Powered by 100% agave

Papadiablo Especial

Papadiablo Especial is complex, and cleanly distilled. It’s silky and sweet with citrus aromas and a gentle smoke character.

About this mezcal

Papadiablo Especial is an ensamble mezcal made by Don Alberto Ortiz. It’s made with maguey Espadin, Bicuixe, Madrecuixe, and Mexicano. For those more familiar with the Mezcalero brand, this is the same agave (and same mezcalero/palenque) as the Mezcalero 11 release. Though the Papadiablo Especial has different batches of this blend, the similarity between the two different brands’ releases is striking. This mezcal was recognized with the gold medal at the San Francisco World Spirits Competition in 2014.

Papadiablo Mezcal

Among the many things that make this mezcal unique, the most important are the hands that craft it. Hands that have accumulated a wealth of knowledge passed through generations, understanding how to cultivate quality in every batch. Papadiablo mezcal uses only organic materials, no chemicals, and no modified yeasts. They also distill to proof, not adding any water to adjust alcohol volume. The spirit that is bottled is just as it came out of the still. The ABV may vary by batch. Check your bottle for details.

10 reviews

4.45 out of 5


edgy4sure

edgy4sure

25 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 months ago

Another winner from Papadiablo, this one too is really good. Maybe a smidge less than the Arroqueno, but that could just be me. Happy to buy both again and drink over and over again. Enjoy these, they are good

Andy

Andy

38 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars5 months ago

NOM-F2280. Can’t read hand written batch number – best guess PPD501
One of my first mezcals, and one which convinced me it was worthwhile continuing on this fascinating journey of discovery. Nose is complex but chemical overtone.
Clove, pepper and spice on the palate. Hot finish but lingers nicely.
Will always have a soft spot for what it led me to.

PaulPulse

PaulPulse

3 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars8 months ago

Excellent sipping mezcal, main tasting notes are pepper, spice and hints of cinnamon, with a nice petrol nose. A little pricey but worth it to enjoy as a sipper.

Nic Hnastchenko

Nic Hnastchenko

108 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

LOT PPD-008

Some of my favorite agaves. Fun to taste this next to my Dobadan I have by Don Beto. Fruity and very balanced. Going to be a struggle to stretch this 375ml.

COak

COak

100 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lot PPD-003. Bottle 1374/2160. One of the best ensambles I’ve ever had. You can taste some of the flavors of Don Beto’s Dobadan from Marca Negra but with more complexity. I did some hunting for this bottle in Oaxaca and didn’t find it. It’s one of my white whales.

Chris

Chris

40 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

It was a grim day indeed when I bought the last bottle of Don Beto’s Marca Negra Dobadan. Will there be more, who knows? I did pick up a bottle of Papa Diablo Especial PPD – 005 bottle 1397 to ease the pain. Both have a very similar butterscotch nose. I realize the dobadan is not an ensamble, but there are similar qualities. The dobadan is smoother, but the PPD has great complexity on the palette, however is a bit hotter on the finish.

I’ve become a big fan of this ensamble. The PPD 9-01 batch is a bit more astringent, kind of like they threw some tep into the mix. Really good but I give the nod to the PPD-005 and the PPD-011, which is more like the 005. I also have some of the PPD-007, but have decided not to have four open at the same time. So, the 007 will have to wait until the 005 is gone. Still no luck finding the PPD black label Arroqueno.

It was a grim day indeed when I bought the last bottle of Don Beto’s Marca Negra Dobadan. Will there be more, who knows? I did pick up a bottle of Papa Diablo Especial PPD – 005 bottle 1397 to ease the pain. Both have a very similar butterscotch nose. I realize the dobadan is not an ensamble, but there are similar qualities. The dobadan is smoother, but the PPD has great complexity on the palette, however is a bit hotter on the finish.
I’ve become a big fan of this ensamble. T

Read more
Jonny

Jonny

443 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Lote PPD-003. Bottle 1374/2160. This is a crazy Ensamble. Lots of wild agave. Aromas are super complex, sweet, and vegetal. Wow! The palate is very well balanced. It’s a journey for sure. Musty and fruity. I really wish this was available in the US. Absolutely awesome.

Tyler

Tyler

416 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars2 years ago

If you tried Mezcalero #11 released by Craft Distillers in the USA and bottled by Los Danzantes, this is the same juice. Don Beto has been one of my favorite mezcaleros for a few years. His mezcals have a lot of minerality, salt, and round flavors. The Papadiablo Especial has a hint of cacao with notes of dried fruit, vanilla bean, and sugary agave. The finish is slightly tart with some lemon on the backend. Lot PPD-003, bottle 1374/2160.

Patrick

Patrick

31 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

LOTE : PPD6-01
47.77% alc/vol
Nose : immediately herbal, cinnamon with spoon full of green peppers
Taste : sweet vanilla, fruity and complex. Loads of botanicals
Finnish : long and lingering, hard to hide from my wife….
Ensambles can say so much more!

Avatar

Ricardo

Rated 5 out of 5 stars4 years ago

This is a 100% artesanal mezcal, the flavor in this one is amazing, because it have 4 types of agave: mexicano, buicuixe, madrecuixe and espadin. this is my favorite mezcal of the papadiablo line… but the arroqueño is crazy good.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top