Powered by 100% agave

Alipus San Andres

Alipus San Andres is made by the renowned mezcalero Don Valente Angel or by Don Atanasio Aragón Martínez. Check your bottle to see who produced yours.

About this mezcal

Alipus San Andres is made with maguey Espadin and Bicuishe. The land around Don Valente’s palenque is a high rolling plateau at about 5000 feet. The soil is mostly shale, which is not typically good for growing vegetation of any kind, but some agave can flourish. Don Valente’s mezcals have unique flavors and aromas, and this mezcal is no different. Newer releases of this will list maguey Bicuishe on the label in addition to maguey Espadin.

In Spring 2019, Alipus also began releasing San Andres mezcal made by Don Atanasio Aragón Martínez.

Alipus Mezcal

Alipús was born in 1999, as a project of the Destilería Los Danzantes, with Don Joel Antonio and sons as the first producers, in San Juan del Río. Subsequently, Don Eduardo Hernández, of Santa Ana del Río, making Alipús Santa Ana mezcal; Don Cosme Hernandez and his son Cirilo in San Baltazar Guelavila, who make the Alipús San Baltazar mezcal; Don Valente Angel and sons, of Santa María La Pila, with the Alipús San Andrés mezcal. In 2013, Alipús San Luis was incorporated, made by Don Baltazar Cruz and sons, of San Luis del Río, and Alipús San Miguel, made by Don Felix García, Leonardo Rojas, and Tío Jesús in the Potrero Sola de Vega.

 

Craft Distillers’ tasting video

 

Alipus Mezcal review on Mezcalistas blog

 

Member rating

3.62 out of 5

25 reviews

Imperium

Imperium

97 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 weeks ago

Predominantly Espadin, this is smoky and earthy with lots of black pepper and a bit of greenness probably from the bicuishe. One of my first entry level mezcals and not something I would go to today, but it could be a decent mixer.

copa llena

copa llena

13 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Alipus is worth trying to taste how Espadin can be influenced by terroir. San Andres Mezcal is easy to drink and great as an introduction to mezcal, with sweetness and forward fruit notes, this is an easy sipping mezcal,

Greg-P

Greg-P

1 review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lote SAM003/22
Bottle 1732/2300

Headache city! Seems like a pleasant, affordable sipper. But even small amounts like a pour or two give me a nasty headache the next morning. Avoid this batch.

Jori

Jori

52 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars11 months ago

Flying back from Mazatlan, I knew I had a bottle of this San Andres waiting for me at home. I saw the San Andres XX for $900🇲🇽 and I thought it’d be a neat side-by-side.
Can’t believe how different the two are from the same producer!
Starwberry Greek yogurt on the aroma follwed by a banana/soursop sweetness.
A light lactic funk that I adore in Mezcal! Berries, vanilla, rocks. Canadian forest fires. Annonaceae fruita like Guanabana, soursop, cherimoya or Amazonian cupuaçu. Lightly floral. A pronounced flavor of pouring fresh dirt in the garden.
Roasted, juicy agave juice. Like the charred pineapple of Al Pastor.
More sweet and unbalanced as the San Andres XX, in a good way.
A fun, fruity, funky Mezcal.

Flying back from Mazatlan, I knew I had a bottle of this San Andres waiting for me at home. I saw the San Andres XX for $900🇲🇽 and I thought it’d be a neat side-by-side.
Can’t believe how different the two are from the same producer!
Starwberry Greek yogurt on the aroma follwed by a banana/soursop sweetness.
A light lactic funk that I adore in Mezcal! Berries, vanilla, rocks. Canadian forest fires. Annonaceae fruita like Guanabana, soursop, cherimoya or Amazonian cupuaçu. Lightly flor

Read more
Forpowder

Forpowder

77 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars12 months ago

Lot SAM002/20 Bot.520/2350 47.5% Don Angel. Aromas out of the bottle are alcohol and pickle juice with some light smoke. Flavors are warm and sweet with some brown sugary candy background. After the bottle aired out for a while tropical fruit flavors became more apparent in the aroma but not so much in flavor.

jackstraw

jackstraw

31 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

batch: SAM002/20
bottle: 1462/2350

bubblegum, fruit
smoke
soft stone, mineral, ash

easy — too easy — to enjoy

review #1

Mezcal Mike

Mezcal Mike

29 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Don Valente
Lot SAM005/19
Bot 791/2052

Nothing too remarkable about this one but that’s not bad. Good sipper with nice balance of fruit and smoke. But not much complexity. I’d probably not replace this bottle though I’ll keep mixing it into my tastes to see if I change my mind.

logar

logar

20 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Not smoky, smells as alcohol and a little bit fruity. Light alcohol taste, not spicy at all, with subsequent intakes the alcohol taste is accentuated, which lasts long on the tongue.

MezcalMack

MezcalMack

2 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Purchased June 2022 — haven’t seen this profile in any of the reviews but hit me hard with a great bubble gum profile on the nose and in the taste, closer to 4 stars than 3, I would have liked a little more smoke but really dig this one and is my first review so kinda basic thoughts here!
Catching a hint of licorice on back pallet, and a balanced cracked peppercorn profile on the throat.
Took a week away from mezcal tried this again and had more pronounced smoke on intake back of throat, still taste that licorice and the bubblegum profile fainter this swig — this tasting elevates it for sure

Purchased June 2022 — haven’t seen this profile in any of the reviews but hit me hard with a great bubble gum profile on the nose and in the taste, closer to 4 stars than 3, I would have liked a little more smoke but really dig this one and is my first review so kinda basic thoughts here!
Catching a hint of licorice on back pallet, and a balanced cracked peppercorn profile on the throat.
Took a week away from mezcal tried this again and had more pronounced smoke on intake back of throat, sti

Read more
WeroWero

WeroWero

5 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

It’s mass-produced one that you can find in most liquor stores and supermarkets in Mexico. But don’t let that put you off, it’s a very nice mezcal, for the price.

spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Amazing mezcal. Well worth $45. Fruity and strange sour notes. Show this to your friends who are new to the game and don’t want to invest a ton in their first bottle

Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Smokie. Makes a good sipper. A little sweet for my taste. Nice pine after taste. Great price! Good to keep at home for friends to try. Easy to drink.
Lote: SAM007/18 espadín 90%, Bicuishe 10%

Juriy

Juriy

23 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

This has got to be the best mezcal to introduce your friends to. I get almost no flavors, either in the beginning or the end. It’s not too harsh, is moderately sweet, and is very drinkable. I just wish I felt something besides sweetness. Maybe it’s the batch.

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

49 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot SAM007/18
On the nose, vanilla and sweet almond. In the mouth it’s round, gently sweet and brings in some floral notes. Finish lingers with just a little heat and a final kick of almond.

rsidrys

rsidrys

50 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Perfect balance of smoke, fruit, and minerals. Floral notes on the nose. Suave mouthfeel. Finish of fresh pine/eucalyptus and dry stone. It’s a bright and quintessential Espadin sold at an amazing price! LOT SAM011/15

Patrick

Patrick

57 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Lote : SAM004/18
Nose : soft and fruity. A little floral with a brief whiff of vinegar.
Taste : sweet and salty with a little karwinskii complexity.
Finish : oily with fruit and smoke.
Definitely one of strongest of Alipus line.

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars5 years ago

Right amount of smoke, vanilla, and butter pecans. This is the one to offer to first timers.

JRB

JRB

13 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars6 years ago

Alipus Joven Mezcal San Andres / 94 proof
Electric milled, copper still. Heavier and oily. Smoky, similar to Alipus San Juan, with some black pepper. Very good but seems to push smoke at the expense of complexity.

This was my first Alipus, but is now the 4th favorite of the 4 I’ve tried (though I’d happily buy any of them again). Perhaps I am a bit biased because this is the closest thing to “mass produced” of the Alipus line.
(Lot SAM013/16, bottle 1030/3008.)

Alipus Joven Mezcal San Andres / 94 proof
Electric milled, copper still. Heavier and oily. Smoky, similar to Alipus San Juan, with some black pepper. Very good but seems to push smoke at the expense of complexity.
This was my first Alipus, but is now the 4th favorite of the 4 I’ve tried (though I’d happily buy any of them again). Perhaps I am a bit biased because this is the closest thing to “mass produced” of the Alipus line.
(Lot SAM013/16, bottle 1030/3008.)

Read more
SeattleMezcalLover

SeattleMezcalLover

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars7 years ago

I found this one to be pretty heavy on the smoke side, which I enjoy, and generally quite nice. However, it is not very balanced. I would recommend the blue bottle of Alipus over this. It is not perfect balanced either but sweeter, also very smoky, and more interesting.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

154 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars7 years ago

good mezcal for the price.reminds me (slightly) of the amaras cupreata.slight vinegar with honeysuckle.semisweet wiih pepper.has a strong alcohol bite.very good but not 4 star.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top