Powered by 100% agave

Alipus San Andres

Alipus San Andres is made by the renowned mezcalero Don Valente Angel or by Don Atanasio Aragón Martínez. Check your bottle to see who produced yours.

Rating: (14 reviews)
Cost:$$$$
Brand:Alipus Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O14X
Mezcalero:Don Atanasio Aragón Martínez, Don Valente Angel García
Maguey:Bicuishe, Espadin
Agave:Angustifolia, Karwinskii
Distillation:Copper
Style:Ensamble
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Andres
ABV: 44%
Release year: 2009
Website: http://www.alipus.com/
About this mezcal

Alipus San Andres is made with maguey Espadin and Bicuishe. The land around Don Valente’s palenque is a high rolling plateau at about 5000 feet. The soil is mostly shale, which is not typically good for growing vegetation of any kind, but some agave can flourish. Don Valente’s mezcals have unique flavors and aromas, and this mezcal is no different. Newer releases of this will list maguey Bicuishe on the label in addition to maguey Espadin.

In Spring 2019, Alipus also began releasing San Andres mezcal made by Don Atanasio Aragón Martínez.

Alipus Mezcal

Alipús was born in 1999, as a project of the Destilería Los Danzantes, with Don Joel Antonio and sons as the first producers, in San Juan del Río. Subsequently, Don Eduardo Hernández, of Santa Ana del Río, making Alipús Santa Ana mezcal; Don Cosme Hernandez and his son Cirilo in San Baltazar Guelavila, who make the Alipús San Baltazar mezcal; Don Valente Angel and sons, of Santa María La Pila, with the Alipús San Andrés mezcal. In 2013, Alipús San Luis was incorporated, made by Don Baltazar Cruz and sons, of San Luis del Río, and Alipús San Miguel, made by Don Felix García, Leonardo Rojas, and Tío Jesús in the Potrero Sola de Vega.

 

Craft Distillers’ tasting video

 

Alipus Mezcal review on Mezcalistas blog

 

14 reviews

3.96 out of 5


Lasirenaahumada

Lasirenaahumada

8 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 weeks ago

Smokie. Makes a good sipper. A little sweet for my taste. Nice pine after taste. Great price! Good to keep at home for friends to try. Easy to drink.
Lote: SAM007/18 espadín 90%, Bicuishe 10%

Juriy

Juriy

22 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 month ago

This has got to be the best mezcal to introduce your friends to. I get almost no flavors, either in the beginning or the end. It’s not too harsh, is moderately sweet, and is very drinkable. I just wish I felt something besides sweetness. Maybe it’s the batch.

GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

28 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

Lot SAM007/18
On the nose, vanilla and sweet almond. In the mouth it’s round, gently sweet and brings in some floral notes. Finish lingers with just a little heat and a final kick of almond.

rsidrys

rsidrys

42 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Perfect balance of smoke, fruit, and minerals. Floral notes on the nose. Suave mouthfeel. Finish of fresh pine/eucalyptus and dry stone. It’s a bright and quintessential Espadin sold at an amazing price! LOT SAM011/15

Patrick

Patrick

31 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lote : SAM004/18
Nose : soft and fruity. A little floral with a brief whiff of vinegar.
Taste : sweet and salty with a little karwinskii complexity.
Finish : oily with fruit and smoke.
Definitely one of strongest of Alipus line.

El_Cura

El_Cura

31 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Right amount of smoke, vanilla, and butter pecans. This is the one to offer to first timers.

JRB

JRB

13 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Alipus Joven Mezcal San Andres / 94 proof
Electric milled, copper still. Heavier and oily. Smoky, similar to Alipus San Juan, with some black pepper. Very good but seems to push smoke at the expense of complexity.

This was my first Alipus, but is now the 4th favorite of the 4 I’ve tried (though I’d happily buy any of them again). Perhaps I am a bit biased because this is the closest thing to “mass produced” of the Alipus line.
(Lot SAM013/16, bottle 1030/3008.)

Alipus Joven Mezcal San Andres / 94 proof
Electric milled, copper still. Heavier and oily. Smoky, similar to Alipus San Juan, with some black pepper. Very good but seems to push smoke at the expense of complexity.
This was my first Alipus, but is now the 4th favorite of the 4 I’ve tried (though I’d happily buy any of them again). Perhaps I am a bit biased because this is the closest thing to “mass produced” of the Alipus line.
(Lot SAM013/16, bottle 1030/3008.)

Read more
SeattleMezcalLover

SeattleMezcalLover

9 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

I found this one to be pretty heavy on the smoke side, which I enjoy, and generally quite nice. However, it is not very balanced. I would recommend the blue bottle of Alipus over this. It is not perfect balanced either but sweeter, also very smoky, and more interesting.

razorbackmike

razorbackmike

113 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars4 years ago

good mezcal for the price.reminds me (slightly) of the amaras cupreata.slight vinegar with honeysuckle.semisweet wiih pepper.has a strong alcohol bite.very good but not 4 star.

Tyler

Tyler

415 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Like many of Don Valente Angel’s excellent mezcals, this spirit is full of delicious minerality. It’s velvety on the palate. This espadin is fruity, hints of salt, and soft floral notes. Probably my favorite of the five Alipus offerings, though I’m admittedly partial to the flavors of this Don Angel’s mezcals. Lot SAM006/15

Jonny

Jonny

443 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Lot SAM007/15. Lots of lavender, flowers, and perfume on the nose. The first sip is also very floral before moving to notes of almond, vanilla, and papaya. This Alipus is mostly fruit-forward. For an Espadin, this has a lot of diverse tastes and a lot of fruit and perfume. The Pink, Purple, and Blue Alipus are my favorites, but they’re all worth trying.

Sandy

Sandy

11 reviews
Rated 2 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Although popular in the bars around Austin, I found the alcohol overpowering. Must make a tasty cocktail!

Avatar

Larry

Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

First sip and I could tell this Mezcal was in a league of its own. It has that perfect balance. Not too strong and not too fruity. Put San Andres on that TOP shelf!

Mezcal_Mary

Mezcal_Mary

6 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Alipus San Andres is an easy sipping mezcal. Smokey, bright, and not too strong. Great taste for introducing friends to mezcal.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top