Powered by 100% agave

Real Minero Tobala

The Real Minero Tobala is spicier than other Tobala Mezcals, but not overly so. It has hints of chipotle, coconut, and orange.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Brand:Real Minero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O37X
Mezcalero:Don Lorenzo Angeles, Edgar Angeles
Agave:Tobala
Distillation:Clay Pot
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santa Catarina Minas
ABV: 50%
Age of plant: 12 years
Website: http://realminero.com.mx/
About this mezcal

Real Minero Tobala is made with semi-wild agave Tobala. This agave is a much smaller agave with broader leaves meaning that many more plants need to be harvested to make a Mezcal batch. It takes about eight piñas of Tobala to equal one piña of a cultivated agave Espadin. The Real Minero Tobala is spicier than other Tobala Mezcals, but not overly so. It has hints of chipotle, coconut, and orange. These bottles can be very hard to find. If you see one, you should probably try it.

Real Minero Mezcal

Real Minero is considered one of the world's finest Mezcal producers. The family has been making mezcal for several generations in Santa Catarina Minas, and they're known both in Mexico and abroad for creating some of the best bottles available. All of their mezcal is made in small clay pot stills, and almost all of it is rested in glass for several months before bottling, giving the mezcal a much softer character. Outside of creating great spirits, they also have one of the largest and most diverse sustainable agave reforestation programs. With the help of the community, they've been able to rescue several agave varieties that were previously thought to be extinct. The ABV of each batch may vary slightly, so check your bottle for details.

Read more about our visit to the Real Minero Agave Nursery and Palenque Tour.

6 reviews

4.4 of out 5 stars


Jonny

Jonny

323 reviews
7 months ago

RMT-04. Bottle 120/360 from 2016. Very bright and fragrant. Aromas of fresh peanuts, smoked Gouda, and palm oil. Tastes incredible! This is light and delicate. Lots of finesse. Palate is musty with notes of ground nuts, potatoes, and refried black beans. This is really a 4.5 out of 5 Stars. If you can find it, you NEED to taste it.

fabiomez

fabiomez

1 review
9 months ago

Wooow this mezcal is like no other , your tastebuds explode with flavor running down your stomach, floral and fruitful taste.

COak

COak

57 reviews
10 months ago

RMT-04, 2016, 51.6%, Don Lorenzo. Reviewing this after opening the bottle in April 2017. A beautiful Tobala, much softer than when I opened it. Taste of Banana, orange, clay finish. Looking forward to trying Edgar’s version some day.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
10 months ago

RMT-02, 2015 harvest, 49.5% abv, don lorenzo angeles mendoza. very autumnal. deep, ripe pears, hint of mulling spices, earthy clay and distant campfire toastiness give the impression of burning leaves. palate is rich, deep, and round in a way that i haven’t had in any other tobala. i imagine that’s the clay influence. it almost tastes like a jabali to me. mineral driven from midpalate into the finish. medicinal at the very end, unfortunately. really good otherwise. finding that i like tobala as part of an ensamble more than on its own.

RMT-02, 2015 harvest, 49.5% abv, don lorenzo angeles mendoza. very autumnal. deep, ripe pears, hint of mulling spices, earthy clay and distant campfire toastiness give the impression of burning leaves. palate is rich, deep, and round in a way that i haven’t had in any other tobala. i imagine that’s the clay influence. it almost tastes like a jabali to me. mineral driven from midpalate into the finish. medicinal at the very end, unfortunately. really good otherwise. finding t

Read more
Aequivinius

Aequivinius

6 reviews
1 year ago

Crazy nose: mashed bananas, juicy smoke like smoked sausages, some vegetal, bitter greenery; all with a subtle, contrasting spiciness akin to yuzu koshō or green chilis. Becomes a bit sharper as it stays in the glass, and some vanillated mint coming forth. Very fascinating nose, dominated by fruitiness, spice and juicy smoke.

The mouth however it is quite different, lots of vanilla and a very dominant shortbread note; bright cinnamon, grilled bell peppers; slight meatiness and a mineralic finish, almost like slate Riesling. Quite sweet overall.

(Tasted 10 VI 18 in Old Crow, Zurich. Bottle possibly been open for a year already.)

Crazy nose: mashed bananas, juicy smoke like smoked sausages, some vegetal, bitter greenery; all with a subtle, contrasting spiciness akin to yuzu koshō or green chilis. Becomes a bit sharper as it stays in the glass, and some vanillated mint coming forth. Very fascinating nose, dominated by fruitiness, spice and juicy smoke.
The mouth however it is quite different, lots of vanilla and a very dominant shortbread note; bright cinnamon, grilled bell peppers; slight meatiness and a mineralic finis

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

302 reviews
3 years ago

The first time I tried this mezcal there was vegetal, pear, alcohol on the nose with flavors of cinnamon, fruit, fresh agave, and mint. That batch was strong for my taste. Then I tried Lot 10 from 2010 and was really impressed. It was incredibly smooth with vegetal and earthy aromas and flavors. It has a hint of sweet butter and a fruity finish. That batch was incredible. I think this mezcal benefitted from time in the bottle.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top