Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Tamaulipas

Derrumbes Tamaulipas is an Ensamble of three rare agave, two of which are found only in the state of Tampaulipas. This mezcal is sweet, rich, and dry.

About this mezcal

Derrumbes Tamaulipas is one of the few mezcals exported from Tampaulipas. Unfortunately, this region of Mexico is considered extremely unsafe and travel warnings were issued in 2016 and 2017 warning visitors to the state of it’s grave danger. Despite this, Maestro Mezcalero Cuauthemoc Jacquez creates stunning mezcal. This mezcal is an Ensamble of several different agave that vary by batch.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

14 reviews

3.86 out of 5


Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

334 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Lote: 6 Botella: 428/720 Fecha: 04/19 ABV: 48%
Nose – Insane funky nose – I’m getting Kraft Dinner absolutely loaded with bleu cheese. A big kimchi note as well.

Palate – Great mouthfeel and the there was a second or so delay until the flavors hit. Flamed orange peel. The predominant note is a very toasted (almost burnt) extra aged/sharp white cheddar on toast – left in the salamander a bit too long. Pickled carrot/garlic. Cooked green pepper. Roasted green peas. A sambal oelek note but not near as spicy. Elevated smoke in the finish as well as beaucoup sea salt. I’m usually a fan of funky mezcales but this one doesn’t do the trick. Just OK.

Lote: 6 Botella: 428/720 Fecha: 04/19 ABV: 48%
Nose – Insane funky nose – I’m getting Kraft Dinner absolutely loaded with bleu cheese. A big kimchi note as well.
Palate – Great mouthfeel and the there was a second or so delay until the flavors hit. Flamed orange peel. The predominant note is a very toasted (almost burnt) extra aged/sharp white cheddar on toast – left in the salamander a bit too long. Pickled carrot/garlic. Cooked green pepper. Roasted green peas. A

Read more
SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Lot 6/2019 and my first mezcal from Tampaulipas and it reminded me a lot of Raicilla. This is a unique expression but tasted some of that lactic funk right off the bat with nice layered spice and sweetness that got behind my molars and had a nice mouthfeel. Overall just not my preferred makeup but certainly worth trying for those that are looking for a totally new profile that is unlike many common mezcales.

aarild

aarild

69 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Orange flowers, some incense I am unable to further describe, subdued smoke and bitter orange peels. Most interesting nose.

A bit pepper, quite smooth and good mouthfeel. Overripe cantaloupe, flamed orange peel. Dark chocolate, and a hint of herbs that makes me think about unmalted barley in Irish single pot still whiskey. Actually, I get flavours as if I quaff a Redbreast 15 whilst eating dark orange chocolate. It’s only the slightly abrupt finish that stops this from being a full score.

Lot 3, October 2017, bottle says amole and americana, presumably agave vilmoriniana if “amole” does not refer to something entirely different in Tamaulipas than elsewhere (which could of course be the case).

Orange flowers, some incense I am unable to further describe, subdued smoke and bitter orange peels. Most interesting nose.
A bit pepper, quite smooth and good mouthfeel. Overripe cantaloupe, flamed orange peel. Dark chocolate, and a hint of herbs that makes me think about unmalted barley in Irish single pot still whiskey. Actually, I get flavours as if I quaff a Redbreast 15 whilst eating dark orange chocolate. It’s only the slightly abrupt finish that stops this from being a full score.

Read more
elchino

elchino

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Sweet, taste like mao tai from China.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lot 5. I like this a lot. Old leather, bell pepper, burnt orange peel, curry paste, menthol, palm sugar, Sumo mandarins, shrimp paste, fish sauce. Very umami, I’ll be looking out for this batch.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

164 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose: Oh my, that’s characterful and gorgeous. There’s vegetable sweetness, with echoes of baked soft cheeses, nut butters, maple wood, and apricot jam. Such an array of flavors all tied together so well. There’s almost some notes of sorghum in a manner that make me think of a very friendly baijiu; green peas, dried mushroom.

Palate: Good entry, swells beautifully into complex agave notes that slowly fade with traces of oak smoke, black pepper, and that kinda baked mozarella thing. The finish seems almost a bit hot as well. Not as much umami here as the nose.

Thoughts: This is the magic of Derrumbes. Flavor combinations that we struggle to convey, in balances that grasp us and demand attention. Gorgeous, invigorating spirit.

Conclusion: 7/10. Stunning, truly. A must-try!

Nose: Oh my, that’s characterful and gorgeous. There’s vegetable sweetness, with echoes of baked soft cheeses, nut butters, maple wood, and apricot jam. Such an array of flavors all tied together so well. There’s almost some notes of sorghum in a manner that make me think of a very friendly baijiu; green peas, dried mushroom.
Palate: Good entry, swells beautifully into complex agave notes that slowly fade with traces of oak smoke, black pepper, and that kinda baked mozarella thing. The fi

Read more
BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote 2, 46.15%
Blend of A. montana, A. funkiana, A. univittata, A. americana

Nose: Grappa-like: licorice, grape must, green stems, dill pickle, acetone.

Palate: More grape must, joined by kale, daikon, sweet peppers, kimchi, a bit of mango and other tropical fruit I can’t place. Medium body.

Finish: Muted at first, with more grape skins, tarragon, and carrot. Develops into roasted poblano, milk chocolate, cooked agave and light smoke. Medium-long length.

To me, this is the most unusual profile of the Derrumbes lineup, it reminds me of a well-made grappa.

Lote 2, 46.15%
Blend of A. montana, A. funkiana, A. univittata, A. americana
Nose: Grappa-like: licorice, grape must, green stems, dill pickle, acetone.
Palate: More grape must, joined by kale, daikon, sweet peppers, kimchi, a bit of mango and other tropical fruit I can’t place. Medium body.
Finish: Muted at first, with more grape skins, tarragon, and carrot. Develops into roasted poblano, milk chocolate, cooked agave and light smoke. Medium-long length.
To me, this is the most unusual profi

Read more
Ravi

Ravi

5 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote 4, 06/18 46.1%. Earth, green vegetation, peppery and leathery on the nose with some sour notes, with marshmallow sweetness. The palate is very sweet at first, followed by the earthyness, vegetation and a smack in the face of black and green pepper and spice, like munching on fresh mustard greens. Full and oily mouthfeel with the alcohol and spice lasting a long time. Punchy and tasty stuff. 4*

Mezcalito

Mezcalito

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I just tried this at a local mezcal bar, I said I was looking for a leathery rich mezcal and I got poured derrumbes Tamaulipas, it was exactly what I was hoping for, slight citrus notes and pepper were also present. Really good!

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 3. Fecha 9/16. Bottle 642/1150. 46.15%. Super peppery aromas. The nose is full of green peppers and mustard greens. The palate mostly follows suit with the nose, lots vegetables. Medium palate.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

New batch bottle I believe featuring Amole & Americana agaves. If someone could clarify?
Lote: 3 Bottle: 83/650 Date: 10/17
48%

Initial nose of burnt orange rind, cotton candy and a perfumey agave mulch.
The expected sweetness was there with an angustora like bitterness and oranges clinging to the top of the mouth. It also finishes sweetly wth the orange which is very much welcomed with an oily candy necklace lining(you know the sweets). Long lasting and satisfying. Top!
4.5**

My final bottle of the current Durrumbes range, though I’d like to try other batches.

New batch bottle I believe featuring Amole & Americana agaves. If someone could clarify?
Lote: 3 Bottle: 83/650 Date: 10/17
48%
Initial nose of burnt orange rind, cotton candy and a perfumey agave mulch.
The expected sweetness was there with an angustora like bitterness and oranges clinging to the top of the mouth. It also finishes sweetly wth the orange which is very much welcomed with an oily candy necklace lining(you know the sweets). Long lasting and satisfying. Top!
4.5**
My final bottl

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

517 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Never had mezcal from Tamaulipas.. until now. This interesting ensamble has flavors of cotton candy, orange peel, sugar water, and sweet pickled carrots. I’ve had it a few times and both experiences were quite different but both equally enjoyable. These notes are from the most recent taste.

Keith

Keith

35 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot 1, btl 100/1000, date 9/16, 52.3% ABV, Cuauthemoc Jacquez. What’s this smell? What’s that taste? Mezcales from Northern Mexico tend to elicit a Zen-Like state of mind for me, so I prefer to accept rather than define the experience. However, since this is a place for reviews, I’ll share that I like it very much and I think it is very good.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

126 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

this is an excellent mezcal!it is very strong but not harsh.at 52 %,a little goes a long way.this was my first experience with agave funkiana and univittata.it is very delicious and very compact.the first impression is sweet with some tart fruit notes.mid way opens up to savory salty mucho agave.the real suprise was a flavor of cheese on the finish.it all ties together in a beautiful unique way.it is bursting with bold flavor.be careful with this one because it will go straight to the brain!i would give this one 4 and a half stars!

this is an excellent mezcal!it is very strong but not harsh.at 52 %,a little goes a long way.this was my first experience with agave funkiana and univittata.it is very delicious and very compact.the first impression is sweet with some tart fruit notes.mid way opens up to savory salty mucho agave.the real suprise was a flavor of cheese on the finish.it all ties together in a beautiful unique way.it is bursting with bold flavor.be careful with this one because it will go straight to the brain!i wo

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top