Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes San Luis Potosi

Derrumbes San Luis Potosi is made from the region’s wild agave Salmiana, giving it a unique, vibrant flavor not found in other mezcal.

Rating: (12 reviews)
Brand:Derrumbes Mezcal
NOM:NOM-S47L
Mezcalero:Juan Manuel Pérez Juárez
Agave:Salmiana
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:San Luis Potosí
Town:Charcas
ABV: 43%
Website: http://mezcalderrumbes.mx/
About this mezcal

Derrumbes San Luis Potosi is an example of a very particular style of mezcal crafted in the high altitude Central Mexican Plateau, in the state of San Luis Potosí. This mezcal is made from the region’s wild agave Salmiana, giving it a unique, vibrant flavor. Certain bottles list agave Crassispina as the subspecies. Despite its abundance, this type of agave has a very low yield. The mezcalero needs up to four times as much of it to create an equal amount of spirit when compared to the blue agave used in the tequila region. Grown in calcareous soils, this mezcal terrifically showcases its terroir characteristics, with chalky notes very evident in the flavor profile. Produced in an old traditional hacienda, above ground ovens known as hornos are used to cook the agave which mean their mezcal is not smoky. Once cooked, the agave is crushed by a tahona, fermented naturally with wild yeast, twice-distilled in small copper pot stills, and bottled around 43% ABV.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

12 reviews

4.3 of out 5 stars


rsidrys

rsidrys

36 reviews
1 month ago

Green, unique, and easy. On the nose, mild white cheese up front, then fades to sauteed sweet peppers, green beans, vegetal, just lots of green. I get green agave on the palate with light smoke. Pleasant, sweet, mineral finish that lingers. Starts funky and balances out the deeper you go. A little on the light side in terms of intensity, but because of that, super drinkable. This one is fun!

Spirit_Chaser

Spirit_Chaser

16 reviews
1 month ago

Lot 14, 09/2018, 43.9%abv
The nose very “green” akin to jalapeno/poblano peppers with undertones of cheese…perhaps a touch of onions in there as well. Basically, it smells like jalapeno poppers in a glass. Taste is more of the same with a pepper spice kick. The green pepper flavors cling to your palate forever. Overall, a solid and distinctive mezcal that pushes a lot of great buttons and is an absolute bargain. I just wish that it had a higher ABV which I venture would bring out more depth which it lacks. I recently had a taste of a Mezonte Jalisco Raicilla that shared a lot of these flavors with tons of extra depth and complexity and blew my mind.

Lot 14, 09/2018, 43.9%abv
The nose very “green” akin to jalapeno/poblano peppers with undertones of cheese…perhaps a touch of onions in there as well. Basically, it smells like jalapeno poppers in a glass. Taste is more of the same with a pepper spice kick. The green pepper flavors cling to your palate forever. Overall, a solid and distinctive mezcal that pushes a lot of great buttons and is an absolute bargain. I just wish that it had a higher ABV which I venture would

Read more
Oscar_P

Oscar_P

1 review
4 months ago

The aftertaste is like no other, it is in a soft and agressive balance.

Yggy45

Yggy45

7 reviews
5 months ago

5th edition, bottle 92/1420

Opening the bottle fresh, I found the nose to be full of green peppers and blue cheese – maybe almost stinky tofu? for those who have been to taiwan – with some sourness, like very fermented sauerkraut. Also mint and white peppercorn, and some hints of sweet fruit, like lychee. After pouring and letting it open up a bit, the blue cheese retreats to the smell of cream cheese spread on cut green peppers.

The palate was much the same: white pepper, chalky and mineral, cheese. Sweet and a little pungent, like white sugar on jalapenos, but relatively smooth.

If you let the glass sit empty for a bit, the nose putrefies more to something closer to stinky tofu.

Probably not for everyone but I’m glad I bought it and like the nose and taste

5th edition, bottle 92/1420
Opening the bottle fresh, I found the nose to be full of green peppers and blue cheese – maybe almost stinky tofu? for those who have been to taiwan – with some sourness, like very fermented sauerkraut. Also mint and white peppercorn, and some hints of sweet fruit, like lychee. After pouring and letting it open up a bit, the blue cheese retreats to the smell of cream cheese spread on cut green peppers.
The palate was much the same: white pepper, chalky a

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

95 reviews
5 months ago

Lot 7. Wow!!! This one is very interesting and unique! Every time I try it I taste something new. Sweet, herbal, spicy, and funky, with a long complex finish. Blue cheese, jalapeño, bell pepper, cilantro, anise, and mint. I want to always have a bottle of this in my collection to showcase how many diverse flavors you can get from agave.

Madboo

Madboo

2 reviews
5 months ago

It’s definitely funky – I get a chalky berry mix at first then some heat followed by a sweet spicy finish. Can’t say it’s my favorite but definitely worth a try.

Mymic87

Mymic87

13 reviews
10 months ago

Nose: Roast Green Bell Peppers, baked sweet potatoes, vanilla, peas. new car smell, with water I get an early vegtable smell, like leeks and onions, blue cheese dressing, cilantro, sage, fennel, leather.

Palate: Sweet, Rum and raisin ice cream, dates, brown sugar, green chili peppers, with water it’s a little dryer and earthier, I get dirty potatoes, cranberry juice

Comments: Nice Mezcal, but I personally like them dryer and smokier

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
11 months ago

Distinctive and quirky in both nose and pallet.

An initial peculiar smell of soft blue cheese and a ‘brewery like’ smell of mashed barley paired with sweet dried fruits.
A pulpy texture and everything you can smell is right there in taste along with that classic red peppered spice, followed by a warming bread & butter finish.
Lote2-188/600-05/15.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

92 reviews
12 months ago

5 star mezcals are special.not only is this one delicious but is unique.very easy and pleasant to the senses.the nose and the taste are the same.what you smell is what you get on the tongue.lovely mix of mild spices with black pepper standing out.creamy texture with a hint of cheese and bread on the finish.reserved honey sweetness.it all blends in a beautiful way.

KaySmith

KaySmith

8 reviews
1 year ago

Ridiculously delicious with funky flavours that reminds of jalapeno poppers/blue cheese. First sip was too much for me and didn’t enjoy it but every sip after that was wonderful!

Tyler

Tyler

302 reviews
3 years ago

Wow, this is an incredibly unique mezcal. My first time trying this type of agave and from the state of San Luis Potosi. There is almost a subtle cheese aroma on the nose. The taste made me think of grilled sweet peppers. This is very funky stuff. Don’t miss out if you see it at a bar or liquor store.

Jonny

Jonny

323 reviews
3 years ago

The smell of this mezcal is crazy. It’s like a new leather couch meets a cone of vanilla ice cream mixed with dates and raisons. It doesn’t taste like anything you’d get out of Oaxaca or really any other mezcal-producing state that I’ve tried. The taste is complex and foreign. It’s sweet, but almost musty with notes of dates and figs. This is a very unique mezcal, like nothing else out there.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top