Powered by 100% agave

Clande Sotol (Green)

Clande Sotol (Green) is produced in small batches using both the sotol plant and agave, which are cooked, milled, fermented, and distilled together.

Rating: (10 reviews)
Brand:Clande Sotol
Sotolero:Bienvenido Fernández, Lupe López
Agave:Lechuguilla
Dasylirion:Wheeleri
Grind:Hand
Distillation:Copper
Style:Ensamble
State:Chihuahua
Town:Madera
ABV: 48.7%
Website: http://www.sotolclande.com/, opens in new window
About this mezcal

Clande Sotol (Green) is produced in small batches by Bienvenido Fernandez or Lupe Lopez. Check your bottle to see who made your specific batch. The green label on this bottle signifies that this destilado was made with both sotol plants and agave. The plants are cooked, milled, fermented, and distilled together. This sotol/agave ensamble is then distilled in copper. The exact type of sotol and agave plants used will vary by batch.

Clande Sotol

Clande Sotol is a brand that celebrates the art and tradition of craft spirits in Chihuahua. Clandestine distilleries used to be found in Northern Mexico and were known as “vinatas.” These facilities were used to produced both Sotol (from Dasylirion) and Lechuguilla (from Agave). Vinatas were prohibited in the early 1900s and Maestro Sotoleros were persecuted and sometimes incarcerated. Sotol Clande represents sotol from different regions and delivers the impact of terroir on this beautiful spirit. The project seeks to support small local producers and improve their standard of living, as well as protect the future of the Dasylirion plant. The ABV will vary by batch. Check your bottle for details.

The labels on their bottles are color coded. The YELLOW label is sotol made by Bienvenido Fernandez. The RED label is sotol made by Don Eduardo Arrieta. The PURPLE label is sotol made by Lupe Lopez. The GREEN label could be made by either Bienvenido Fernandez or Lupe Lopez, and it is an Ensamble that combines sotol and agave, which are cooked, milled, and distilled together. The BLUE label could be made by Bienvenido Fernandez, Lupe Lopez, or Tavi Torres, and it is made with 100% agave.

10 reviews

4.4 out of 5


aarild

aarild

57 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 month ago

Very special, very earthy and herbal, lots of pine and, as others pointed out: mold, absolutely. The palate is like starting with an Italian alpine amaro that turns out to be a smoky fruit brandy. The smell stays in the nostrils for a long time. Aromas a bit like a Corsican fleur du Maquis cheese (sheep’s milk, covered with herbs).

El-Dawg

El-Dawg

115 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars6 months ago

Lote 1 (49% Churique, 51% Wheeleri). 50.5% ABV
Wet grass, light, lemony. Taste is earthy, some dirt, lemon verbena, lemon zest, wheat grass.
Did a side-by-side with the Yellow label, and must say I prefer this one…4.25.
Review #71
*Have since purchased a bottle of Lote 2 (which is almost identical to the Lote 1 in every way), and still is so, so delicious. Might even rate this one a 4.5 now.

Meady

Meady

53 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Wow, love this stuff. So fresh!
Unique palate – green, grass, mineral and vegetal notes bounce around the mouth with mint, aniseed, pear and cardamom with a long, tingling, slightly peppery finish.
Every time I go back to it, I enjoy it more. It might be the best bottle of anything I have on the go at the moment. Transformative.

meserole

meserole

65 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars9 months ago

Found a bottle at Sherry’s Wine and Spirits in Washington, DC ($108). I had ordered the incredible yellow label but was mistakenly fulfilled with the green label. While very different, I was able to temper my disappointment because this is still an insanely unique spirit worth a spot on any mezcal fanatic’s shelf.

Intense freshly cut grass, spearmint, peppery nasturtium, and a long aftertaste that is delightfully tingly and refreshing in the mouth. A millionaire’s mouthwash.

Lot 2, Jun 18, 52% wheeleri/49% agave churique.

Found a bottle at Sherry’s Wine and Spirits in Washington, DC ($108). I had ordered the incredible yellow label but was mistakenly fulfilled with the green label. While very different, I was able to temper my disappointment because this is still an insanely unique spirit worth a spot on any mezcal fanatic’s shelf.
Intense freshly cut grass, spearmint, peppery nasturtium, and a long aftertaste that is delightfully tingly and refreshing in the mouth. A millionaire’s mouthwash.

Read more
Rakhal

Rakhal

317 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Apparently there is more than one lot 1. This is Lot 1 March 2019, Lupe Lopez. Agave Angustifolia Haw 33.4%, Agave Shrevei 33.3%, Dasylirion Wheeleri 33.3%. This is probably the best Sotol I’ve ever had. Well, I guess maybe it’s not a Sotol because it also has two Agaves in it? Elegant and balanced and complex. A soft creamy mouthfeel and notes of fresh pine needles, spearmint, allspice, cedar, anise, and a strongly floral element which reminded me of potpourri. Not at all funky or lactic. Really good.

Apparently there is more than one lot 1. This is Lot 1 March 2019, Lupe Lopez. Agave Angustifolia Haw 33.4%, Agave Shrevei 33.3%, Dasylirion Wheeleri 33.3%. This is probably the best Sotol I’ve ever had. Well, I guess maybe it’s not a Sotol because it also has two Agaves in it? Elegant and balanced and complex. A soft creamy mouthfeel and notes of fresh pine needles, spearmint, allspice, cedar, anise, and a strongly floral element which reminded me of potpourri. Not at all funky or lactic. R

Read more
SwatSaladin

SwatSaladin

19 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch: Lot 4

The nose consists of mushy pees, mint, cardamom, and underripe prickly pear. There is some very high-tone limestone minerality present, also. The palate is incredibly soft and beautiful. I’m getting lots of anise and a moss-y green-ness. Orange zest melds into a rich salty-sweet combo. There are definitely some sweet berries (blueberry?) playing in the background. The finish is extremely long and pleasant—I could really drink this all night long, every night. Some soft herbal character, complemented by sweet rock candy.

This is an incredible sotol, and checks all the boxes every step of the way. I would love to own a whole bottle of this, to break out when I don’t know what I want to drink.

Batch: Lot 4
The nose consists of mushy pees, mint, cardamom, and underripe prickly pear. There is some very high-tone limestone minerality present, also. The palate is incredibly soft and beautiful. I’m getting lots of anise and a moss-y green-ness. Orange zest melds into a rich salty-sweet combo. There are definitely some sweet berries (blueberry?) playing in the background. The finish is extremely long and pleasant—I could really drink this all night long, every night. Some soft herbal ch

Read more
TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy

161 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 4

Nose: Minerality in buckets. A trio of lime peel, strawberries, and black cardamom play the major role, which is invigorating! Touches of watermelon, parsley, and dried lemon peels provide a little more depth. There’s a caramelized note, and touches of something more agave-like in there providing complexity and support. Slight notes of cheese funk.

Palate: Big, incredibly mineral, but with a surprisingly grand sweetness, and more fruit coming through than on the nose.

This is one of the best sotols I’ve ever had, the 20% agave seems to really round things out without taking away any character. I am a minerality-head. The balance of sweet and dry / mineral are exactly what I oft look for. The proof is very in control!

Lot 4
Nose: Minerality in buckets. A trio of lime peel, strawberries, and black cardamom play the major role, which is invigorating! Touches of watermelon, parsley, and dried lemon peels provide a little more depth. There’s a caramelized note, and touches of something more agave-like in there providing complexity and support. Slight notes of cheese funk.
Palate: Big, incredibly mineral, but with a surprisingly grand sweetness, and more fruit coming through than on the nose.
This is one of the

Read more
Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

March 18 – Lot 1. Slightly funky, but i enjoyed this. Previously had only had the funkiest raicilla and wasn’t super crazy, but this turned me onto a slight funk.

Tyler

Tyler

480 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Funk, dank, mold. Cheesy. Tasted a bit muddled compared to the 100% sotol from Bienvenido Fernández (yellow label). I’d like to try it again. I’ve heard there are other batches that have more sotol than agave so it would be interesting to compare the different forms of this ensamble. Lupe López. Lot 1. March 2018. 47.9% ABV. 60% Agave Churique / 40% Dasylirion Wheeleri. 3 stars.

2020 update – Lot 4 from Bienvenido Fernández is insanely good! 20% agave / 80% sotol. Tons of minerality with big fresh cut grassy notes. So good I bought a backup bottle. 5 stars.

Funk, dank, mold. Cheesy. Tasted a bit muddled compared to the 100% sotol from Bienvenido Fernández (yellow label). I’d like to try it again. I’ve heard there are other batches that have more sotol than agave so it would be interesting to compare the different forms of this ensamble. Lupe López. Lot 1. March 2018. 47.9% ABV. 60% Agave Churique / 40% Dasylirion Wheeleri. 3 stars.
2020 update – Lot 4 from Bienvenido Fernández is insanely good! 20% agave / 80% sotol. Tons of m

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

523 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lupe López. Lot 1. Bottle 34. March 2018. 47.9% ABV. 60% Churique. 40% Dasylirism Wheeleri. Smells cheesy and a bit moldy but not in a bad way. Mouthfeel is slippery, not quite viscous, but slippery like a wet mossy rock that is hard to keep your balance on. Flavor notes of blueberries and cheddar cheese.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top