Powered by 100% agave

Palenqueros Ensamble Cinco Magueyes

Palenqueros Ensamble Cinco Magueyes is made by Onofre Ortiz, the son of maestro mezcalero Don Alberto "Beto" Ortiz.

About this mezcal

Palenqueros Ensamble Cinco Magueyes is made by fifth generation Maestro Mezcalero Onofre Ortiz with maguey Espadin, Mexicano, Madrecuishe, Bicuishe, and Tepeztate. Onofre is the son of legendary mezcalero Alberto “Don Beto” Ortiz. This mezcal is complex with flavors of almonds, raspberries, melon, and wildflower honey.

Palenqueros Mezcal

Palenqueros Mezcal is marketed as Single Palenque mezcal, meaning that it’s produced by a single mezcalero at a single distilling facility. The brand is a collaboration project between Tradición Chagoya, which owns and operates other mezcal brands like Donaji and Los Cuerudos, and Velier Italia, an Italian spirits company.

Member rating

4.4 out of 5

10 reviews

Bryen

Bryen

46 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars1 week ago

I’ve bought two bottles of this now and it’s just really damn good. Very similar to his father’s work and well balanced in the flavor profile. Lots of green notes from the karwinskii in here and a mild burn from the espadin and Mexicano. Layers upon layers and really hard to go wrong for the price if you can still find it. I think I cleaned out my local spot for this one so might be my last adventure with this bottle 🙂

KyraNicole

KyraNicole

43 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars2 months ago

butterscotch on the nose; burny, newly paved road

aarild

aarild

152 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Floral and woody aromas, tonka beans, lavender, citrus peel.
Fantastic balance on the palate, it’s like each maguey comes onstage in turns and takes a bow. Vanilla-sweet espadin, toast and charred wood from mexicano, pecan nuts from karwinskii and a lovely bell pepper finish with tepextate.
Lote 00EN01

PNWill

PNWill

11 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

The aroma on this is incredibly sweet and makes me think of bubble yum and cherry coke. Very balanced with a bit of a fresh leather, cedar smoke note on the back end.

Americana Kyle

Americana Kyle

60 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

This was one of my favorite Ensambles ever. Appreciative I was able to try it in its prime!

Bastiaan

Bastiaan

10 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

One of the best mezcals I’ve tasted, for a great price. Wet hay fragrance, soft smoke. Leathery notes. Absolutely delicious. Love the typical tepeztate finish. Has a bit of a clean rubbery smell/taste, which I often get with tepeztate, but which I really like. Perfect amount of sweetness, slightly bitter finish. Has a nice florality to it. Overall very balanced, yet very interesting. The journey from nose to finish is very different in every stage.

DavidB

DavidB

6 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Pepper heat, earthy, wood spice, smoky mellow finish. Really enjoy sipping this mezcal. Affordable and accessible.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

I had this as part of a generational tasting next to the Papadiablo Ensamble (by his father, Don Beto), and while this is an absolutely delicious mezcal it is tough to compare next to that delicious mezcal. Been leaning more heavily toward ensambles lately.

Tyler

Tyler

641 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This nearly deserves one star for each maguey. You can tell this is crafted by an Ortiz in Miahuatlan. It reminds me of Mezcalero 11 which his father produced but with a Tepeztate finish. Flavors of sparkling velvet (just try it), fresh agave, and brown sugar. Batch 00EN01.

Jonny

Jonny

708 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars4 years ago

Batch 00EN01. 1,305 bottles. Floral aromas and masculine fragrant: notes of aftershave, beach rum, musk, and a bit of lavender. Balanced across the palate with some nice caramelized, toasted notes: roasted cashews, burnt toast, freshly brewed coffee, and fennel. More notes of honey and berries. There’s a note of green pepper that sticks out on the finish. Really nice. Great price too.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top