Powered by 100% agave

Mezcalosfera Tobala/​Madrecuixe – Felipe Cortés

Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca Tobala/Madrecuixe is an incredibly elegant Ensamble of two distinct agaves. This is the first US release from Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca
NOM:NOM-O315X
Mezcalero:Felipe Cortés
Maguey:Madrecuishe, Tobala
Agave:Karwinskii, Potatorum
Distillation:Copper, Refrescador
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:Miahuatlán
ABV: 52.6%
Batch size: 220 liters
Release year: 2016
Website: https://www.mezcaloteca.com/, opens in new window

About this mezcal

Mezcalosfera Tobala/Madrecuixe was distilled by Master Mezcalero Felipe Cortés in the small village of Miahuatlán in August 2015. It was made with a 50/50 blend of maguey Tobala and maguey Madrecuixe. The agaves in this mezcal were harvested at high altitudes and roasted over mesquite and encino wood. This mezcal was made with spring water and wild yeast fermentation that took seven days to complete. It was distilled twice in copper stills before being bottled at 52.6% ABV. Only 220 liters were produced from this lot (#1-15).

Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca

Mezcalosfera de Mezcaloteca is the exported bottling from Mezcaloteca, the famous bar in Oaxaca City that is renowned for their educational tastings. They source all of their agave spirits directly from producers in seldom-traveled parts of Oaxaca that are often hard to get to. They put an exceptional amount of information on their labels, and all of their releases are very small batches that exhibit the most unique characteristics of mezcal. Though only a few batches have been brought into the US, there are dozens upon dozens of different varieties available for sale at their tasting room in Oaxaca City.

Learn more about Mezcaloteca:

Member rating

4.86 out of 5

7 reviews

mt_rainyer

mt_rainyer

43 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

FYI: There is a bar in Seattle that still carries this (only about 1/4 bottle left or so) if you are ever in the area.

(notes from 2018)
My initial impression of this was that it was too hot/boozy on the palate when I first opened the bottle (back in 2017) and so while the fruit forward flavors were delicious, I didn’t love the bottle. I then let it sit for about 1.5 years and absolutely loved it. The nose is extremely fruit forward, but layers of different things. Overly ripe passionfruit, blueberries, grapefruit mixed with minerality, wood, and just a hint of white smoke. On the palate luscious blueberry, grapefruit, and tamarind balanced with an mistakable dry note of a madre in the best way possible. When originally trying, this note was buried in the fruit but after letting the bottle sit this became much more in balance with the fruit.
Delicious.
Retasted in 2022 in a bar in Seattle and notes pretty much match my assessment above.

FYI: There is a bar in Seattle that still carries this (only about 1/4 bottle left or so) if you are ever in the area.
(notes from 2018)
My initial impression of this was that it was too hot/boozy on the palate when I first opened the bottle (back in 2017) and so while the fruit forward flavors were delicious, I didn’t love the bottle. I then let it sit for about 1.5 years and absolutely loved it. The nose is extremely fruit forward, but layers of different things. Overly ripe passionfru

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

169 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

2oz Mystery sample from a friend
out of a glencairn

Clean, some smoke, mint, and leather. Ozone, juniper berries, jackfruit, cinnamon. Really interesting balances of flavors, quite liking the complexity. Grapefruit, some slightly underripe pineapple, and plenty of lime peel. Nice and more high-toned.

Palate: Nice acidity! The finish- so aromatic. Rose, lime peel, almonds (a great trio). Cherry coming through as well, tart cherry. Proof is certainly up there.

Thoughts: It’s certainly bringing the thunder after a long day / week at work. I think I might still lean towards Miahuatlan espadin as my final guess, at 52%. Watch it be a madrecuishe/tobala blend. It’s so incredibly aromatic.

Conclusion: Yea, this batch of whatever this is is a stunner. Reveal: Dang! I had a good guess, and this really is great! What holds it back from the coveted 5 full stars? Perhaps it’s the state of my palate, but it’s just a touch hot on the finish.

2oz Mystery sample from a friend
out of a glencairn
Clean, some smoke, mint, and leather. Ozone, juniper berries, jackfruit, cinnamon. Really interesting balances of flavors, quite liking the complexity. Grapefruit, some slightly underripe pineapple, and plenty of lime peel. Nice and more high-toned.
Palate: Nice acidity! The finish- so aromatic. Rose, lime peel, almonds (a great trio). Cherry coming through as well, tart cherry. Proof is certainly up there.
Thoughts: It’s certainly bringing t

Read more
GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

385 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Oustsnding

Tyler

Tyler

648 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Blueberry bubblegum. Charred wood. Orange jelly. I’ve enjoyed this multiple times from different bottles and it is always amazing. Felipe Cortés is a master.

COak

COak

229 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

This is incredible. I have a bottle of Felipe Cortes’ Madrecuixe and this ensamble is taking it to another level. Strong taste and smell of blueberries. Taste like grape PEZ. Definitely worth trying. I’ve never had a second version of this. I’ll wish

Squashplayer

Squashplayer

36 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

WOW! Shared this today with my new friends, Jonny and Tyler. This is an amazing mezcal. Fruity and oh so smooth. My only regret is how hard this one is going to be find. Well worth seeking out in your favorite mezcaleria.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars7 years ago

Holy Smokes! Hold on to your hat…this mezcal is a wild ride. It’s super fruit-forward, with strong notes of almost every tropical fruit one can imagine, but mostly strong BLUEBERRY! It almost tastes candied in a very earthy and plant-like way. It’s incredibly dynamic and robust. I’ve only seen this in a few bars, and I’d guess that there are very few (if any) full bottles anywhere in the US. Don’t let the sticker shock steer you away. This mezcal is totally worth it. If you like full, round, fruity mezcals, this one is for you.

Holy Smokes! Hold on to your hat…this mezcal is a wild ride. It’s super fruit-forward, with strong notes of almost every tropical fruit one can imagine, but mostly strong BLUEBERRY! It almost tastes candied in a very earthy and plant-like way. It’s incredibly dynamic and robust. I’ve only seen this in a few bars, and I’d guess that there are very few (if any) full bottles anywhere in the US. Don’t let the sticker shock steer you away. This mezcal is totally wo

Read more

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top