Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Tamaulipas

Derrumbes Tamaulipas is an Ensamble of three rare agave, two of which are found only in the state of Tampaulipas. This mezcal is sweet, rich, and dry.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Brand:Derrumbes Mezcal
NOM:NOM-F283D
Mezcalero:Cuauthemoc Jacquez
Agave / Maguey:Funkiana, Montana, Univittata
Grind:Shredder
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass, Ensamble
State:Tamaulipas
Town:San Carlos
ABV:46%-52%
Website:http://mezcalderrumbes.mx/
About this mezcal

Derrumbes Tamaulipas is one of the few mezcals exported from Tampaulipas. Unfortunately, this region of Mexico is considered extremely unsafe and travel warnings were issued in 2016 and 2017 warning visitors to the state of it’s grave danger. Despite this, Maestro Mezcalero Cuauthemoc Jacquez creates stunning mezcal. This mezcal is an Ensamble of several different agave that vary by batch.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

9 reviews

3.89 out of 5


TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

88 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Nose: Oh my, that’s characterful and gorgeous. There’s vegetable sweetness, with echoes of baked soft cheeses, nut butters, maple wood, and apricot jam. Such an array of flavors all tied together so well. There’s almost some notes of sorghum in a manner that make me think of a very friendly baijiu; green peas, dried mushroom.

Palate: Good entry, swells beautifully into complex agave notes that slowly fade with traces of oak smoke, black pepper, and that kinda baked mozarella thing. The finish seems almost a bit hot as well. Not as much umami here as the nose.

Thoughts: This is the magic of Derrumbes. Flavor combinations that we struggle to convey, in balances that grasp us and demand attention. Gorgeous, invigorating spirit.

Conclusion: 7/10. Stunning, truly. A must-try!

Nose: Oh my, that’s characterful and gorgeous. There’s vegetable sweetness, with echoes of baked soft cheeses, nut butters, maple wood, and apricot jam. Such an array of flavors all tied together so well. There’s almost some notes of sorghum in a manner that make me think of a very friendly baijiu; green peas, dried mushroom.
Palate: Good entry, swells beautifully into complex agave notes that slowly fade with traces of oak smoke, black pepper, and that kinda baked mozarella thing. The fi

Read more
BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote 2, 46.15%
Blend of A. montana, A. funkiana, A. univittata, A. americana

Nose: Grappa-like: licorice, grape must, green stems, dill pickle, acetone.

Palate: More grape must, joined by kale, daikon, sweet peppers, kimchi, a bit of mango and other tropical fruit I can’t place. Medium body.

Finish: Muted at first, with more grape skins, tarragon, and carrot. Develops into roasted poblano, milk chocolate, cooked agave and light smoke. Medium-long length.

To me, this is the most unusual profile of the Derrumbes lineup, it reminds me of a well-made grappa.

Lote 2, 46.15%
Blend of A. montana, A. funkiana, A. univittata, A. americana
Nose: Grappa-like: licorice, grape must, green stems, dill pickle, acetone.
Palate: More grape must, joined by kale, daikon, sweet peppers, kimchi, a bit of mango and other tropical fruit I can’t place. Medium body.
Finish: Muted at first, with more grape skins, tarragon, and carrot. Develops into roasted poblano, milk chocolate, cooked agave and light smoke. Medium-long length.
To me, this is the most unusual profi

Read more
Ravi

Ravi

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote 4, 06/18 46.1%. Earth, green vegetation, peppery and leathery on the nose with some sour notes, with marshmallow sweetness. The palate is very sweet at first, followed by the earthyness, vegetation and a smack in the face of black and green pepper and spice, like munching on fresh mustard greens. Full and oily mouthfeel with the alcohol and spice lasting a long time. Punchy and tasty stuff. 4*

Mezcalito

Mezcalito

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I just tried this at a local mezcal bar, I said I was looking for a leathery rich mezcal and I got poured derrumbes Tamaulipas, it was exactly what I was hoping for, slight citrus notes and pepper were also present. Really good!

Jonny

Jonny

418 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 3. Fecha 9/16. Bottle 642/1150. 46.15%. Super peppery aromas. The nose is full of green peppers and mustard greens. The palate mostly follows suit with the nose, lots vegetables. Medium palate.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

New batch bottle I believe featuring Amole & Americana agaves. If someone could clarify?
Lote: 3 Bottle: 83/650 Date: 10/17
48%

Initial nose of burnt orange rind, cotton candy and a perfumey agave mulch.
The expected sweetness was there with an angustora like bitterness and oranges clinging to the top of the mouth. It also finishes sweetly wth the orange which is very much welcomed with an oily candy necklace lining(you know the sweets). Long lasting and satisfying. Top!
4.5**

My final bottle of the current Durrumbes range, though I’d like to try other batches.

New batch bottle I believe featuring Amole & Americana agaves. If someone could clarify?
Lote: 3 Bottle: 83/650 Date: 10/17
48%
Initial nose of burnt orange rind, cotton candy and a perfumey agave mulch.
The expected sweetness was there with an angustora like bitterness and oranges clinging to the top of the mouth. It also finishes sweetly wth the orange which is very much welcomed with an oily candy necklace lining(you know the sweets). Long lasting and satisfying. Top!
4.5**
My final bottl

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

391 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Never had mezcal from Tamaulipas.. until now. This interesting ensamble has flavors of cotton candy, orange peel, sugar water, and sweet pickled carrots. I’ve had it a few times and both experiences were quite different but both equally enjoyable. These notes are from the most recent taste.

Keith

Keith

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 1, btl 100/1000, date 9/16, 52.3% ABV, Cuauthemoc Jacquez. What’s this smell? What’s that taste? Mezcales from Northern Mexico tend to elicit a Zen-Like state of mind for me, so I prefer to accept rather than define the experience. However, since this is a place for reviews, I’ll share that I like it very much and I think it is very good.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

111 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

this is an excellent mezcal!it is very strong but not harsh.at 52 %,a little goes a long way.this was my first experience with agave funkiana and univittata.it is very delicious and very compact.the first impression is sweet with some tart fruit notes.mid way opens up to savory salty mucho agave.the real suprise was a flavor of cheese on the finish.it all ties together in a beautiful unique way.it is bursting with bold flavor.be careful with this one because it will go straight to the brain!i would give this one 4 and a half stars!

this is an excellent mezcal!it is very strong but not harsh.at 52 %,a little goes a long way.this was my first experience with agave funkiana and univittata.it is very delicious and very compact.the first impression is sweet with some tart fruit notes.mid way opens up to savory salty mucho agave.the real suprise was a flavor of cheese on the finish.it all ties together in a beautiful unique way.it is bursting with bold flavor.be careful with this one because it will go straight to the brain!i wo

Read more
Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top