Powered by 100% agave

La Medida Tobala

La Medida Tobala varies by release. Check your bottle for specific details.

About this mezcal

La Medida Tobala is made with agave Tobala which is harvested from a wild, jungle environment. This agave is harvested at 1,900 meters above sea level. It’s traditionally produced in San Dionisio Ocotepec, Tlacolula de Matamoros, Oaxaca.

La Medida Mezcal

Mezcales La Medida brings together more than 46 Oaxacan producers. Their mezcal is made in small palenques with over 450 years of tradition and culture. The brand is run by Julián Vidal Gómez Rodríguez, who began working with mezcal over 40 years ago. Throughout his career he has worked with brands like Monte Alban, Benevá, and Del Maguey. He focuses heavily on mezcal's mysticism and the traditional production methods that have been used for hundreds of years. Some of their mezcal is certified, while other releases go by "aguardiente de agave." Each batch is different. Check your bottles for details.

7 reviews

3.36 out of 5


t8ke

t8ke

88 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch SBG-T1903US

Powerful and complex on the palate. Sweet cream, blueberries and raspberry, some cotton candy and light ash. Faint bubble gum note, here along with some banana. Light mineral smoke and some pepper.

I’m a really big fan of this Tobala. It’s excellent when you consider the complexity, enticing fruit character and competent balance between sweet and smoky. Well done.

Rakhal

Rakhal

161 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars8 months ago

SBG-T1903. Cloyingly sweet. Orange marmalade and corn syrup. Way too sweet for me. Slight chemical taste.

AndreAbiRamia

AndreAbiRamia

6 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Lote: SBG – T1803M
Aggressive alcohol on the nose, a little bit of mineral, smokiness and (burnt rubber?). Goes a little bit herbal, petrol and sweet. Retro sweet and aggressive alcohol again.

TomFord

TomFord

1 review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Incredibly fruity and summery Mezcal. Very well balanced and again – so fragrant !

Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

As I drank this tobala I started to enjoy it more. Initially it reminded me on an Espandin but became sweeter, and picked up gingery and clove like notes. Still found it to be abit prickly and with a minerally sourness, becoming earthy in the finish. A burnt wood, meadowy smell to it which is pleasant.

KaySmith

KaySmith

8 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tobala has a gorgeously smooth and crisp taste with balanced smoke, very gentle on the palate with a lingering taste of minerality that reminds of wet clay. Absolutely delicious and my favourite of the range!

Jonny

Jonny

418 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Went to the La Medida bar in Oaxaca and they only had two La Medida mezcals available, which is weird. I would have though they’d have a lot more. I tried Lot TE-1401. It was super light and thin but drinkable. Heavily perfumed with notes of orange and peanut oil.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top