Powered by 100% agave


States of Mexico

In 1997, a Denomination of Origin (DO) region for mezcal was created in Mexico. As of 2016, the DO is limited to all or parts of nine Mexican states: Oaxaca, Guerrero, Michoacán, Puebla, Durango, San Luís Potosí, Zacatecas, Guanajuato, and Tamaulipas. To be exported and sold legally as mezcal, the product must come from within the DO region and be certified by the Mezcal Regulatory Council (CRM). More states will likely be added to the DO in the future.

To browse specific areas within the states:

Back to top