Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Durango

Derrumbes Durango is made by Urial Simental with maguey Cenizo. In this case maguey Cenizo is referring to agave Durangesis.

Rating: (26 reviews)
Brand:Derrumbes Mezcal
NOM:NOM-F283D
Mezcalero:Urial Simental
Maguey:Cenizo
Agave:Durangensis
Milling:Hand
Distillation:Duranguense
Style:Aged in Glass, Joven
State:Durango
Town:Nombre de Dios
ABV: 45%
Website: http://mezcalderrumbes.mx/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Derrumbes Durango is made with maguey Cenizo (Agave durangesis) in Nombre de Dios, Durango. More and more mezcals continue to come out of Durango, and Nombre de Dios is establishing itself as a mezcal stronghold in the state. This mezcal was produced by maestro mezcalero Urial Simental, and it has a nice balance between sweet dark fruit flavors and minerality.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

Member rating

4.12 out of 5

26 reviews

Ben P

Ben P

120 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Lot 3 ABV: 49.8%

Nose: Light minerality. vanilla and coconut comes on after sitting. Earthy Pear, rosemary and thyme

Palate: Peppered mangoes, mouthfeel is bit creamy with almost some coconut, bell peppers, green veggies. kiwi, maybe some pineapple. It has all this with light earthy acidity I enjoy. Finish is tart citrus like grapefruit, passion fruit, pickled chilies, some Andes mint chocolate

This is really tasty with both savory and fruit. It’s got some nice coconut mango elements going on book ended with veggie and earthy elements

Lot 3 ABV: 49.8%
Nose: Light minerality. vanilla and coconut comes on after sitting. Earthy Pear, rosemary and thyme
Palate: Peppered mangoes, mouthfeel is bit creamy with almost some coconut, bell peppers, green veggies. kiwi, maybe some pineapple. It has all this with light earthy acidity I enjoy. Finish is tart citrus like grapefruit, passion fruit, pickled chilies, some Andes mint chocolate
This is really tasty with both savory and fruit. It’s got some nice coconut mango elements g

Read more
TooGuru

TooGuru

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

I don’t want to score this one low so as to cheat someone out of a funky experience. If you appreciate what goes into a bottle of mezcal you’re on Brand with Derrumbes.
Notes:
Like a bite of an earthy bog
If you like peated scotch you will appreciate this one.
There’s overtones of sweetness that carry it to a citrus finish
Think mango orange smoothie
The metallic lean is towards tin
Burnt gasoline over adobe bricks.
Not off putting but intriguing
Calling for a second a third even a seventh sip.
I’m sold on this one. Not overly complex but a damn good dram.

I don’t want to score this one low so as to cheat someone out of a funky experience. If you appreciate what goes into a bottle of mezcal you’re on Brand with Derrumbes.
Notes:
Like a bite of an earthy bog
If you like peated scotch you will appreciate this one.
There’s overtones of sweetness that carry it to a citrus finish
Think mango orange smoothie
The metallic lean is towards tin
Burnt gasoline over adobe bricks.
Not off putting but intriguing
Calling for a second a third ev

Read more
Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lote 14, 06/22 production date, bottle 1137/1500, 45.6% abv

Review #10: Leather, vanilla, caramel, sweet earth. It has a sweet fruit mid-palate like melons and strawberry, but finishes back to that earth. Very enjoyable and complex. Among my favorites from derrumbes

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote A10 bottle 560t year 6/20 44.8% Aromas out of the bottle are cheese overripe green vegetables and burnt Caramelized sugar. Aromas are vanilla Nice viscosity and mouthfeel a lot of barnyard smells and Aromas lots of funk here. Mango gone bad and other ripe spoiled fruits burnt orange. No smoke. I felt that after this bottle aired out the aroma and flavor improved significantly. It’s now one of my favorites from this producer. The more this one airs out the funker it gets! Almost over the edge.

Lote A10 bottle 560t year 6/20 44.8% Aromas out of the bottle are cheese overripe green vegetables and burnt Caramelized sugar. Aromas are vanilla Nice viscosity and mouthfeel a lot of barnyard smells and Aromas lots of funk here. Mango gone bad and other ripe spoiled fruits burnt orange. No smoke. I felt that after this bottle aired out the aroma and flavor improved significantly. It’s now one of my favorites from this producer. The more this one airs out the funker it gets! Almost over

Read more
Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 11, 1559/3600, 44.7%

Unremarkable nose but drinks smooth with hints of vanilla and pinon which spread nice and fade broadly. A solid sip which drinks easily.

flanger88

flanger88

3 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is the second offering from Derrumbes that I’m trying, and it is just as excellent as the previous one. comparing to their Salmiana offering – the nose is much more balanced here, but there is almost no heat on the palate, and it leaves a taste of peppery deliciousness and leaves you longing for the next sip. Very Good!

peter-campora

peter-campora

15 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This is 45% ABV. Lot A9.

Nose: Black tea leaves and lemon. A bit of creamed corn. There’s an herbal note. Maybe oregano? There’s some slightly funky cheese note that reminds me of cotija.

Palate: This has a sweet entry. It really reminds me of southern sweet tea. A bit of that creamed corn from the nose returns. The mouthfeel is sadly a bit thin.

Finish: The herbal oregano like note lends a drying finish that balances out the sweet tea that appeared earlier. The length is on the shorter side of moderate, though it does remain for more than a moment. The transition between the palate and the finish is nice.

Overall: A nice spring/summer sipper. It reminds me of drinking sweet tea on a porch or patio in the hot Louisiana summer. It’s good but unfortunately it lacks both the complexity or strength to get into very good territory.

Score: 6-

This is 45% ABV. Lot A9.
Nose: Black tea leaves and lemon. A bit of creamed corn. There’s an herbal note. Maybe oregano? There’s some slightly funky cheese note that reminds me of cotija.
Palate: This has a sweet entry. It really reminds me of southern sweet tea. A bit of that creamed corn from the nose returns. The mouthfeel is sadly a bit thin.
Finish: The herbal oregano like note lends a drying finish t

Read more
MezcAleman

MezcAleman

28 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote: 9 – Bottle 1115/2900 – Date 01/20
Smells sweet, buttery and fresh herbs with a little bit fruit. No smoke on the nose.
Tastes smooth, sweets and minty herbs are dominant with a little bit of mango. A good not-to-complex mezcal. Easy to sip and an advise for mezcal beginners.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I like this! I like most offerings I’ve tried from Durango and Cenizo. It’s light smoke, medium funk, and quite a sweet fruitiness to it. This is not a complex offering, but that is a good thing sometimes. It’s an absolutely solid Cenizo offering at a decent price point.

aarild

aarild

153 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Another amazing bottle from the northernmost states certified for the mezcal label. It is not quite as idiosyncratic as Derrumbes’ San Luis Potosí and Tamaulipas, but still full of character and I imagine it is a specific fruitiness with the cenizo that I’d be able to recognize in other expressions.
Aromas of leather, freshly chalked blackboard, yellow marshland straws in the early autumn, honeysuckle and lilacs.
In the mouth, first a strike of cucumber-infused water turning into notes of bramble, black cherries and vanilla. If that sounds like a dessert it’s not meant to be, because it is somewhat astringent and dry, yet with sweet flavours in the way only a few, unaged spirits of good quality can bring about. On the aftertaste, leather and spice returns from the nostrils down to the palate. No regrets getting a whole bottle, and I suspect it will mellow even more over time.
Lot 9, January 2020.

Another amazing bottle from the northernmost states certified for the mezcal label. It is not quite as idiosyncratic as Derrumbes’ San Luis Potosí and Tamaulipas, but still full of character and I imagine it is a specific fruitiness with the cenizo that I’d be able to recognize in other expressions.
Aromas of leather, freshly chalked blackboard, yellow marshland straws in the early autumn, honeysuckle and lilacs.
In the mouth, first a strike of cucumber-infused water turning into no

Read more
Mezcaliente

Mezcaliente

14 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Excellent. Smooth and sweet with some dry pepper heat coming through. Low smokiness fits well.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: 6 Botella: 549/1450 (03/18)
Nose – Vanilla. Root beer.

Palate – Dried dark cherry forward. Fruit punch lingering in the background. I like the oaky smokiness and how in balance it is with the heat (a mix of peppermint and white pepper). Finish still holds that fruity sweetness and I pick up a nice clay note. This doesn’t have the funky aspect that comes with several Durangensis that I’ve tried. This mezcal goes down dangerously easy!

TzotollineRaramuri

TzotollineRaramuri

75 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

03/2019; Lot 7; Bot 158/2900
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of mango, guava, cooked quiote, mandarin, orange zest, lemon blossom, ginger, mamey, light coconut, pickled walnut.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent and coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of ginger, mango, guava, quince, plantain, orange zest, light floral honey.
Medium concentrated flavor intensity, slightly complex, harmonious balance.
Pleasant and very long finish.
Very good to excellent overall impression.

*May lack a touch of agave profile on the palate, but nice character and balance, well crafted, yet nothing extraordinary.

Learn more about organoleptic evaluation at the International Wine & Spirits Guild’s seminar in Fine Spirits.
Our more on Agave Spirits certifications through the Agave Spirits Institute,

03/2019; Lot 7; Bot 158/2900
?- clear
?- drying impact.
Aromas of mango, guava, cooked quiote, mandarin, orange zest, lemon blossom, ginger, mamey, light coconut, pickled walnut.
Adequate & complex production.
Average length and ordinary character.
?- astringent and coating effect; sufficient smooth alcohol; medium body.
Primarily sour and bitter taste; buttery smoothness.
Flavors of ginger, mango, guava, quince, plantain, orange zest, light floral honey.
Medium concentrated flavor intensity

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Solid but I did not find anything to complex in this bottle. I would expect more complexity for the price

Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot 6. Cherry jam! Big black cherry notes with this batch, also very floral. The other reviewer nailed it with the honeysuckle note. Also asparagus, gunpowder, and white pepper. Very nice.

NickSanford

NickSanford

23 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

I loved it. This is the 3rd one I’ve had from Durrumbes and I’ve loved each one as they were all so different. This one is heavy towards the smoked cantaloupe, papaya, carrots, citrus and ginger with a nice earthy vegetal finish. Not very smokey either. I felt like this Mezcal had a very distinctive profile of flavors that I don’t taste that often, so it made a really nice change up.

Ambros

Ambros

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

45.2% Nice aroma of fresh fruits, cherry, some cheese, hint of smoke and earthy. In mouth everything disappears, becoming simple and boring. Some minerality, a bit of grass, and medium dry finish.,

Lady_Lauren

Lady_Lauren

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

suuuper pretty mezcal. really floral and fruity. honeysuckle, grassy, white pepper.

a memorable one, considering I only had it once and am still thinking about it.

BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lote 5, 46.8%
Nose: Floral and earthy – there’s pollen, cut flower stems, wet clay, papaya, maple syrup and bubblegum. A bit of parmesan cheese funk.
Palate: Turns to sweet and fruity, with mango, strawberry, wildflower honey, and a bit of minerality tying things together. Medium bodied.
Finish: Surge of cooked agave, with clay, beeswax, asparagus, white grapefruit, and a hint of ash. Medium length.

Fruit, earth and funk in sweet harmony. At first, the earthy pollen notes reminded me more of sotol than mezcal, but there’s nice progression through the palate and the agave asserts itself in full force on the finish. Delicate and well-balanced.

Lote 5, 46.8%
Nose: Floral and earthy – there’s pollen, cut flower stems, wet clay, papaya, maple syrup and bubblegum. A bit of parmesan cheese funk.
Palate: Turns to sweet and fruity, with mango, strawberry, wildflower honey, and a bit of minerality tying things together. Medium bodied.
Finish: Surge of cooked agave, with clay, beeswax, asparagus, white grapefruit, and a hint of ash. Medium length.
Fruit, earth and funk in sweet harmony. At first, the earthy pollen notes reminded me more

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

46.8% lot 5
Slowly beads fall. Stanky cenizo, a little smoke, white pepper, flowers, over a mango and papaya style fruit body. Lots of cara cara orange notes. Fennel touches, white cherry, good amount of vanilla, some cinnamon. Decent complexity and mostly huge pure agave. Clay, sunflower, ginger.

Such great sweetness, cara cara and vanilla and more gingery palate with papaya showing more than mango. Retronasal has cinnamon and orange blossom. Very approachable with just enough minerality for depth, very little smoke though some trickles on the finish.

I really like this region’s mezcal. Approachable fruit, clay, not too smokey. A clean and fun profile that’s versatile and engaging. This lot is a winner. More complexity and maybe less heat on the finish would bring it up. It’s a little dense on the palate too with regards to mouthfeel.

46.8% lot 5
Slowly beads fall. Stanky cenizo, a little smoke, white pepper, flowers, over a mango and papaya style fruit body. Lots of cara cara orange notes. Fennel touches, white cherry, good amount of vanilla, some cinnamon. Decent complexity and mostly huge pure agave. Clay, sunflower, ginger.
Such great sweetness, cara cara and vanilla and more gingery palate with papaya showing more than mango. Retronasal has cinnamon and orange blossom. Very approachable with just enough minerality for de

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top