Powered by 100% agave

Leyenda Cenizo (Durango)

Leyenda Durango has floral aromas that mix with leather and wet clay. The flavor is buttery with notes of coriander and fruit.

About this mezcal

Leyenda Durango is made by mezcalero Ventura Gallegos, whose family has been producing mezcal for many generations.  This mezcal is part of a co-op of mezcal producers, in a town called Nombre de Dios. This mezcal has floral aromas that mix with leather and wet clay.  The flavor is buttery with notes of coriander and fruit. This is a display of the agave’s terroir, which includes almost desert like conditions where the agave grows among lava rocks.

Leyendas Mezcal

Mezcal de Leyendas (previously labeled as Mezcales de Leyenda) believes they can improve some of the most marginalized communities in Mexico. They implement the best fair trade practices where they work, and they have many efforts in agave sustainability. Their mezcals come from the different mezcal-producing states. They also have some special edition, small-batch mezcals. The brand also releases the Pelotón de la Muerte line of mezcals.

In 2021, the brand (under Artisanal Distillates, LLC) raised money via the StartEngine platform at a $32.7 million pre-money valuation.

15 reviews

3.67 out of 5

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars10 months ago

Fruit and mineral nose, touch of vinegar.
Palate is light and buttery with tropical fruit, black pepper, hint of salinity and a smokey tail.
Enjoyable.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

369 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars10 months ago

LOTE: DMRL0119
Nose: Blackberry yogurt. The slightest hint of blue cheese but not as funky as other cenizos I’ve tried.

Palate: Big initial hit of deer jerky. Minty, sweet milk. Buttered popcorn. Finish is a bit creamy, a bit meaty with an aftertaste of light smoke and thyme.

This comes in at 3.75 but I rounded up because it has a lot of great stuff going on that shouldn’t work but do.

Safetyline29

Safetyline29

8 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This mezcal from Durango is light, creamy with hints of salted butter and caramel. It has a hints of fresh cut cilantro stems, malted vinegar and circus peanuts. It has a very complex makeup which took a few sips to understand. I know the mezcal from Durango and this particular one is one of the better and shiny expressions i have tried from this NOM. I encourage anyone to try!

ElAgave

ElAgave

34 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose: herbal, earthy, asparagus, minerals
Palate: earth, clay, minerals, lime rind
Finish: cigar smoke, wet clay, wet leaves

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

134 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

This one is by far the best from the Leyenda sample pack I tried. Great smell with some sweet, vegetal, & cream funk. Greenish notes along with jalapeno on the taste. Great balance of smoke and bite at the end. Very surprised! 3.75
Lote: DMRL1119
Review #47

SoloAgave

SoloAgave

85 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Silky smooth and sweet with definite floral notes. Lingers just long enough – my first Cenizo ever and I still remember it. Sometimes when I go back I get a faint hit of BBQ sauce but this is a complex offering and you’ll find something new every time you take a sip.

tallchad

tallchad

37 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Virtually tasted with Steven from San Diego Tahona Bar. Good. Sweet with butter aftertastes. Smooth.

Eagleeye

Eagleeye

5 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Creamy Butter. Finished the bottle and already missing it. This was a nice soft treat.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot SFDR1702L2616. Jeez! Longest Lot number ever! Roasted chapulines, pound cake, cinnamon, peppermint candy, anise, banana bread, and rosewater. I dig it.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Another from the Leyenda sampler pack. Wild Cupreata.

Tasts of tropical fruit, roasted agave, brine, papaya

Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I find this Mezcal to be an interesting experience everytime. I always get this excitement when the first floral notes hit my tongue. Then after only a few seconds you get into the earthiness and rustic territory which doesn’t last at all to end on a leathery and animal kind of feeling.
Completely unique, I’d give it 3 stars for the taste only. But the fact that this calls for trying it again and again and that unique feeling of tasting something special makes me give it a 4.

I find this Mezcal to be an interesting experience everytime. I always get this excitement when the first floral notes hit my tongue. Then after only a few seconds you get into the earthiness and rustic territory which doesn’t last at all to end on a leathery and animal kind of feeling.
Completely unique, I’d give it 3 stars for the taste only. But the fact that this calls for trying it again and again and that unique feeling of tasting something special makes me give it a 4.

Read more
Tomixology

Tomixology

17 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Im a fan of Cenizo, I like the often fruit forward and sweeter notes that it gives to a mezcal. I think that this mescal is a great showcase of those flavours and I quite enjoyed it.
The nose and a salty touch reminiscent of the sea, which is fun coming from a landlocked region, met with fruity flora. The palate was smooth with a light coriander pepper (Or is that the Taco El Pastor?), a warming peatiness, wrapped in a silky mouthfeel that really covers the tongue. It finishes much sweeter with a Honeycomb, similar to other Cenizos tried from the region.

My sweet tooth is often my downfall when it comes to spirits…Enjoyed

Im a fan of Cenizo, I like the often fruit forward and sweeter notes that it gives to a mezcal. I think that this mescal is a great showcase of those flavours and I quite enjoyed it.
The nose and a salty touch reminiscent of the sea, which is fun coming from a landlocked region, met with fruity flora. The palate was smooth with a light coriander pepper (Or is that the Taco El Pastor?), a warming peatiness, wrapped in a silky mouthfeel that really covers the tongue. It finishes much sweeter with

Read more
LosMuertos

LosMuertos

33 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Quite aromatic and floral. Black berry, banana, black pepper, molten leafs and dried meat. White chocolate and violets on the palate. Quite complex even though it’s not my personal favourite.

Scent: 3/5
Mouthfeel: 3/5

Tyler

Tyler

528 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Fruity on the nose, this mezcal from Durango is different than what you’ll taste from Oaxaca. It’s a very light mezcal on the palate with notes of honey, butter, fruit, rosewater, and citrus.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Somewhat buttery with notes of sour apples and vinegar on the nose. The mezcal is light and easy to drink. It doesn’t linger too long. Its buttery taste is signature for this region and is enjoyable. There’s a subtle saltiness that I also enjoy in this mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top