and review. Had two pours at a bar, definitely need to grab a bottle. This was excellent. Lots of heat, eucalyptus, licorice, agave, smoke. I thought this was full of flavor, really pleasant.

ToastyMick

ToastyMick

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Candy. Bubblegum. Smoky sweetness. Taste follows suit with a little spiciness on the end. Will update with batch number

tecolotesweet

tecolotesweet

14 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

lote SLR004/20 bottle 1134 nom-014x. candy on the nose, mild smoke and vanilla on the palette with a delicate finish. easily one of my favorites mezcals i’ve had.

DavCao

DavCao

3 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Very Smoky. Pepper and cinnamon with a note of leather. Very good for the price.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Delicious and smoky with plenty of backbone at 47.5% ABV. Layers of melon and tropical fruits with a long-lasting finish. Excellent. LOT SLR004/19 Bottle 357/1180.

Rakhal

Rakhal

373 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

1/2 ounce sample no batch number. This is surprisingly good for the price! Roses, table salt, honeydew melon, caramel, cinnamon, and spearmint. Just the right amount of heat.

312

312

3 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot SLR008/18, Bottle 572/1419. Clear. Pine and faint sweetness on the nose. Light-medium body, rough edges at first evolving to become rounded and more balanced as it opens. Notes of mango and smoke with heat throughout. Medium finish.

Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Enjoyed this as neat. Pine and citrus. Crisp and provocative on the taste buds. Small on smoke. A good medium price sipper. I added a slice of lime to increase the citrus quality.

Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot SLR003/15. A good Espadín which has a bit of everything you would expect: honey sweetness, a little smoke, tropical fruits (mango, papaya). Also a refreshing salty minerality and some good heat. Still, overall, I find it too mellow to make an interesting sipper. An excellent base for cocktails, however.

diegoacv

diegoacv

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote: SLR002/18 Spicy on the nose, with green peppers, and a touch of sweet lemonade. Not many herbs, but definitely some mint. The taste has some minerality, citrus oils, and somewhat reminds of Naxos Kitron. Medium finish. Delicious Espadin that will not disappoint.

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A bit shy on the nose. Palate opens up with cooked agave, honey, fruit and nicely integrated smoke.

Thankin_Hank

Thankin_Hank

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

The smoothest Joven I’ve tried yet. It’s got some heat. No burnt rubber taste. It’s amazing as mezcal goes. I mixed it in a cocktail from Ilegal’s website with Tonic, cucumber and grapefruit peel. It was okay but the traditional way is really good. Sipping from a copita is the best to me. Highly recommend the San Luis from Alipus. SLR004/19 Bot 438/1180

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

My first bottle. Gin, pine, canteloupe, sticks on the tongue. Stronger smoke, carmelized roasted agave.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Average

Hörky Båmf

Hörky Båmf

20 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Bottle 015/1380, Lot SLR004/17, 47.5% ABV. Smell reminds me of first rain drops on dry pavement. Tastes are subtle and well integrated. Mint, lemon, fresh green jalapeño, a bit of salt, a hint of smoke, nice clean 95-proof burn and a sweet finish. Solidly well-made and dangerously quaffable.

JRB

JRB

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Alipus Joven Mezcal San Luis / 96 proof
Tahona milled, copper still. Surprisingly light despite its high proof, agave and smoke are a bit moderated compared to other Alipus mezcals. Also detect a touch of fruit / citrus. A smooth, delicious sipping mezcal. (Lot SLR006/16, bottle 1403/1590)

COak

COak

195 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

One of my favorites by Alipus. Lot SLR008/15. It’s sweet up front with some nice heat to finish.

SeattleMezcalLover

SeattleMezcalLover

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

My favorite Alipus mezcal. It’s very smoky, very sweet, and fairly complex. It’s just a hair unbalanced otherwise this would be a 5 star spirit. But hey I just bought another bottle so they must be doing something right ;).

Tyler

Tyler

579 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

There are notes of rubber/bubblegum on the nose. There is some nice fruitiness to this mezcal.. grape, mango, mint. The finish is strong and lingers a bit. Another very enjoyable mezcal from Alipus. Lot SLR004/15

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Lot SLR004/15. Salty, dry scents mix with fruit on the nose. The taste is a little hot with fruity notes of cantaloupe, melon, and honey. It’s slightly mineral and the heat carries through to the finish. Overall, this is a great Espadin. I recommend trying this one with some other Alipus to get a good feel for how terroir impacts the agave used in Mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top