Powered by 100% agave

Derrumbes Zacatecas

Derrumbes Zacatecas is a rare traditionally produced mezcal made with blue agave, which is more widely known for it’s use in tequila.

Rating: (19 reviews)
Brand:Derrumbes Mezcal
NOM:NOM-F283D
Mezcalero:Jaime Bañuelos
Maguey:Azul
Agave:Tequilana
Milling:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Aged in Glass, Joven
State:Zacatecas
Town:Huitzila
ABV: 48%
Website: http://mezcalderrumbes.mx/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Derrumbes Zacatecas is made with agave Tequilana Weber, which is also commonly known as blue or azul agave. This agave is well known for it’s use in tequila, and the town of Huitzila, Zacatecas, where this mezcal is made, is very close to the Tequila Valley.  The town is more well-known for mezcals that are made in a similar style of tequila, but the Bañuelos family, who produce this Derrumbes mezcal, is one of the only regional distillers producing traditional mezcals. This mezcal is pit roasted, tahona milled, and traditionally fermented in stainless steel vats and distilled in copper stills.

Derrumbes Mezcal

From Oaxaca to Michoacan and beyond, Derrumbes bottles many varieties of mezcal that are made using different agave and production methods. They have spirits from different states in Mexico, and they bottle some very small producers that are not available elsewhere.

Member rating

3.21 out of 5

19 reviews

Bunntender

Bunntender

17 reviews
Rated 0.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

I love mezcal but I strongly dislike tequila. In one of bars I visited I saw a bottle of Derrumbes in colour I didn’t try yet. I ordered before bartender could warn me and I didn’t look at the bottle before trying. It was the first mezcal ever that didn’t taste good for me. Smells like tequila even. If you are like me and dislike tequila, don’t waste your time on this one.

Jam

Jam

156 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lote 12, 12/21 production date, 44.8% abv

Review #45: Lime, minerals, and vanilla are present on the nose and transfer to the palate, then there’s sugar, icing, white chocolate, a touch of butytic acid, and sweet potato.

This is much like a very good tequila. It has that range of familiar tequila sweetness to it and I would probably guess it was in a blind. The only thing marking this as different is that white chocolate/butyric note along with the sweet potatoes. If I wanted a mezcal, I wouldn’t necessarily reach for this. But if I wanted tequila (but not really), this is an easy pick.

Lote 12, 12/21 production date, 44.8% abv
Review #45: Lime, minerals, and vanilla are present on the nose and transfer to the palate, then there’s sugar, icing, white chocolate, a touch of butytic acid, and sweet potato.
This is much like a very good tequila. It has that range of familiar tequila sweetness to it and I would probably guess it was in a blind. The only thing marking this as different is that white chocolate/butyric note along with the sweet potatoes. If I wanted a mezcal, I w

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I may have palenque-bias, or in this case taberna-bias, on this one as I had the opportunity to visit the Bañuelos family in Zacatecas last year. The nose on this is heavy with those classic tequila -esque aromas of blue webber agave, raw minerals, sea salt, and some light flowers. The palate is thick with notes of dry grass, wet clay, rubber, and black pepper. Lot 12. Bottle 44/1350.

Sverhage

Sverhage

7 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars1 year ago

simple. not complex. pretty ordinary. I agree w other reviews it tastes more like tequila not mezcal. buy again- no.

Forpowder

Forpowder

96 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote A10 bottle 560T year 03/21 45.0% Aromas out of the bottle are soft ripe cheese and alcohol. Spritzy sour green pepper and cola lightly sour kind of plastic flavors on the exhale. Soft overripe aloe fishey. My least favorite from Derrumbes so far.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Wouldn’t really guess this to be a Mezcal if it wasn’t labeled as one. A really good Tequila-esque spirit. Pepper and agave forward. A very, very light smoke.

James Christian

James Christian

46 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

4 stars for being the mezcal that to me has the most “Cooked agave” profile out there for the price. Lot 11 – 06/21
.
Stewed agave and green pepper, very very vegetal with a lingering funk on the finish. For the price, I always have it on my shelf. Believe it or not, it also pairs VERY well with a splash of whiskey aged in Sherry barrels. try it!

GazoGypsy

GazoGypsy

1 review
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

I cannot give any high quality artisanal product less than 4 stars. As a Mezcal I would almost give this 3 stars but as a blanco tequila 5+!

I agree with most of the tasting notes below. To me this is closer to Don Julio Blanco than most mezcals. It does have enough smoke to call it a mezcal, but if mazcal and tequila had a baby this woulds be it!

After reading the back story of where this is produced, on the border of agave valley, it paints a broader picture of what this is …an amazing agave liquor that is a joy to drink.

Flavor is thin as most blancos are, but it does have that long lingering kiss of smoke and sweet green grassy note that sets this drink apart.

I cannot give any high quality artisanal product less than 4 stars. As a Mezcal I would almost give this 3 stars but as a blanco tequila 5+!
I agree with most of the tasting notes below. To me this is closer to Don Julio Blanco than most mezcals. It does have enough smoke to call it a mezcal, but if mazcal and tequila had a baby this woulds be it!
After reading the back story of where this is produced, on the border of agave valley, it paints a broader picture of what this is …an amazin

Read more
CasaDeGuero

CasaDeGuero

21 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Quality, inoffensive, but truly nothing special. A bit thin on the tongue.

4 of 4 tried at Limantour.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

542 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lote: A7 (02/2020) Botella: 480
Nose – A halved pink grapefruit with a bit of sugar sprinkled on it. A wet salamander. A nice roast on the tequilana agave – a slight funk to it.

Palate – Mouthfeel is pretty thin. Magic marker. Well salted. Quite the amount of hickory smoke in the finish which is a somewhat rough (a bit burnt and tinny). At certain points an ethanol burn pops up.

HighWine

HighWine

76 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Pretty harsh on the nose. First takeaway was burnt rubber. Upon further inspection I pick up aromas of circus peanut candy and nail polish remover. Taste is better than the nose but that burnt rubber characteristic remains. There is a pleasant sweetness and cured green olive component to the flavor that is quite enjoyable. The mouthfeel is full and syrupy which is the best quality of this quaff. Alcohol heat sticks around for a few moments before fading away which is admirable given the ABV. I’m going to leave a little bit of this in the glass overnight and see if the astringent flavors and aromas fade, but as it stands, I’m rating this as-is as I do with other pours. If an edit is warranted, I’ll amend the review.

Pretty harsh on the nose. First takeaway was burnt rubber. Upon further inspection I pick up aromas of circus peanut candy and nail polish remover. Taste is better than the nose but that burnt rubber characteristic remains. There is a pleasant sweetness and cured green olive component to the flavor that is quite enjoyable. The mouthfeel is full and syrupy which is the best quality of this quaff. Alcohol heat sticks around for a few moments before fading away which is admirable given the AB

Read more
AndrewT

AndrewT

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

White chocolate with cinnamon/baking spices on the nose. Olives/brine on the palate. Good holiday spirit. Long finish which is not the best.

tallchad

tallchad

111 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Soft and less smoke than most mescals on the aroma. Good, oily mouthfeel with cut grass and earth tastes. The finish surprises with a burst of pepper and mild heat. It lingers for a while…in a good way. Really good and easy to drink. The way tequila used to be made.

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

So interesting to smell blue weber agave but not as Tequila proper. Tons and tons of mineral notes, and a light green vegetal sweetness that reminds me of the tequilas I love but ultimately I can’t draw and immediate comparisons to a particular tequila profile. It’s a little more metallic, minty, yeasty than many. Some light summer squash, saltwater taffy, and Triscuits.

Palate: A little plasticy on the entry, and with soapy green notes that remind me of Ivory. Maybe that’s just a weird mental association, but I’m not particularly loving it. The finish is staying, and similarly plastic driven. The midpalate maintains some interesting salty and Blue Weber notes with a cucumber freshness and cilantro.

Thoughts: I think a better batch of this would be really fun. Dial down the plastic, and up the sweetness, and I’d make cocktails with this all the time.

I’d still recommend trying this at a bar, or looking out for better received batches.

So interesting to smell blue weber agave but not as Tequila proper. Tons and tons of mineral notes, and a light green vegetal sweetness that reminds me of the tequilas I love but ultimately I can’t draw and immediate comparisons to a particular tequila profile. It’s a little more metallic, minty, yeasty than many. Some light summer squash, saltwater taffy, and Triscuits.
Palate: A little plasticy on the entry, and with soapy green notes that remind me of Ivory. Maybe that’s just a weird me

Read more
BartFargo

BartFargo

21 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lote 3, 47.1%

Nose: Mixed berry jam, pine wood, celery, brine, glazed carrot, peanut, prosciutto, light smoke.

Palate: Sweet and lightly floral, with raspberry, papaya, rosewater, sugarcane syrup, and a bit of chalk. Medium-thin body.

Finish: Cooked agave and alcoholic heat, with touches of ginger, spinach, smoked citrus, paper, and a mild grassy bitterness. Medium length.

Vernal and savory on the nose and finish, though the palate is fruity. Its freshness would pair well with food.

Lote 3, 47.1%
Nose: Mixed berry jam, pine wood, celery, brine, glazed carrot, peanut, prosciutto, light smoke.
Palate: Sweet and lightly floral, with raspberry, papaya, rosewater, sugarcane syrup, and a bit of chalk. Medium-thin body.
Finish: Cooked agave and alcoholic heat, with touches of ginger, spinach, smoked citrus, paper, and a mild grassy bitterness. Medium length.
Vernal and savory on the nose and finish, though the palate is fruity. Its freshness would pair well with food.

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

421 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

This is what tequila could be like if the piñas were roasted, crushed, and wild fermented instead of steamed, shredded, extracted, and fermented with cultured yeast. The nose is obviously blue agave, like tequila but more floral and complex. The taste is like tequila but more grassy, fruity, and complex. Really interesting. I like it!

AgaveNerd101

AgaveNerd101

7 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Overwhelmingly vegetal and savory. On the nose, almost resembles a dirty martini, with almost a celery, sea salt and olive brine bouquet. Very interesting and complex.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars6 years ago

From Mezcal Masterclass – Espadin at Todos Santos.

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Super fresh on the nose, springy, not overly perfumed. Long grass and blackberries. It was a lot lighter in both taste and smell then the ABV would possibly suggest. A lot of depth in the flavour, with a light and fairly thin mouthfeel.
A pleasant taste of sour grapefruit, hickory and some sulphur like minerals. A rounded mouthfeel and a fresh grassy finish. Enjoyable and pleasant, a winner to show the difference in regional agave.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top