Powered by 100% agave

Tosba Warash

Tosba Warash is a limited release that is fruit forward with rounded notes of grilled pineapple and other sweet tropical fruit.

Rating: (7 reviews)
Brand:Tosba Mezcal
NOM:NOM-O164X
Mezcalero:Edgar Gonzalez
Maguey:Warash
Agave:Sp
Grind:Tahona
Distillation:Copper
Style:Joven
State:Oaxaca
Town:San Cristobal Lachirioag
ABV: 50.65%
Age of plant: 10-12 years
Website: http://mezcaltosba.com/
About this mezcal

Tosba Warash is made with wild maguey Warash, which is endemic to Sierra Norte, Oaxaca. Though the agave is known to grow in this region, this release from Tosba is the first mezcal made from Warash to become commercially available. As of September 2018, this agave had not been classified by the Consejo Regulador del Mezcal (CRM) and biologists from the CRM have reportedly noted that this agave is not within the CRM catalog, which is why A. sp (Warash) is printed on the label of this mezcal.

Tosba Mezcal

Mezcal Tosba is a microbusiness founded by two cousins from San Cristóbal Lachirioag, Oaxaca, Mexico. As migrants living in Silicon Valley, California in 1999, they were inspired and influenced by the entrepreneurialism that surrounded them. Concerned by the increasing migration from their home region of Cajonos-Villa Alta in the Sierra Juárez mountains, they decided to form a business that would rescue the disappearing mezcal production and bring economic opportunity to the area. Mezcal Tosba is created by using traditional, and what is now called sustainable, agricultural methods of harvesting and distillation passed down by generations of farmers and mezcaleros from the region of Cajonos-Villa Alta of the Sierra Juárez in the state of Oaxaca, Mexico.

Learn more:

7 reviews

4.21 out of 5


Mansson

Mansson

71 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars7 months ago

Lot 23, distilled 2018. Agave sweetness, marzipan, tropical fruit, rubber, a bit of smoke. This is a complex mezcal with a lot of different tastes coming and going but, at the same time, it’s balanced and round.

stigibeu

stigibeu

33 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 23 Bottle 100-something. Very, very good sipper. Like other reviewers, I’m catching the mango on the nose and some nerds/apple funk that reminds me a lot of Lalocura’s Tobala. No heat here either. Palate is pleasant, but not super thick like some other mezcals (which is actually a bit of a negative for my personal taste). Great finish–just a little bit of roasted agave and smoke with minimal burn.

COak

COak

100 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Lot 23 Bottle 170. Tropical bomb! Mangos are all over this. Reminds me of some tobalas.

Jonny

Jonny

445 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Smells like fermenting pineapple, mango, and papaya. This smells more like a brandy its so fruity. The palate has grilled fruits like charred pineapple, stewed apples, cider, apple sauce with cinnamon, and baked summer squash. This is fabulous.

Rakhal

Rakhal

201 reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot 23. A new agave to add to my list! Exciting! It’s up to 85 now! I hope some ethnobotanist figures out which agaves are true separate species, sub-species, or just different regional names for the same thing. Anyways, when I tasted this I thought it was very similar to Derrumbes San Luis Potosí. Very complex, funky, vegetal. I kept thinking of a Parmesan cheese omelet with some fresh green bell pepper. I wonder if Warash is similar to Salmiana? I prefer the Derrumbes however.

thamthong

thamthong

47 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

probably 4.5. tropical fruit on the nose is a little funkier and drier on the palate. pretty crazy this isnt a pechuga based on how intense the fruit presence is. reminded me a bit of a softer, more mineral forward herencia de sanchez ponche de frutas. very nice and clean. almost no smoke to be found here.

Tyler

Tyler

418 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Tried this at Madre Mezcaleria in Brooklyn. Dried fruit. As the description says, there is definitely some grilled pineapple here. Reminds me a bit of fruity agave Tobala mezcals. Really enjoying everything from Tosba. Lot 23? Bottle 80.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top