Powered by 100% agave

Recent reviews

Read the latest tasting notes posted on Mezcal Reviews.


Hands down one of the best jabali expression I’ve had so far. Killer combo again from MM on this lot.

Tosba Tepextate

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn
397 reviews

Bought a half liter at their palenque.
Nose – Ancho chili pepper. Dried pineapple.

Palate – Fruitier (and more tropical) than most tepeztates and I love it! Papaya. Dried cherry. Sprite soda. A pleasant spiciness in the finish. Frickin’ great mezcal.

Maguey Melate Jabali – Santo Martínez Cruz

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn
397 reviews

Batch: SAN-JAB-001
Nose – Vanilla. Roasted chicken breast. Sweet n’ meaty!

Palate – Similar to the aromas, I got flavors here of vanilla. Chicken jerky. Mesquite. A nice herbal note in the aftertaste. MM really nailed both their Jabali expressions in this release (the German is bomb as well!).

La Higuera Texanum

valib4

valib4
1 review

not so great

Macurichos Espadin con Cacao

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas
338 reviews

4.25/5 Also, pretty much what Tyler said

La Higuera Texanum

TheAgaveFairy

TheAgaveFairy
167 reviews

49.9% Lot 1:

Nose is leaning simple and sotol driven, with complexity coming only on the third pour. touch of nail polish that’s in balance over sotol sweetness, now with pink peppercorn coming in strongly tonight. Fino sherry, a tinge of a bbq smoke, kinda a earthy sweetness but not quite the usual “rain on hot cement”. Some mild earthy mushroom notes like the leiophyllum can have, ground corn as well. Some stinky vegetable like green onion or shallot.

Palate is with a pretty dang good texture, earth, red and white peppercorn, slight chemicals, dried mints, a little basil, more bbq like black pepper heavy beef jerky, clay, the finish has a touch of pool water and good length and sweetness. More of that garlic adjacent vegetal notes and button mushroom savoryness with some dark chocolates and hazelnuts too on the finish.

6+/10! So far airtime has it tasting more like other texanums i can think of in a good way. For all the whacky descriptors, it comes together in a lovely way.

Tosba Pechuga

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn
397 reviews

Bought a half a liter at the Tosba palenque.
Nose – Raw mushroom. Roasted turkey breast. Apple slices.

Palate – Deli smoked turkey. Baking chocolate. Dried banana. Cinnamon spiced apple. Baked potato. This pechuga is something else, frickin great sipper.

Del Maguey Pechuga

Matthew

Matthew
5 reviews

Notes from a pour on 1/20/20: Nose: dry stone. Touch of heat, chili. Faint chocolate. Rich and a little sweet. Ripe stone fruits. Cinnamon, clove. Mellow deep charred wood through the finish.

El Jolgorio Cenizo (A. Karwinskii)

Matthew

Matthew
5 reviews

Ignacia Parada, Edition 05, Harvest 2019, Bottle 152/185

1/26/22: Wow, this is a treat. Grassy and vegetal, poblano, wet stone. Lots of minerality, some ripe fruit as well (almost overripe pears). The finish is long, rich, and coating, with plenty of sweetness.

Overall a wonderfully balanced and nuanced expression, all of the notes are hit together in symphony. This mezcal brings forth bold flavor, yet is delicate at the same time. Very very tasty.

Tosba Warash

Zack Klamn

Zack Klamn
397 reviews

Nose – Dried pineapple. Dried apricot. Asiago cheese. Apple cider.

Palate – Slick, medium viscosity. Mango. BBQ grilled pineapple. Smoked gruyere. I love this stuff!

Cuentacuentos Cuish

longhorn

longhorn
1 review

Lott MGG-11C, Bottle 96/227 Production Date: August 2020. Purchased Jan, 2022 ~$85 in Dallas. This was better than I expected and is a well-crafted product. Upfront, it has some fruit elements, almost a cross between lemon and the smell of juniper. Alcohol is smooth and creamy, no punch and no negative effects like stuffy nose that can come from some liquor. Not much smoke at all. Back-end is a bit concise. This is a clean, well made mezcal. I’m impressed. Reminds me a lot of Wahaka Espadin Botanico, around the same price point. I’ve basically used this as a sipper, too good to waste blending into a drink in my humble opinion.

Del Maguey Tobala

Matthew

Matthew
5 reviews

Lot TOB-141, 2015?

1/25/22: The nose is fairly light, fruity, with ripe peaches and some cinnamon. Mango, plums, apples, lots of fruit here. The palette is a touch hot, but the finish is smooth and leathery with some smokiness.

While this is not as much of a floral fruit bomb as some other tobalas, I am really drawn to the balance of the fruit with some of the more earthy, smoky qualities.

Vago Cuixe – Aquilino Garcia Lopez

Matthew

Matthew
5 reviews

Aquilino Garcia, Lot A-04-C-20, March 2020

1/25/22: Strong acetone note on the nose, with some carmelized tropical fruit notes. This is a big, bold mezcal. There’s some earthiness to it, the predominant profile though is blend of strong vegetal notes and ripe, funky fruit (almost like the hogo present in some high-ester rums, the aggressive fruit funk of Jamaica combined with some of the more chemical notes present in some Martinique rums). The finish is big and sustained, with some of the sweeter fruit staying more than the acetone-y notes.

Overall, it took me a little while to take in this mezcal fully, but once I did, it was quite delicious.

Vago Tobala – Emigdio Jarquin Ramirez

Matthew

Matthew
5 reviews

Emigdio Jarquin, Lot E-20-TOB-19, April 2019

1/24/22: A rich, hot, and complex expression. The key tobala notes are front and center, with rich fruit (almost a hint of banana and cantoloupe), supported by some more vegetal tones (jalapeno) and a strong ashy and mineral base.

Definitely a little hot, I’m looking forward to seeing if it mellows out and opens up as time goes on. Overall, very nice!

Macurichos Ancestral Tobala

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas
338 reviews

Opens with veggie garden. Finishes with flower garden. Not what I was expecting from a tobala. Its well made, but not sure if I would commit to a bottle right now. 3.75/5

Dixeebe Cucharillo

COak

COak
174 reviews

Lot: DPV02 bottle 6/25. Has a grassy sweet nose. The palate reminds me of Fresca soda, lemongrass and mint. Very different than the rest of the Dixeebe lineup.

Dos Hombres Tobala

COak

COak
174 reviews

Batch DH-T02 bottle 113/400. Nose is piney with sweet notes. It’s soft with apple notes, fruity. Nothing wrong with this but should cost a 1/3 of the price. Can’t recommend spending your $ on this. If you want to try Gregorio’s juice look for his Pierde Almas bottles.

Mal Bien Papalote – Sonido

COak

COak
174 reviews

Loving everything I’ve tried from the Sonido family so far. This is my favorite of the papalotes from Mal Bien that haven’t been rested in glass. This is chocolaty, creamy and a bit nutty. Pretty good value too. Don’t feel like I can get sick of this.

La Medida Arroqueno

aarild

aarild
85 reviews

The smell of this really fills the room, skittles — absolutely, and some grass, light smoke.


 Earthy and fruity, I get a kind of jelly bean cocktail, but also leather, pine, vanilla. Nicely balanced flavours. Well integrated alcohol, medium mouthfeel, medium aftertaste. Well worth a try.

Vago Tobala – Emigdio Jarquin Ramirez

aarild

aarild
85 reviews

Untanned leather, dried mint, cucumber and watermelon aromas, some ash too. Very hot in the mouth at first, needs to rest for twenty minutes in the glass. Macadamia, black pepper, epazote, liquorice root, quince. The finish kicks in with French buttercream, chocolate and carrot cake, honey and some vague, grassy herbal taste. 

I’ll ask for a try in a few months’ time again, but as for now, this bottle is far too hot for five stars. It’s a shame, because normally you can integrate the alcohol by resting the distillate properly before bottling

Back to top