Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Michoacan

Derrumbes Michoacan is made with wild maguey Cupreata, which brings mature fruit aromas, and wild maguey Alto, which brings more herbal notes.

About this mezcal

Derrumbes Michoacan is made with maguey Cupreata, which brings mature fruit aromas, and maguey Alto (agave Inaequidens) which brings more herbal notes. It is cooked in an underground stone pit using black oak, and fermented in underground tanks lined with pine wood which adds to the herbal character. True to the tradition of mezcal production in this area, Derrumbes Michoacan is distilled using the Phillipino method, which predates copper-pot distillation. This technique requires the body of the still to be made from wood, with the alcohol vapors condensed by a copper pot full of water that sits at the top of the trunk. This process adds to the unique character of Derrumbes Michoacan, which after distillation is around 45% ABV. It is rested in large glass bottles before the final bottling.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

Member rating

3.71 out of 5

24 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

93 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

ABV : 44.9%

Nose: citrus, lime, orange, funky melons, leathery tang

Palate and Finish: bitter grapefruit, briney, salted veggies, a moment of honeydew, I get some herbs lemongrass, mint, cilantro. Finish is more citrus, light melon, minerality and slate

Jam

Jam

140 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Didn’t get the batch number on this one. 44.9% abv.

Review #7: this is very bright on the nose and palate. Sweet and delicate, fruits like raspberry and cherry, decent acidity overall and minerality on the finish. It’s pretty good but it’s lacking. Very thin mouthfeel and not strong on the flavors. If this was more flavorful it’d easily get another point.

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Another solid release from Derrumbes.
Lot 1
Woody, leathery, spicy, vegetables mixed with a touch of lactic cheese flavor you might find in a raicilla. Given the accessible price point easily 4 stars (at a higher price point would be more like 3.5). A bit short on the finish and a bit too hot for me, but tasty nonetheless.

Tried a different lot (don’t have the number written down) with much the same flavor profile, although this one had more sour notes like lemon/grapefruit.

Another solid release from Derrumbes.
Lot 1
Woody, leathery, spicy, vegetables mixed with a touch of lactic cheese flavor you might find in a raicilla. Given the accessible price point easily 4 stars (at a higher price point would be more like 3.5). A bit short on the finish and a bit too hot for me, but tasty nonetheless.
Tried a different lot (don’t have the number written down) with much the same flavor profile, although this one had more sour notes like lemon/grapefruit.

Read more
Poly-Kong

Poly-Kong

1 review
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot:A8, Bottle:4327, Date:07-20
Nose: Sugar, Strawberry, Red Apple.
Very sweet mezcal.
Taste: Strawberry, Red apple, and blue cheese funk dominate the palate with a nice honey and oak finish. Mouthfeel that sits mostly on the top of your tongue. Medium/Low viscosity. Good, strong finish.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

42 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

LOTE: 6
Bottle 973/1350
03/19
48% ABV

Initial nasal impact is drying with a slight prickle.
Aroma of papaya, ancho pepper, honey, eucalyptus, pineapple.
A coating mouthfeel, buttery with sufficient alcohol and sweet.
Cooked agave and papaya stand out on the flavor, followed by honey, pepper, stone fruit. Some minty eucalyptus, vanilla, earth, mineral and a hint of watermelon. Long finish with some charred oak providing the smoke. Nice combination of cupreata and alto agaves. Slightly complex. Good balance. I really enjoy mezcal and tequila from Michoacan. Derrumbes once again gives a quality mezcal at a very approachable price.

LOTE: 6
Bottle 973/1350
03/19
48% ABV
Initial nasal impact is drying with a slight prickle.
Aroma of papaya, ancho pepper, honey, eucalyptus, pineapple.
A coating mouthfeel, buttery with sufficient alcohol and sweet.
Cooked agave and papaya stand out on the flavor, followed by honey, pepper, stone fruit. Some minty eucalyptus, vanilla, earth, mineral and a hint of watermelon. Long finish with some charred oak providing the smoke. Nice combination of cupreata and alto agaves. Slightly complex. G

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

73 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote A8 bottle 4807 year 7/20 45.3% Aromas out of the bottle are Asotone cut green grass sweetness. Mouthfield is amazing smooth soft dark green With some kind of candid finish NO smoke Just loving the flavors and how they all come together on this one. My 2nd favorite from this producer. Mild funk think I am going to really like this one after it airs out some. This is amazing good it just keeps developing.i believe that the aroma from this one is my favorite from any Mezcal. The sweetest Mezcal I have ever tasted. I like this.

Lote A8 bottle 4807 year 7/20 45.3% Aromas out of the bottle are Asotone cut green grass sweetness. Mouthfield is amazing smooth soft dark green With some kind of candid finish NO smoke Just loving the flavors and how they all come together on this one. My 2nd favorite from this producer. Mild funk think I am going to really like this one after it airs out some. This is amazing good it just keeps developing.i believe that the aroma from this one is my favorite from any Mezcal. The sweetest

Read more
JDB

JDB

154 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 11, Bottle 124/2900 3/2022 abv: 44.9%

So much good mezcal coming out of Michoacán. very happy to see more choices and brands on the market. Derrumbes has been available for a while now, I remember seeing these bottles available back at least in 2015/16. I really like this one. Not sure of the percentage blend between these two agaves, but the inaequidens comes through strongly. Bit of paint thinner on the nose initially which dissipates quickly. Flavors are sweet , cotton candy and mulberry jam. The backend has some minerality, dry cedar, and a hint of salinity. I have had some ensembles from La Luna featuring these two agaves (Bruto and Chino) and they have been pretty fantastic as well. Looking over the other reviews, I can see the lemon/lemongrass quality as well as the cinnamon (bark). My lot has a lot less smoke than others note in their reviews, but it is there faintly.

Lot 11, Bottle 124/2900 3/2022 abv: 44.9%
So much good mezcal coming out of Michoacán. very happy to see more choices and brands on the market. Derrumbes has been available for a while now, I remember seeing these bottles available back at least in 2015/16. I really like this one. Not sure of the percentage blend between these two agaves, but the inaequidens comes through strongly. Bit of paint thinner on the nose initially which dissipates quickly. Flavors are sweet , cotton candy an

Read more
aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lots of woody, dusty loft on the nose, some acetone, some subdued pineapple fruit with skin, cucumber peels.
Lots of the incredibly rich and fruity flavours of Ceylon cinnamon that I associate with maguey chino/cupreata from Michoacán, some orange peel and berries from the maguey alto? Eucalyptus, tangerines, watermelon, subtle smoke. Excellent introduction to Michoacán mezcal.
Lot 9, 50/50 Alto/Chino, 46,2V, wooden “Filipino de madera” still.

Spiritseducator

Spiritseducator

6 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

LOTE 2 – BOTELLA 43/1300 – FECHA 11/15
This tasteful ensamble of two agave varieties and the production in Michoacán make this mezcal a wonderful example to experience flavours from the raw material and the region it was grown in.

NOSE: agave, green vegetables, pepper, minerality, touch of smoke
PALATE: slightly smoky, typical agave notes, fruity, hint of sweetness
MOUTHFEEL: full bodied, smooth, velvety to oily
FINISH: long with agave and slighty smoky

LOTE 2 – BOTELLA 43/1300 – FECHA 11/15
This tasteful ensamble of two agave varieties and the production in Michoacán make this mezcal a wonderful example to experience flavours from the raw material and the region it was grown in.
NOSE: agave, green vegetables, pepper, minerality, touch of smoke
PALATE: slightly smoky, typical agave notes, fruity, hint of sweetness
MOUTHFEEL: full bodied, smooth, velvety to oily
FINISH: long with agave and slighty smoky

Read more
Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote: A8 Botella: 480 (07/2020)
Nose – Papaya juice. Vanilla icing. Peppermint.

Palate – Peppermint breath mint. Sweet pickle. Cake frosting. I love Michoacan mezcal and this one brings it! It’s more sugary than the Alto/Cupreata ensambles I’ve tried but doesn’t overdo it. The maguey notes are balanced nicely with this sweetness and the smoke is just right. Greenspoint noted in an earlier batch that it tasted like it was punching higher than the ABV – good call and I get the same here. This is noted at 45.3% but to me it feels like 48-49% – but I ain’t complaining! 🙂

Lote: A8 Botella: 480 (07/2020)
Nose – Papaya juice. Vanilla icing. Peppermint.
Palate – Peppermint breath mint. Sweet pickle. Cake frosting. I love Michoacan mezcal and this one brings it! It’s more sugary than the Alto/Cupreata ensambles I’ve tried but doesn’t overdo it. The maguey notes are balanced nicely with this sweetness and the smoke is just right. Greenspoint noted in an earlier batch that it tasted like it was punching higher than the ABV – good c

Read more
Bastiaan

Bastiaan

10 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Practically no smoke on the nose. Very floral, scent of ripe fruit. Ripe banana stands out most. The taste is very unique and fruity, but not really sweet. Very floral, notes of lavender and licorice. Love its tropical fruit taste. Much like other mezcals I’ve tried, this one got better after sitting in the bottle for some time after drinking a few sips. When I first opened the bottle there was a strong ground black pepper aroma, which has completely disappeared after some time (both the black pepper and the current aroma is delicious by the way). I like this one better than the one from Oaxaca and as much as the one from San Luis Potosí.

Practically no smoke on the nose. Very floral, scent of ripe fruit. Ripe banana stands out most. The taste is very unique and fruity, but not really sweet. Very floral, notes of lavender and licorice. Love its tropical fruit taste. Much like other mezcals I’ve tried, this one got better after sitting in the bottle for some time after drinking a few sips. When I first opened the bottle there was a strong ground black pepper aroma, which has completely disappeared after some time (both the b

Read more
TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 48 Bottle #432T; Dist 07/2020.
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of cooked camote, floral, honey, ripe peach, apricot, papaya, white pepper.
Adequate and simple production aroma.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent slightly coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sweet taste with sour highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of ripe cooked agave, quiote and camote, honey, peaches, apricot, papaya.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slightly complex character, correct balance.
Straightforward and very long finish.
Very good overall impression.
*Seems slight flat structurally, sweet without much astringency.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits,
or more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute.

Lot 48 Bottle #432T; Dist 07/2020.
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of cooked camote, floral, honey, ripe peach, apricot, papaya, white pepper.
Adequate and simple production aroma.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent slightly coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sweet taste with sour highlights; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of ripe cooked agave, quiote and camote, honey, peaches, apricot, papaya.
Concentrated flavor intensity, slightly complex char

Read more
LittleArm

LittleArm

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 4 bottle 408/7430
Sweet and fresh, slightly tart on the nose. Really smooth, sweet and a tiny bit sour. Tastes like biting into a crisp green apple. Mellow finish. Incredibly pleasant

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lote 5, 49.3%
Nose: Spirity at first with pine tar and latex, then fresh mixed greens, lemon grass, and a fruity burst of lime, papaya, and pineapple, dusted with cumin and hot beach sand.
Palate: An interplay of fruity and savory: sweet and sour chicken, capers, thyme, guava, lemon-lime syrup, and lavender. Medium-full body.
Finish: Big hit of fresh rubber which tapers into sweetgrass, reed, clay, and a touch of pepper. Medium length.

The balance of herbal and fruity flavors is spot on – it feels like new notes emerge with every sniff and sip.

Lote 5, 49.3%
Nose: Spirity at first with pine tar and latex, then fresh mixed greens, lemon grass, and a fruity burst of lime, papaya, and pineapple, dusted with cumin and hot beach sand.
Palate: An interplay of fruity and savory: sweet and sour chicken, capers, thyme, guava, lemon-lime syrup, and lavender. Medium-full body.
Finish: Big hit of fresh rubber which tapers into sweetgrass, reed, clay, and a touch of pepper. Medium length.
The balance of herbal and fruity flavors is spot on – it

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lot 5, 49.3%

Aromatic, a gentle swirl and I can smell the cupreata, lemon, sour yuzu. Lots of cirtus and papaya, other tropical fruits in there like passionfruit – high toned, some banana. Eucalyptus, some gentle vanilla, clove. Mandarin, touch of smoke and meat, coffee bean, rose water.

Good viscosity, not super acidic like the nose suggested. Some flinty minerality, just a trickle of light pleasant ash and pepper on the finish. All the fruit hits the entry and swells to more white pepper and minerality. Some gentle herbaceousness like juniper or fir into the finish which is pretty long and even.

I haven’t had much from this area. The nose is so tart but the palate so nice, but what minerality and ashyness appear I do love. A complex development and unique profile. Solid pour, bright nose and dark palate.

Lot 5, 49.3%
Aromatic, a gentle swirl and I can smell the cupreata, lemon, sour yuzu. Lots of cirtus and papaya, other tropical fruits in there like passionfruit – high toned, some banana. Eucalyptus, some gentle vanilla, clove. Mandarin, touch of smoke and meat, coffee bean, rose water.
Good viscosity, not super acidic like the nose suggested. Some flinty minerality, just a trickle of light pleasant ash and pepper on the finish. All the fruit hits the entry and swells to more white pepper and

Read more
razorbackmike

razorbackmike

150 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

the least favorite of this label.nose is average and comparable to any mezcal that would be on the inexpensive price range.i get smoke and bittersweet agave on the tongue and not much else.not offensive but would not be my 1st,2nd or 3rd choice. UPDATE 2-29-20. i saw this bottle in the back of my closet and had not been touched in a year or more.when i opened the bottle it was a completely different mezcal! the nose came to life with notes of melon and vanilla.the taste reminded me of the sweet tart candy called spree.the finish was mild,sweet with pleasant smoke.once again,it proves that time can change a mezcal and this was a vast improvement.

the least favorite of this label.nose is average and comparable to any mezcal that would be on the inexpensive price range.i get smoke and bittersweet agave on the tongue and not much else.not offensive but would not be my 1st,2nd or 3rd choice. UPDATE 2-29-20. i saw this bottle in the back of my closet and had not been touched in a year or more.when i opened the bottle it was a completely different mezcal! the nose came to life with notes of melon and vanilla.the taste reminded me of the sweet

Read more
stepusin

stepusin

19 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

smell is very subtle, predominantly smokiness with a hint of agave. flavor to me is very balanced and smooth with a slight harshness on the backend. to me this is a very traditional mezcal and is very good, nice and smoky.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Very little smoke on the nose. Some pickle juice/brine on the palate. More smoke on the finish than the nose. Heavy alcohol burn that makes me think that this should be closer to 120 proof.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Nose: Amazing, but very extreme. I get smoke, soot, black olives, turnips, fir trees, old leather, mud, salted popcorn, almond oil, dried seaweed, roasted bell peppers mineral and gravely

Palate: Beautiful, peat, salt, smoke, capers, roots, crushed stones, licorice, wintergreen, and planty agave notes

Comments: My favorite mezcal to date, but very extreme and smokey, and possibly not for everyone, but I adore it. Easy 5 stars.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Found it to be quite intense on the nose, not some thing I’d give to a first time Mezcal drinker. Short and sharp, like vanilla, but varnish or toothpaste!
A strong taste of bitter limes, heavy minerals, a little salt but still creamy. In the finish, a lightly lasting pettiness. Not entirely my cup of agave unfortunately.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top