Powered by 100% agave

Mezcalero No. 16

Mezcalero No. 16 was made from agave Madre-Cuishe. This is another beautifully distilled Mezcal from Don Valente Angel.

Rating: (11 reviews)
Brand:Mezcalero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O14X
Mezcalero:Don Valente Angel García
Agave:Madre-Cuishe
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Maria La Pila
ABV: 47.2%
Batch size: 1,308 bottles
Release year: 2016
Website: http://alipususa.com/mezcalero/info
About this mezcal

Mezcalero No. 16 was made with semi-wild agave Madre-Cuishe, and it was distilled by Don Valente Angel in Santa Maria Pila. The Madre-Cuishe has high acidity, and therefore creates great structure and clarity of flavor in the Mezcal. This is another beautifully distilled Mezcal from Don Valente Angel. There are notes of softly roasted agave, subtle fruit, and minerality that meet a lively herbaceousness. The liquid coats the mouth. This Mezcal has a vegetal foundation and hints of soft smoke. The flavors are deep and lingering.

Mezcalero Mezcal

Each Mezcalero bottling is true to the fundamental batch nature of artisan Mezcal production. Each bottling is distilled from a single integral batch of agaves that are at least 50% wild or semi-wild, and usually 100%. These “silvestre” agaves take a lot of work to harvest: searching for days in the mountains, packing the agaves back on burros. After that, it takes a month of continuous labor to produce a single batch of Mezcalero, usually 600-700 bottles. Mezcalero is both a brand and an intention. The brand is a way for talented artisan distillers to work with, and gain part of their livelihood from, some very special agaves. The intention goes deeper: to help preserve a way of distilling that is also a way of life, deeply linked to the distiller’s family, to his social environs, to his pueblo, to an entire way of life largely deriving from indigenous culture that is at risk of rapid deterioration under pressure from the modernization of Mexico.

11 reviews

4.7 of out 5 stars


7 months ago

Herbaceous and vegetal and absolutely delicious.

Cortez

Cortez

12 reviews
7 months ago

Yum! I’m a fan of madres and this is up there with the best of them. Very easy to drink. I get a lot of earthiness and tree fruits. Finish reminds me a fresh sourdough.

Rakhal

Rakhal

104 reviews
8 months ago

Wow!! Very floral. Like a fruit orchard in bloom. Something savory as well, like brown butter popcorn. This is the first offering I’ve tried from this brand and if they are all like this I’m going to be searching out the others! I need to find myself a bottle of this!

COak

COak

67 reviews
10 months ago

Tried this at a bar and it’s wonderful, one of the best mezcaleros and madre cuixe I’ve tried. Will be looking to pick up a bottle.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

135 reviews
1 year ago

Underrated. My favorite from Mezcalero. Maybe more so than #2. Unbelievable nose and a full bodied punch packed with fruit, earth, campfire, spice, and even, dare I say, masa. Cant believe there are still bottles of this sitting on shelves at certain places

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
1 year ago

one of my favorite mezcales. beautifully finessed. musty n dusty, ripe fruit, vibrant acidity, clean agave, rich minerality, and a pinch of salt, all in perfect harmony. ambrosial.

Joseph

Joseph

22 reviews
3 years ago

I’ve tried four of Don Valente’s mezcals, which to me all have a very similar underlying character that I’m very fond of. This could be my favorite. I don’t have a bottle yet, so I’m only going on a tasting, but it’s gorgeous. The first words that come to mind when tasting are clouds, angels, and bubblegum. It is soft, velvety, and round. Floral with mild minerality. Beautiful.

Keith

Keith

33 reviews
3 years ago

Grapefruit and mineral salt on the nose, mineral notes continue to the palate, it has a light body with alcohol sizzle and flavor of unripe Carambola, an underpinning of mild smoke, and nuanced agave sweetness on the finish. I enjoy this mescal, but it lacks wow-factor(s).

Tyler

Tyler

325 reviews
3 years ago

Floral orange-blossom notes on the nose. Velvet mouthfeel. Don Valente’s signature minerality is present on the palate with refined flavors of berry, mint, caramel, pepper, and oak. One of my favorite mezcals from one of my favorite mezcaleros. A must-try mezcal, especially for madre cuishe fans.

Jonny

Jonny

341 reviews
3 years ago

One of my favorite mezcals. This is super vegetal in aroma and taste. It’s herbal and rich with notes of ash, green grass, smoked apricot, mango, and clove. The mouthfeel is textured and velvety. This is another incredible Mezcal from Don Valente Angel. It’s one of his best and it’s limited as a one-time release.

3chainz

3chainz

19 reviews
3 years ago

Perfecting balanced all the way through. Herbal and sharp. One you want to keep pouring

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top