Powered by 100% agave

Banhez Espadin & Barril

Banhez Mezcal is comprised of 90% maguey Espadin and 10% maguey Barril. It is mild, floral and fruity with notes of pineapple and banana.

Rating: (27 reviews)
Brand:Banhez Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O96X
Maguey:Barril, Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia, Karwinskii
Distillation:Copper
Style:Ensamble, Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Ejutla
ABV: 42%
Website: https://www.banhezmezcal.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Banhez Mezcal is produced by a co-op families from various villages in the Ejutla district of Oaxaca. They are producing mezcal the same way it’s been done by their ancestors for nearly two centuries using underground wood-fired pits, donkey-pulled tahonas, wooden fermentation tanks, and distillation in copper alembics. At 42% ABV, Banhez Mezcal is perfect for first-time mezcal tasters and works well in cocktails. Banhez Mezcal was the 2017 Double Gold Winner for “Best Mezcal” at the San Francisco World Spirits Competition.

Banhez Mezcal

Banhez Mezcal is a co-operative comprised of 35+ families in the tiny village of San Miguel Ejutla in the central valley of Oaxaca. The Banhez Mezcal co-op is committed to sustainable, fair trade mezcal production the same way it’s been done by their ancestors for nearly two centuries. The Banhez Ensamble is made by the collective and the brand also has single agave varietals produced by a single mezcalero from the co-op.

27 reviews

3.59 out of 5


HighWine

HighWine

58 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 days ago

LOT: BA00028EBA21
84 proof

Nose of peppermint, green hay, and wet clay. Very mild in the mouth but pleasing. Parsley, mint leaf, and seasoned firewood. Oily in the mouth but not overly viscous. Excellent value mezcal and a good one to introduce people to the spirit.

L_Matos44

L_Matos44

3 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

The quality is definitely equivalent to the price. A little fruity, which I like, and the smokey flavor isn’t too overpowering.

ReeBarbill

ReeBarbill

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 weeks ago

Cream soda. Really nice.
Lote: ebj42uk0120 which sounds like a default WiFi password.

jmehrk35

jmehrk35

10 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Lot B005EB4220
42% ABV
Baked tropical fruit, Jasmine, pumpkin, sweet potato and dry oregano on the nose.
Oily mouth feel gives way to minty eucalyptus, melon rind and agave on the flavor. The 10% Barril adds a nice sweetness to this mezcal. An excellent beginner mezcal, a mixer or a “just want to sip and enjoy/drink and not think” mezcal. Should be on every mezcal drinkers shelf.

Firesidesipper

Firesidesipper

32 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 months ago

A smooth, versatile, bargain-priced mezcal. Nice tropical fruit notes with a wisp of smoke. A pleasant sipper that also stands up well in cocktails.

Rorschach

Rorschach

37 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Outstanding value for the money, nuff said!
Watch out for different labels for the same juice.
Lot BA00020EBA21

evanomics

evanomics

3 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Really solid value bottle. Sippable but also goes well in cocktails.

mezcaleena

mezcaleena

4 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

One of my first bottles – great entry into Mezcal, good for easy sipping. Floral, fruity and citrus aroma

juandelouise

juandelouise

5 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

My favorite mezcal for cocktails or something to sip on that’s light. I don’t have a problem with it being 42% and love that style they do in Ejutla. light smoke, banana, pineapple, vegetal.

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

335 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars11 months ago

LOT: B0061EB4220
Nose: Leather. Light smoke. Red apple.

Palate: Smooth entry. Banana cream. Pine needles. Smoky, peppermint as the vapory heat shows up late. Lingering brine aftertaste.

Crazy good for sub-$30 price point.

DavidB

DavidB

6 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I give it 3.5 on the price point! My go-to mezcal for making cocktails. Also pleasant to sip.

Joe

Joe

27 reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Sweet, vaguely fruity, light smoke. Note, this is a blend, made after distillation–different than most ensambles in this way. Somewhat uninteresting, but ok.

tallchad

tallchad

32 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote B0060EB4220.
The front label is crooked. I kind of love that. Handmade all the way to the label. This is a really good Mezcal. And I don’t just mean because it cost $30. It has good flavor, the aroma is not too smoky, and the finish is warm and long and has a great taste of citrus. This is A Mezcal to keep around in your bar. It might even make Mezcal newbies into mezcal lovers.

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

128 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

At 42% a bit on the lighter side, but overall not too bad. As others have pointed out the price tag (~$30) really makes this quality (extra bump in the star rating for that reason). I’ve paid almost double for espadins that really aren’t this good… Light creaminess & welcoming sweetness in the taste (don’t really get any of the pineapple or banana though). Some spice and smoke, both which aren’t overbearing. Doesn’t bother me at all, but doesn’t give me the complexities that we all love with our mezcal.

At 42% a bit on the lighter side, but overall not too bad. As others have pointed out the price tag (~$30) really makes this quality (extra bump in the star rating for that reason). I’ve paid almost double for espadins that really aren’t this good… Light creaminess & welcoming sweetness in the taste (don’t really get any of the pineapple or banana though). Some spice and smoke, both which aren’t overbearing. Doesn’t bother me at all, but doesn’t gi

Read more
Beanbag

Beanbag

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

For $25 this is a really tasty bottle. Tropical fruits, cooked agave, and smoke. This is my first bottle and am able to sit with it over time so I might develop better notes going forward. But for now the fruits, agave, and smoke are what I get throughout the whole pour.

BuffPhysics

BuffPhysics

11 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Mezcal Review #7 – Banhez Ensemble

Agave: 90% Espadin, 10% Barril

Mezcalero: Various

Region: Ejutla

Still Type: Copper Pot

42% ABV

Additional Info: Made by a cooperative of mezcaleros, this bottle has a reputation as a good value. At ~$30/liter, it’s pretty hard to beat! Let’s dive in.

Nose: Cooked agave, white pepper, lime, triple sec. Some smoke – closer to peat than mesquite.

Taste: Drier than most mezcals I’ve had. Nothing really jumps out right away, but then some fruits and smoked meat emerge. Cantaloupe and mint. There’s a hit of white pepper as you swallow. Only thing holding it back is the strength, at 46 percent or so this would be dynamite.

Finish: Turns slightly sweet on the finish. Mineral/clay, some seawater and finally white chocolate.

Notes: This is totally respectable as a sipper. At the price they’re charging you wouldn’t bat an eye at throwing some into a paloma or a margarita, but this would also be an excellent entry for a noobie into mezcal. BIN.

Score: 6/10

1 | Disgusting | So bad I poured it out.

2 | Poor | I wouldn’t consume by choice.

3 | Bad | Multiple flaws.

4 | Sub-par | Not bad, but better exists.

5 | Good | Good, just fine.

6 | Very Good | A cut above.

7 | Great | Well above average

8 | Excellent | Really quite exceptional.

9 | Incredible | An all time favorite

10 | Perfect | Perfect

Next Up: Something from Melate, not sure what yet.

Mezcal Review #7 – Banhez Ensemble
Agave: 90% Espadin, 10% Barril
Mezcalero: Various
Region: Ejutla
Still Type: Copper Pot
42% ABV
Additional Info: Made by a cooperative of mezcaleros, this bottle has a reputation as a good value. At ~$30/liter, it’s pretty hard to beat! Let’s dive in.
Nose: Cooked agave, white pepper, lime, triple sec. Some smoke – closer to peat than mesquite.
Taste: Drier than most mezcals I’ve had. Nothing really jumps out right away, but then some fruits and smo

Read more
t8ke

t8ke

144 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Super sweet – loaded with vanilla bean, cream cheese frosting, honey, toffee and salinity. Ash and satisfying woody smoke adds a savory contrast. Pepper.

Delightful for a bottle that is ubiquitous and easily found. It works so well in cocktails and is even more delightful neat. Strong work, Banhez.

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

38 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Am extra half star for the value. Soft smoke, cooked agave, subtle fruits.

Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot: B0040EB4219 Creamy, lemon rind, caramel, vanilla. Inoffensive but a bit boring.

Foster

Foster

10 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Great mezcal for the price. Floral and a bit of citrus. On the tongue, a taste of vanilla with some slight smoke.

Icypu

Icypu

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Salty with a good floral and fruity finish. Low-alcohol smooth with less smoke and more of a round wet mouth feel. I would definitely drink again but not always the best.

Lady_Lauren

Lady_Lauren

3 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Citrus, pineapple, banana, slight bell pepper.

This is my favorite mezcal for cocktails, but it’s also great on its own.

rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

For the price, this was surprisingly good. I kept thinking there was a catch, but the more I learned about the brand, the more I realized it was legit. Cooked agave, island fruit, and some light smoke on this one.

Tyler

Tyler

517 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Good for the price. Reminds me of Union (same ensamble type too). Low ABV with nice notes of vanilla, lemon, and roasted agave. Didn’t catch the lot number but it was a liter bottle with blue agave artwork.

Mayahuel

Mayahuel

2 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

A beautiful blend of barril and espadin agaves, there is no better mezcal underthe $40 price, yet this retails at $29.99. Lovely story as well being owned by a cooperative from farmers in Ejutla, Oaxaca.

Jonny

Jonny

537 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Lot EVJ421318. Soft aromas of lavender, vanilla, and whole coffee beans. Very soft and light on the palate. Notes of banana and lemon. I like this and the price is good for cocktails.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Quality bottle for $25… No complaints, nice ensamble.

Tropical Fruit, banana, pineapple.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top