Powered by 100% agave

Rey Campero Arroqueno

Rey Campero Arroqueno can be hard to find outside of Mexico. The limited quantities of this agave, means that only small batches can be made.

Rating: (5 reviews)
Brand:Rey Campero Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O185X
Mezcalero:Romulo Sanchez Parada
Maguey:Arroqueño
Agave:Americana
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Candelaria Yegole
Age of plant: 20 years
Website: https://www.mezcalreycampero.com/
About this mezcal

Rey Campero Arroqueno is made from the massive maguey Arroqueno (agave Americana), which can take over 20 years to reach maturity. This mezcal is made by Romulo in Candelaria Yegole. This mezcal is traditionally produced and is only released in limited quantities due to the small supply of maguey Arroqueno. Rey Campero is very conscious of the need to keep this wild agave alive for future generations, so they do not over harvest.

Rey Campero Mezcal

Rey Campero represents the culture, tradition and art of Candelaria Yegolé, a small town in the Southern Highlands of Oaxaca, with a fertile ground on its slopes and canyons. It represents a people dedicated to the production of artisanal Mezcal, so one of its principles is to help producers of maguey, by creating job opportunities, but especially in finding markets for the best Mezcal. Rey Campero, means "King of the Countryside" and it was founded by the maestro mezcalero Romulo Sanchez Parada. Romulo learned how to make mezcal from his father, and he worked in the palenque until age 20. He lived and worked for several years in North Carolina while in his 20s before returning to Oaxaca in 2003. Each lot may vary slightly, so check your bottle for specific details about ABV.

5 reviews

4 out of 5


ptperc

ptperc

10 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

DS002-A May 2017 Bottle 379/480. Much sweeter start than I’ve experienced with most Arroqueños. I thought this may be due to the bottle being freshly opened but after opening up for 10-15min that sweet entrance is still there. Velvety mouthfeel. Faint green vegetal notes, strong guava on the palate. Very approachable I despise this term, but surprisingly “smooth” going down. Only a faint, lingering burn on the side of my palate and roof of my mouth, but none in the throat. Not my favorite Arroqueño but a solid bottling from Maestro Romulo Sanchez Parada.

DS002-A May 2017 Bottle 379/480. Much sweeter start than I’ve experienced with most Arroqueños. I thought this may be due to the bottle being freshly opened but after opening up for 10-15min that sweet entrance is still there. Velvety mouthfeel. Faint green vegetal notes, strong guava on the palate. Very approachable I despise this term, but surprisingly “smooth” going down. Only a faint, lingering burn on the side of my palate and roof of my mouth, but none in the thr

Read more
Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Lot DS002-A, distilled May 2017. It starts out very sweet, in a honey sort of way, and then opens up to vegetal notes. There are also tropical fruit, a whiff of liquorice and some salt. The palate is both hot and light, if that makes any sense. A mezcal that goes in many directions at the same time. A very exciting drink.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

lot D5001-A, Aug ’14, bottle 254/382. waxy orchard fruit and blossoms on the nose. skews tropical asa it sits. pretty significant ethanol presence. bright, fruity, a little salty. nothing distinct but very pleasant. drinks hotter than 48.7%. i based my love of arroqueno off of del maguey’s, and i have to say it’s a weird first impression to have of the agave, as every other arroqueno i’ve tasted is very different to it, and similar amongst each other. assuming it’s the clay.

lot D5001-A, Aug ’14, bottle 254/382. waxy orchard fruit and blossoms on the nose. skews tropical asa it sits. pretty significant ethanol presence. bright, fruity, a little salty. nothing distinct but very pleasant. drinks hotter than 48.7%. i based my love of arroqueno off of del maguey’s, and i have to say it’s a weird first impression to have of the agave, as every other arroqueno i’ve tasted is very different to it, and similar amongst each other. assuming it&

Read more
Tyler

Tyler

428 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lots of earth and agave on the nose. Flavor notes of honey, grape, and wood. Very tasty once you let it open up. The first time I tried this it was overly boozy but this time it has a better balance. The aromas slightly outperform the flavor experience. Additional time in the bottle might enrich the flavors and make it even better. Lot DS001-A from August 2014.

Jonny

Jonny

471 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot DS001-A from August 2014. Bottle 155/382. Sweet on the nose and slightly perfumed. This mezcal is light on the palate with notes of tropical fruit. It’s a bit hot, but a very tasty Arroqueno.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top