Powered by 100% agave

Palenqueros Espadin – Mexicano – Bicuishe

Palenqueros Espadin – Mexicano – Bicuishe is an Ensamble from Don Valente Angel, who is well-known internationally for his mezcal production.

About this mezcal

Palenqueros Espadin – Mexicano – Bicuishe is made by meastro mezcalero Don Valente Angel Garcia in his tiny community outside of Miahuatlan. The agaves are cooked, milled, fermented, and distilled together. Look for notes of pear, plum, ginger, coconut, licorice, and sage.

Palenqueros Mezcal

Palenqueros Mezcal is marketed as Single Palenque mezcal, meaning that it’s produced by a single mezcalero at a single distilling facility. The brand is a collaboration project between Tradición Chagoya, which owns and operates other mezcal brands like Donaji and Los Cuerudos, and Velier Italia, an Italian spirits company.

10 reviews

4.1 out of 5

Paypir

Paypir

4 reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars3 months ago

Batch vgen01. Great mezcal. Sweet and floral. Classic cuishe elements shine through.

JDB

JDB

54 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars4 months ago

Palenqueros – Valente Garcia – Espadin-Mexicano-Bicuishe ABV 49.5% Batch: VGEN01

I was way too intrigued by the tasting notes not to go out and seek this bottle. And while it was hard to not taste the “dryer-sheet” as was described by others, there were some other ways to describe that flavor profile. It does come across as very mineral forward, maybe soapstone, and the main flavor could be described as soap or just astringent, but I very much can taste that dryer sheet even though part of me thinks it is the power of suggestion. I have tasted a Valente Garcia straight Mexicano and thought it was really good without as much of that dryer sheet note. Not sure if the well water makes this flavor profile or not; there is no indication on the bottle of the water source for his palenque. This ensemble is unique for sure. Hard to think of anything else like it that I have tasted before.

Palenqueros – Valente Garcia – Espadin-Mexicano-Bicuishe ABV 49.5% Batch: VGEN01
I was way too intrigued by the tasting notes not to go out and seek this bottle. And while it was hard to not taste the “dryer-sheet” as was described by others, there were some other ways to describe that flavor profile. It does come across as very mineral forward, maybe soapstone, and the main flavor could be described as soap or just astringent, but I very much can taste that dryer sheet even though

Read more
GeorgePBurdell

GeorgePBurdell

45 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Batch VGEN01
Bubblegum, flowers, and stones on the nose – dryer sheets is dead on. Palate follows the nose. Finish is long and pleasant resolving into a lingering impression of crushed stone.

bardle

bardle

4 reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

Nose: Earthy and floral first followed by Lime zest and citrus, some spice is mingling in here as well.

Palette: Sweet and creamy, ripe agave followed by spiciness with and then the earthiness hits; River rocks and clay with some spice hanging around to balance it out.

Finish: The most satisfying part of this pour; The finish coats your entire mouth in a savory earthiness like peppered clay. Its fun and it lasts seemingly forever, eventually, if you can wait long enough between sips, the sweetness comes back to mellow it out.

Conclusion: This one is a wild ride, I feel like I can taste all three components and for the most part it seems very well balanced. If I’m being picky I think the spiciness overwhelms the espadin’s fruit and sweet notes a little too much but there is a lot of complexity here and its fun to drink. Amazing value.

Nose: Earthy and floral first followed by Lime zest and citrus, some spice is mingling in here as well.
Palette: Sweet and creamy, ripe agave followed by spiciness with and then the earthiness hits; River rocks and clay with some spice hanging around to balance it out.
Finish: The most satisfying part of this pour; The finish coats your entire mouth in a savory earthiness like peppered clay. Its fun and it lasts seemingly forever, eventually, if you can wait long enough between sips, the sweetne

Read more
spasta

spasta

22 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars1 year ago

I love this bottle. As many others have said, there is a strong flavor like dryer sheets, lol. I also get a strong peppery/fresh bandaid taste at the end, good long flavor that follows your tongue for ten out twenty minutes after your last sip.

Gregg T&T

Gregg T&T

100 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Sweet and perfumed honeysuckle on the nose. I get notes of sour apple and some green herbal notes.

Tyler

Tyler

574 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars2 years ago

Classic Don Valente. Reminds me of Mezcalero #18. I get the jump from Mexicano to Espadin to Karwinskii.. but there is also this green crayon element here which is different. I think the crayon note I’m getting is the dryer sheet flavor some of the other reviewers have mentioned. It is not necessarily bad but it not flawless like some of this other releases. Batch VGEN01.

COak

COak

194 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch VGEN01. This has some perfume on the nose and taste buds. This reminds me a bit of the Mezcalero Especial #2 also made by Don Valente, with it’s bubblegum profile. Up front it is candied, with it’s finish, like Jonny said, taste a bit like dryer sheets, not in a bad way. The price point is on point.

GreenspointTexas

GreenspointTexas

358 reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Sweet. Herbal. Almost too sweet… keeping it from being closer to a 4.5 for me

Very good, best of the Palenqueros line

Jonny

Jonny

582 reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 stars3 years ago

Batch VGEN01. 1,102 bottles. Bubblegum on the nose! Lots of juicy bubble gum an dcandy aromas aromas. Palate has notes of cotton, new t-shirts, fresh laundry, dryer sheets, and flan. Amazing! Don Valente doesn’t let down on this one. Big and full.

Review this bottle

Login or create an account to add your tasting notes

Back to top