Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Michoacan

Derrumbes Michoacan is made with wild agave Cupreata, which brings mature fruit aromas, and wild agave Cenizo, which brings more herbal notes.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:Derrumbes Mezcal
NOM:NOM-F283D
Mezcalero:Guadalupe Perez
Agave:Alto, Cupreata
Grind:Shredder
Style:Aged in Glass
State:Michoacan
Town:Tzitzio
ABV:45%
Website:http://mezcalderrumbes.mx/
About this mezcal

Derrumbes Michoacan is made with agave Cupreata, which brings mature fruit aromas, and agave Alto (a sub-species of agave Inaequidens) which brings more herbal notes. It is cooked in an underground stone pit using black oak, and fermented in underground tanks lined with pine wood which adds to the herbal character. True to the tradition of mezcal production in this area, Derrumbes Michoacan is distilled using the Phillipino method, which predates copper-pot distillation. This technique requires the body of the still to be made from wood, with the alcohol vapors condensed by a copper pot full of water that sits at the top of the trunk. This process adds to the unique character of Derrumbes Michoacan, which after distillation is around 45% ABV. It is rested in large glass bottles before the final bottling.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

12 reviews

3.5 of out 5 stars


LittleArm

LittleArm

12 reviews
6 months ago

Lot 4 bottle 408/7430
Sweet and fresh, slightly tart on the nose. Really smooth, sweet and a tiny bit sour. Tastes like biting into a crisp green apple. Mellow finish. Incredibly pleasant

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
10 months ago

Lote 5, 49.3%
Nose: Spirity at first with pine tar and latex, then fresh mixed greens, lemon grass, and a fruity burst of lime, papaya, and pineapple, dusted with cumin and hot beach sand.
Palate: An interplay of fruity and savory: sweet and sour chicken, capers, thyme, guava, lemon-lime syrup, and lavender. Medium-full body.
Finish: Big hit of fresh rubber which tapers into sweetgrass, reed, clay, and a touch of pepper. Medium length.

The balance of herbal and fruity flavors is spot on – it feels like new notes emerge with every sniff and sip.

Lote 5, 49.3%
Nose: Spirity at first with pine tar and latex, then fresh mixed greens, lemon grass, and a fruity burst of lime, papaya, and pineapple, dusted with cumin and hot beach sand.
Palate: An interplay of fruity and savory: sweet and sour chicken, capers, thyme, guava, lemon-lime syrup, and lavender. Medium-full body.
Finish: Big hit of fresh rubber which tapers into sweetgrass, reed, clay, and a touch of pepper. Medium length.
The balance of herbal and fruity flavors is spot on – it

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

73 reviews
12 months ago

Lot 5, 49.3%

Aromatic, a gentle swirl and I can smell the cupreata, lemon, sour yuzu. Lots of cirtus and papaya, other tropical fruits in there like passionfruit – high toned, some banana. Eucalyptus, some gentle vanilla, clove. Mandarin, touch of smoke and meat, coffee bean, rose water.

Good viscosity, not super acidic like the nose suggested. Some flinty minerality, just a trickle of light pleasant ash and pepper on the finish. All the fruit hits the entry and swells to more white pepper and minerality. Some gentle herbaceousness like juniper or fir into the finish which is pretty long and even.

I haven’t had much from this area. The nose is so tart but the palate so nice, but what minerality and ashyness appear I do love. A complex development and unique profile. Solid pour, bright nose and dark palate.

Lot 5, 49.3%
Aromatic, a gentle swirl and I can smell the cupreata, lemon, sour yuzu. Lots of cirtus and papaya, other tropical fruits in there like passionfruit – high toned, some banana. Eucalyptus, some gentle vanilla, clove. Mandarin, touch of smoke and meat, coffee bean, rose water.
Good viscosity, not super acidic like the nose suggested. Some flinty minerality, just a trickle of light pleasant ash and pepper on the finish. All the fruit hits the entry and swells to more white pepper and

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

102 reviews
1 year ago

the least favorite of this label.nose is average and comparable to any mezcal that would be on the inexpensive price range.i get smoke and bittersweet agave on the tongue and not much else.not offensive but would not be my 1st,2nd or 3rd choice. UPDATE 2-29-20. i saw this bottle in the back of my closet and had not been touched in a year or more.when i opened the bottle it was a completely different mezcal! the nose came to life with notes of melon and vanilla.the taste reminded me of the sweet tart candy called spree.the finish was mild,sweet with pleasant smoke.once again,it proves that time can change a mezcal and this was a vast improvement.

the least favorite of this label.nose is average and comparable to any mezcal that would be on the inexpensive price range.i get smoke and bittersweet agave on the tongue and not much else.not offensive but would not be my 1st,2nd or 3rd choice. UPDATE 2-29-20. i saw this bottle in the back of my closet and had not been touched in a year or more.when i opened the bottle it was a completely different mezcal! the nose came to life with notes of melon and vanilla.the taste reminded me of the sweet

Read more
stepusin

stepusin

19 reviews
1 year ago

smell is very subtle, predominantly smokiness with a hint of agave. flavor to me is very balanced and smooth with a slight harshness on the backend. to me this is a very traditional mezcal and is very good, nice and smoky.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

170 reviews
1 year ago

Very little smoke on the nose. Some pickle juice/brine on the palate. More smoke on the finish than the nose. Heavy alcohol burn that makes me think that this should be closer to 120 proof.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
2 years ago

Nose: Amazing, but very extreme. I get smoke, soot, black olives, turnips, fir trees, old leather, mud, salted popcorn, almond oil, dried seaweed, roasted bell peppers mineral and gravely

Palate: Beautiful, peat, salt, smoke, capers, roots, crushed stones, licorice, wintergreen, and planty agave notes

Comments: My favorite mezcal to date, but very extreme and smokey, and possibly not for everyone, but I adore it. Easy 5 stars.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
2 years ago

Found it to be quite intense on the nose, not some thing I’d give to a first time Mezcal drinker. Short and sharp, like vanilla, but varnish or toothpaste!
A strong taste of bitter limes, heavy minerals, a little salt but still creamy. In the finish, a lightly lasting pettiness. Not entirely my cup of agave unfortunately.

LosMuertos

LosMuertos

32 reviews
2 years ago

Quite anonymous notes of earth, rose and vanilla. On the palate it’s super perfumed. You could easily fool me that I was drinking perfume.

Scent: 3/5
Mouthfeel: 2/5

Patrick

Patrick

29 reviews
2 years ago

Lot : 02
Bottle :442/1400
Nose : a little closed off, slowly revealing notes of cinnamon, burnt sugar and dusty peat
Taste : intense and concentrated. Reminiscent of a Islay peater (Ardbeg maybe) .
Finish : long, smokey and lingering

Tyler

Tyler

373 reviews
4 years ago

Really enjoyed a small taster of this interesting ensamble. There are notes of burnt wood, cinnamon.. a bit spicy with a hot vanilla finish. Need to try more of this unique offering from Michoacan. Lot 1 from 2015.

Jonny

Jonny

392 reviews
4 years ago

Lot 1. Bottle 294/1440. Very leathery on the nose with a rush of pepper on the first taste. The pepper doesn’t overpower the mezcal and it fades into a buttery vegetal sweetness that stays long in the mouth. This is a very unique mezcal, even for those that come from Michoacan. I highly recommend giving this a try.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top