Powered by 100% agave

Cuish Espadin

Mezcales Cuish Espadin was produced in January 2018 by José Santiago using agave Espadin (Agave Angustifolia) in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca.

Rating: (6 reviews)
Brand:Cuish Mezcales
NOM:NOM-O606X
Mezcalero:José Santiago Lopez
Maguey:Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:Santiago Matatlan
ABV: 48%
Website: http://www.mezcalescuish.mx/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

This exported release of Mezcales Cuish Espadin was produced in January 2018 by José Santiago using agave Espadin (Agave Angustifolia) in Santiago Matatlán, Oaxaca. The agaves are cooked in an underground over and then crushed using a horse-drawn tahona. Next, it is fermented with well water in and native wild yeast in Montezuma cypress vats. Lastly, it is distilled twice in a copper still. The final distillate is adjusted using twice puntas and colas.

Cuish Mezcales

Mezcales Cuish is made up of rural producers that are dedicated to the production and commercialization of traditional Oaxacan mezcal from different regions and agave varieties.

For many years, Mezcales Cuish has operated a mezcaleria in Oaxaca City a few blocks southwest of Mercado Benito Juarez. A second location was opened in Centro, Oaxaca. In 2019, the brand began exporting to the United States. Currently, the only bottles listed on Mezcal Reviews are their exported releases.

6 reviews

3.75 out of 5

JDB

JDB

67 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Cuish – Espadin – Teodomiro Santiago – 48% ABV, Lot # 03LACH2/21
I have had other espadins from Cuish and really liked their sweetness, lots of fruits, candy, and baking spices. This nose and taste on this one threw me for a loop. Lots of brine and up-front flavors that are more savory and salty. Could be the well water. The sweetness was more in the background and still had some other fruit flavors like persimmon and green banana. Some spice like clove. Definitely took me a while to wrap my palate around this one, but it has some really nice subtle flavors that I like, and not ones that are familiar either from other espadins.

Cuish – Espadin – Teodomiro Santiago – 48% ABV, Lot # 03LACH2/21
I have had other espadins from Cuish and really liked their sweetness, lots of fruits, candy, and baking spices. This nose and taste on this one threw me for a loop. Lots of brine and up-front flavors that are more savory and salty. Could be the well water. The sweetness was more in the background and still had some other fruit flavors like persimmon and green banana. Some spice like clove. Definitely took me a while to

Read more
Grexican

Grexican

12 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 months ago

I got hints of banana on the nose with a nice spice that came in. A really clean espadin with nice heat at the 48% abv

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn

471 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Nose: Big time watermelon. Very herbal. Stinging sweet vapors.

Palate: Cool mouth feel – coats well but not too viscous. Watermelon bubblegum. Salted light butter. Tobacco finish with a lingering melon sweetness. Good stuff!

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

362 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Real herbal/minty for an espadin. Went down quick and i was a couple of drams down at this point, so dont really remember much else

Jonny

Jonny

603 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Semi-sweet aromas of lemon, lime, and grapefruit. The palate is soft with notes of minerals, chalk, white stone, and limestone on the front of the palate. The finish is long with bits of dark fruit and more minerals. A bit briny.

Tyler

Tyler

583 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Fresh, bright, and green. Peppermint spice with a bit of fresh pine. Enjoyable.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top