Powered by 100% agave

Maguey Melate Jabali – Ildefonso Macedas Ginez

Maguey Melate Jabali from Ildefonso Macedas Ginez was originally released as the August 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit.

Rating: (9 reviews)
Category:Destilado de Agave
Brand:Maguey Melate
Mezcalero:Ildefonso Macedas Ginez
Maguey:Jabali
Agave:Convallis
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Caltepec
ABV: 56.8%
Age of plant: 8-9 years
Release year: 2022
Website: https://www.magueymelate.com/, opens in new window

About this destilado de agave

Maguey Melate Jabali from Ildefonso Macedas Ginez was originally released as the August 2022 Mezcalero of the Month Club agave spirit. This spirit was produced in the town of Atolotitlan, Caltepec in the state of Puebla. This community has a long history with maguey Jabali, but Ildefonso is one of the first producers in this area to make mezcal with it. Previously, the Jabali’s flowers were eaten as a source of food for well over 100 years.

Maguey Melate

Maguey Melate was founded on two ideas: 1) Artisanal agave spirits are amazing and should be shared with the world, and 2) The faster-cheaper economy is a harmful force for people, the environment, and now agave spirits.

They believe if mezcal (and agave spirits) can be understood and appreciated at its full potential, people will show their preference for quality artisanal mezcal that is sustainably and fairly sourced. By raising consumer consciousness on the origins of mezcal and educating enthusiasts on matters of quality and character, informed people will be empowered to ensure the future of mezcal. To do this, they’re reaching a large audience with an impactful message: KEEP MEZCAL ARTISANAL!

Maguey Melate is perhaps most well-known for their Mezcalero of the Month Club, which delivers artisanal small-batch agave spirits directly to the doors of consumers in the US and Mexico. In addition to the monthly spirits, they offer exclusive content and interviews with producers. Single releases are also available in the Maguey Melate shop.

9 reviews

4.39 out of 5

tallchad

tallchad

70 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 days ago

Incredible mezcal! This one is more advanced, and for special occasions when you want to blow someone away with the increíble complexity. Sensational!
The aroma starts with light perfume/floral, some charred pine, rock and tart lime. One of the best aromas in an agave spirit.
Taste is magnificent with dark earth, mint, spicy pine needles and red hot candy sizzle.
The finish is good and long, although slightly bitter and finishes with light sweetness.
The 56.1 % abv is barely noticed behind all of the sensational aromas and flavors. Más por favor!

Incredible mezcal! This one is more advanced, and for special occasions when you want to blow someone away with the increíble complexity. Sensational!
The aroma starts with light perfume/floral, some charred pine, rock and tart lime. One of the best aromas in an agave spirit.
Taste is magnificent with dark earth, mint, spicy pine needles and red hot candy sizzle.
The finish is good and long, although slightly bitter and finishes with light sweetness.
The 56.1 % abv is barely noticed behind a

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

373 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Maguey Melate finally getting on track with these

Manning

Manning

12 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Batch ILD-JAB-001. 56.1% abv.
Incredible aroma of sandlewood and collard greens with some vanilla and orange in the background.
Taste has turnip greens, cedar, chocolate croissant, allspice, and so many complex flavors.
Overall I love how different this is than anything else I’ve ever tried. It’s one of the most complex but well balanced mezcals. 9/10

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

170 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Delicious smell and first taste. Love the 56%…a good jabali is a great jabali. I always get some notes of butterscotch and sweet vanilla cookies. Vegetal and nutty. Solid Melate offering, and probably only gets docked as it’s companion bottle (barril) was even better. 4.25 stars.

JRock

JRock

2 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

ILD-JAB-001

The nose smells like my boots after a walk in the chaparral; sage and lemon verbena with an undertone of earth and leather. Soft initial flavors of sandalwood, incense, and very perfumey. Those then dissipate as a more assertive lingering finish comes on. Much sterner flavors to my tongue; menthol, woody, and a metallic note that made me think of drinking water out of a metal canteen when I was younger.

Very complex; it’s hard to pin this one down because there’s so much going on…in a good way.

ILD-JAB-001
The nose smells like my boots after a walk in the chaparral; sage and lemon verbena with an undertone of earth and leather. Soft initial flavors of sandalwood, incense, and very perfumey. Those then dissipate as a more assertive lingering finish comes on. Much sterner flavors to my tongue; menthol, woody, and a metallic note that made me think of drinking water out of a metal canteen when I was younger.
Very complex; it’s hard to pin this one down because there’s so m

Read more
Azi

Azi

31 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Raw potatoes, haruki turnips, freshly cut timber, lardo, butter crackers.
There’s something special yet easy going with this one.

More high proof mezcal. WOW. and the mouth feel is off the charts good!

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

497 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch: ILD-JAB-001
Nose – Rolling tobacco. Raw root vegetables. Celery leaf. Animal crackers. Coconut water. Orchids. Crazy mix of aromas.

Palate – Starts with a very potent burst of flavors. Quite wood (fresh cut, mossy oak) forward throughout. Toasted parm cheese. All spice. Eucalyptus. Cedar ember and Japanese tea in the finish & aftertaste. There’s plenty to this ride, this is going to be a great bottle to enjoy and see how/if the flavors develop.

Rakhal

Rakhal

382 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 months ago

ILD-JAB-001. Even after all these years I never cease to be amazed by the seemingly infinite range of flavors that can come out of Agave. This is an incredibly complex Mezcal and tastes nothing like any other Jabali I’ve tasted before. This Mezcal is intensely aromatic, both in smell and in taste. I taste a ton of wood flavors. Somehow this tastes like an Armagnac that had rested in new oak for decades until it became sharply tannic and then reduced until it was highly concentrated. Wow!! These aren’t actually my favorite flavors and I doubt I’ll finish this one quickly but it’s so complex and interesting that I’m glad I have it. Also I can totally see myself growing to love this. Besides the Armagnac notes I get pine cleaner, sandalwood, menthol, new car smell, oak tannins, vinyl upholstery, fabric softener, and dried oregano. I freaking love the Maguey Melate Mezcal Club, keep these unique Mezcals coming!!!

ILD-JAB-001. Even after all these years I never cease to be amazed by the seemingly infinite range of flavors that can come out of Agave. This is an incredibly complex Mezcal and tastes nothing like any other Jabali I’ve tasted before. This Mezcal is intensely aromatic, both in smell and in taste. I taste a ton of wood flavors. Somehow this tastes like an Armagnac that had rested in new oak for decades until it became sharply tannic and then reduced until it was highly concentrated. Wow!! Thes

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

607 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Batch ILD-JAB-001. Highly floral on the nose. Aromas of coconut, rose water, cloves, vanilla, oranges, baked goods, and jasmine. There’s also this masculine undertone to the nose, smelling like a fresh aftershave. The nose on this is fantastic, ever-evolving, and robust. The palate is a bit vegetative, a little woody, and slightly caramelized. Notes of toasted fennel, honey, butterscotch, brown sugar, green tea, eucalyptus, green pepper, and cedar. This is the most dynamic Jabali I’ve tasted in a very long time (if not ever). This is also much more mellow than the 56.8% ABV had me expecting, but I also generally love +50% mezcal. This is absolutely phenomenal.

Batch ILD-JAB-001. Highly floral on the nose. Aromas of coconut, rose water, cloves, vanilla, oranges, baked goods, and jasmine. There’s also this masculine undertone to the nose, smelling like a fresh aftershave. The nose on this is fantastic, ever-evolving, and robust. The palate is a bit vegetative, a little woody, and slightly caramelized. Notes of toasted fennel, honey, butterscotch, brown sugar, green tea, eucalyptus, green pepper, and cedar. This is the most dynamic Jabali I’v

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top