Powered by 100% agave

Bozal Pechuga

Bozal Pechuga has a rich mouthfeel with flavors of roasted fruit, subtle minerality, and a slight smokiness, finishing dry on the back of the palate.

Rating: (8 reviews)
Cost:$$
Brand:Bozal Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O363X
Agave:Cupreata
Distillation:Copper
Style:Pechuga
State:Guerrero
Town:Mazatlán
ABV: 46.9%
Website: http://www.bozalmezcal.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Bozal Pechuga is made with agave Cupreata as a limited release from Mazatlan, Guerrero. After the second distillation a cooked chicken marinates with locally sourced fruits, chiles, citrus fruits, raisins, cinnamon and clove. After the chicken has fully marinated, it’s added into the third and final distillation.

Bozal Mezcal

Mezcal Bozal is a craft, artisan, handmade Mezcal. They celebrate the wild side of the Mezcal world and the wild agave used to produce such rich spirits. They use agave from the steep precarious hillsides of Oaxaca and Guerrero that are indigenous to the region. These varietals produce flavors that are exotically intense, with rich earth tones and savory smokiness. From the heart of the maguey these flavors are traditionally extracted to produce mezcal that is wildly refined.

Member rating

3.81 out of 5

8 reviews

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

My first pechuga to try so it holds a very special place in my heart 🙂

Bagaso

Bagaso

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

The nose presents a neat array of floral, mango, and brown sugar notes. On the palate, a blend of red fruit, mineral, and earthy tones emerge, with a hint of cinnamon and chocolate. The finish is short, yet the body maintains a roundness typical of Pechuga but lacks the “meaty” mouth. Despite the brief finish, the complexity and bold flavors make it a worthy sip, especially for those new to the mezcal realm.

bluImbibe

bluImbibe

40 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

The varietal they advertise is cupreata but the bottle I have is actually a Cuishe from Oaxaca, I’d like to try the papalote Pechuga but I think this batch may be superior.
Bozal Pechuga (Cuishe #00221)
Nose: floral, whole milk, mango, brown sugar
Palate: Red fruit, mineral, mint, earthy, cheesy, chocolate, cinnamon, black licorice/aniseed. Nice round body I expect from a pechuga, but unfortunately a short finish, some heat but not overbearing. After finishing the glass and letting it rest for a bit, I get freshly ground coffee. Beautiful.
I usually go with the Borrego because I really dig that chocolate covered orange, but I think the Cuishe fits well with the flavor profile of the basket they chose. The earthy minerality I usually expect from a karwinskii plays up some of the sweeter notes and makes for an excellent sipping experience. Also the flavors are so bold they very easily attract outsiders, something I very much appreciate working at a mezcaleria in a town that is certainly not onto mezcal yet.
Only reason I don’t give it 5 stars is because I’d really like to know who made the juice.

The varietal they advertise is cupreata but the bottle I have is actually a Cuishe from Oaxaca, I’d like to try the papalote Pechuga but I think this batch may be superior.
Bozal Pechuga (Cuishe #00221)
Nose: floral, whole milk, mango, brown sugar
Palate: Red fruit, mineral, mint, earthy, cheesy, chocolate, cinnamon, black licorice/aniseed. Nice round body I expect from a pechuga, but unfortunately a short finish, some heat but not overbearing. After finishing the glass and letting it res

Read more
peastman

peastman

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

One of my sippin favourites. All of the described flavours come through…sooo good. More than $100/bottle in my area.

Bozal Pechuga has a rich mouthfeel with flavors of roasted fruit, subtle minerality, and a slight smokiness, finishing dry on the back of the palate

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not the best but not the worst. I actually think I enjoyed this pour more when the bottle was freshly opened opposed to a few months in. Nothing overly exciting, just an interesting papalote Pechuga for a good price ($85)

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

86 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

No heat and not much of the flavors linger which is a letdown considering the ABV of about 47%. Nothing truly distinctive about this Pechuga – mellow flavors abound with some sweet citrus, spices, tropical, and sweet agave. For around $100 this just doesn’t deliver enough to warrant the investment. Nothing wrong with investing in a pour just not the bottle.

t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Medium mouth feel. No heat, lots of minerality and brine. Clay, pepper, scallions, sweet lemon zest. Big sweetness making an appearance, becoming quite bold.

Really nice – unique, tons of character and all of it is interesting.

Jonny

Jonny

696 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 years ago

Good but not great. This has some nice notes of varied spices, but it’s a bit thin in texture. I tasted this side by side with the Bozal Borrego and this was the weaker of the two. This is a decent Pechuga, but if both options are available, I’d recommend the Borrego over this.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top