Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes San Luis Potosi

Derrumbes San Luis Potosi is made from the region’s wild agave Salmiana, giving it a unique, vibrant flavor not found in other mezcal.

About this mezcal

Derrumbes San Luis Potosi is an example of a very particular style of mezcal crafted in the high altitude Central Mexican Plateau, in the state of San Luis Potosí. This mezcal is made from the region’s wild agave Salmiana, giving it a unique, vibrant flavor. Certain bottles list agave Crassispina as the subspecies. Despite its abundance, this type of agave has a very low yield. The mezcalero needs up to four times as much of it to create an equal amount of spirit when compared to the blue agave used in the tequila region. Grown in calcareous soils, this mezcal terrifically showcases its terroir characteristics, with chalky notes very evident in the flavor profile. Produced in an old traditional hacienda, above ground ovens known as hornos are used to cook the agave which mean their mezcal is not smoky. Once cooked, the agave is crushed by a tahona, fermented naturally with wild yeast, twice-distilled in small copper pot stills, and bottled around 43% ABV.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

Member rating

3.8 out of 5

50 reviews

Jam

Jam

149 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

44.7% abv, lote 64
Review # 147: the nose has funky creamy cheese, green bell pepper, jalapeno poppers, honey, and lemon.
The palate has jalapeno, bell peppers, cream cheese, black pepper, lemon, lime, zucchini, all wrapped up in a bit of honey sweetness, and a crispy kale sort of green minerality on the finish.

As agavefairy said in a review before: jalapeno poppers. Review over.
But seriously, this stuff is one of the best bottles you can get for the price. It’s very aromatic, rich on the palate, and salmiana is just cool! I love the savory and creamy green notes going on and I’m definitely getting another bottle once mine is gone.

44.7% abv, lote 64
Review # 147: the nose has funky creamy cheese, green bell pepper, jalapeno poppers, honey, and lemon.
The palate has jalapeno, bell peppers, cream cheese, black pepper, lemon, lime, zucchini, all wrapped up in a bit of honey sweetness, and a crispy kale sort of green minerality on the finish.
As agavefairy said in a review before: jalapeno poppers. Review over.
But seriously, this stuff is one of the best bottles you can get for the price. It’s very aromatic, rich on th

Read more
Architect

Architect

3 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Light and low smoke flavor. A bit too much of the ethanol vodka like flavor.

Good choice for the price point but there are better options.

Lot – 711661/4300
Date – 02/23

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Pleasant

Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Interesting and likeable, especially at ~$50/bottle. Nose and flavor are both quite punchy and different for me. Am reminded of Lagrimas de Dolores Marsparillo which is almost 3x the price. It’s not in the same league as that, sadly, but it is a lot of flavor.

Imperium

Imperium

97 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Nose is green, cheesy and earthy. The palate follows, with lots of cheese and funky green

jackstraw

jackstraw

31 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

jalapeño maple sage

review #6

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

I always have a bottle of this on-hand as I have yet to encounter a more delicious 750ml bottle for the price point (~$40). Some batches are better than others, but usually in the 4 star range (.5 star added here for the value).

Funky, lactic, cheesy flavors mixed with a refreshing aloe syrup flavor. It is hard to describe. The good batches have a nice complex finish, the bad ones are a bit more thin and tend towards the more diluted side.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Holy jalapeños! Spicy, herbal, savory and zesty. If you’re a fan of the spicier mezcals, definitely give this one a go!

Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote 48, 357/1750, 44.6%

Not my favorite at first. Chile dominant but fades evenly. I like the chile touch normally so that’s not a knock. I just can’t place its oddness; I may have to find a way to fit it into a flight to get past it. Luckily, at $44.99 it did not break the bank. I will come back to it. Would probably give it a 2.5 except that it’s weird so I give it a 3 for effort.

Forpowder

Forpowder

77 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote A35 bottle 26167 year 3/20 44.7% Aroma from opening the bottle I get green peppers with a nice alcoholic note. Tasting is cream cheese with green peppers all the way to the end. One of the most intense combinations I found of this flavor profile.
Lote 70 bottle 1014/4300 year 01/2023 44
3% Lots of blue cheese, funk and jalapeno pepper on this one. This is at the edge of what I can tolerate for this style.

flanger88

flanger88

3 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 54. This is one of my first mezcals. took me a while to get over the stench upon opening the bottle. I actually was dissapointed at first – it was too funky, rotten and intense. I had it with a bit of ice and that opened up the flavours so much. in the next days I started sipping it neat and everything mellowd down and I got really comfortable with it.
I’m not great with describing tastes and flavours but I can just say I ended up cherishing every last drop of this bottle. probably fell in love with mezcal 🙂

Lot 54. This is one of my first mezcals. took me a while to get over the stench upon opening the bottle. I actually was dissapointed at first – it was too funky, rotten and intense. I had it with a bit of ice and that opened up the flavours so much. in the next days I started sipping it neat and everything mellowd down and I got really comfortable with it.
I’m not great with describing tastes and flavours but I can just say I ended up cherishing every last drop of this bottle. probab

Read more
m8375e

m8375e

4 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote 27, 11/19, Artesanal, 44.4%

Nose: green, raw green pepper, padron peppers, jalapenos, big bunches of spearmint and peppermint. Mild sweetness, drop of lemon juice and white pepper, a little barn/manure funk? This is really aromatic, not massively complex but very nice.

Palate: nice arrival, lovely perceptual sweetness, candied padron peppers, gently smoky, earthy. Very good full coating texture. A little cream cheese, more of that mint, remains pleasantly sweet, savoury, earthy, with a slight citric and mineral grip, going on quite long. Can take a drop of water but pretty much perfect at strength.

Comment: price on this is creeping up but at €38 this was a steal and it remains very good at a slightly higher price. Not super complex but a lot of character and very drinkable! Another winner from Derrumbes.

Lote 27, 11/19, Artesanal, 44.4%
Nose: green, raw green pepper, padron peppers, jalapenos, big bunches of spearmint and peppermint. Mild sweetness, drop of lemon juice and white pepper, a little barn/manure funk? This is really aromatic, not massively complex but very nice.
Palate: nice arrival, lovely perceptual sweetness, candied padron peppers, gently smoky, earthy. Very good full coating texture. A little cream cheese, more of that mint, remains pleasantly sweet, savoury, earthy, with a slig

Read more
AndrewT

AndrewT

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Fresh jalapeños with some cheesiness. Very easy to drink. Great value

jaspercrabb

jaspercrabb

1 review
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Well, this is my first taste of a mezcal from San Luis Potosi. After reading the prior reviews, I was a bit fearful as to what I was going to encounter. Luckily, my take is completely different. I liked it, and a lot. For a few minutes, I searched my tasting data banks to recall what it reminded me of . . . . (was it jalapeno peppers: no) (was it cheese, whether blue or ‘gorgonzola’ : no) instead this agave distillate reminded me most of gentiane (an alpine plant) liqueurs like Suze and Aveze! Very complex, with an earthy, chalky character, almost a caraway seed and licorice influence, but with a definite gentiane (also found in Chartreuse) quality. Very groovy! I am a fan!

Well, this is my first taste of a mezcal from San Luis Potosi. After reading the prior reviews, I was a bit fearful as to what I was going to encounter. Luckily, my take is completely different. I liked it, and a lot. For a few minutes, I searched my tasting data banks to recall what it reminded me of . . . . (was it jalapeno peppers: no) (was it cheese, whether blue or ‘gorgonzola’ : no) instead this agave distillate reminded me most of gentiane (an alpine plant) liqueurs li

Read more
Dom

Dom

29 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I get an overwhelming taste of green jalapeño & lactic funk. Almost like a jalapeño popper. Overall very good for the price

Edit: as I come back to this after being open for a bit I’m picking up some mint notes

ReeBarbill

ReeBarbill

6 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This was a little too green tasting for me, almost to the point of being a little minty. Very good, just not to my taste.

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Wow, what a burst of jalapeño and cheese — both on the nose and on the palate. Serrano-wrapped dates, pine needles without the bitterness, sourdough white bread on the finish. I seriously love this, if I catch a bottle at some point I’d love to elaborate on the tasting notes. The reflex you get is to quit whatever conversation you had, then sit down in a corner and just explore this mezcal in quiet contemplation.

LOT 45 Dec. 2020, seems an exclusive batch for La maison du whisky:
I got my bottle! It needs time to improve the smell, but flavours are just as fascinating as that unknown batch above. Jalapeños, green bell pepper, sautéed chayotes, a hint of Serrano ham, figues rather than dates. Less lactic than the previous batch, rather 3% fat yoghurt than cheese, and a bit more grassy aftertaste. More vegetal and herbal generally, but that could change over time after opening the bottle. It lacks a bit of structure and aftertaste for a full score, but what a fascinating mezcal it is. You could try to imagine an ensamble of tepeztate, arroqueno, funky raicilla and a savoury pechuga (less of that last note in batch 45).

Wow, what a burst of jalapeño and cheese — both on the nose and on the palate. Serrano-wrapped dates, pine needles without the bitterness, sourdough white bread on the finish. I seriously love this, if I catch a bottle at some point I’d love to elaborate on the tasting notes. The reflex you get is to quit whatever conversation you had, then sit down in a corner and just explore this mezcal in quiet contemplation.
LOT 45 Dec. 2020, seems an exclusive batch for La maison du whisky:
I got my

Read more
El-Dawg

El-Dawg

209 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote A35(200ML)
I feel like salmianas are a ‘love it or hate it’ agave. This one is delicious though, so guess I like them somewhat.
Strong smell & tastes of jalapeños & olive brine. Taste includes, but not limited to, honey, rotten fruit, bruised peaches, jalapeño poppers, and more. Complex and unique, and yet at least in my group, polarizing. I’ll probably upgrade this 200ml flask to a full bottle here soon. Great bottle to introduce to new mezcal curious friends, as it shows how crazy different and complex mezcal can be (as Rakhal also pointed out). More like 4.25
Review #107.

Lote A35(200ML)
I feel like salmianas are a ‘love it or hate it’ agave. This one is delicious though, so guess I like them somewhat.
Strong smell & tastes of jalapeños & olive brine. Taste includes, but not limited to, honey, rotten fruit, bruised peaches, jalapeño poppers, and more. Complex and unique, and yet at least in my group, polarizing. I’ll probably upgrade this 200ml flask to a full bottle here soon. Great bottle to introduce to new mezcal curious frien

Read more
Mezcaliente

Mezcaliente

14 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Earthy, rotten fruit nose. Great salty pepper flavor up front with very smooth finish. Could benefit from a bit more bite by upping the abv.

Azi

Azi

40 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 21, 05/19, Bottle 1154/1750. 43.9% abv

First off, the nose. Insane levels of jalapeño, freshly cut, focusing on the green flesh here. possibly something pickled. By something, we can only mean a jalapeño. Jalapeño in many forms I’d say.
The jalapeño doesn’t go anywhere when you start drinking. Maybe a bit of that bison grass vodka. a bit salty. As it sits in my cup, some hard aged cheese notes come out on the nose. the pickle idea turns to brine, and olives take center stage.
Comes out to a tune I don’t love, but give it some air and that one note goes on to add a few more. Definitely not sad to have a 750 of this

Lot 21, 05/19, Bottle 1154/1750. 43.9% abv
First off, the nose. Insane levels of jalapeño, freshly cut, focusing on the green flesh here. possibly something pickled. By something, we can only mean a jalapeño. Jalapeño in many forms I’d say.
The jalapeño doesn’t go anywhere when you start drinking. Maybe a bit of that bison grass vodka. a bit salty. As it sits in my cup, some hard aged cheese notes come out on the nose. the pickle idea turns to brine, and olives take center stage.

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top